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PREAMBLE

This Agreement, executed on the day of 2013 by and
between the Ocean County Sheriff and the Board of Chosen Freeholders of the County of
Ocean, State of New Jersey, hereinafter referred to as the ‘EMPLOYER” and the
Firemen’s Mutual Benevolent Association, Local 98, commonly known as the Office of

the Fire Marshal, County of Ocean, State of New Jersey, hereinafter known as the
‘EMPLOYEE'.

WITNESSETH

In consideration of the promises and mutual covenants hereafter contained, the
employer and employees agree as follows:

ARTICLE 1

RECOGNITION OF ASSOCIATION

SECTION 1: The employer recognizes the FM.B.A Local 98 as the exclusive
representative of all employees in the negotiating unit as hereinafter defined for the
purposes of collective bargaining and all other activities related thereto pursuant to the

Public Employment Relations Act of the State of New Jersey (R.O. 94-68) and other
applicable law.

SECTION 2: The bargaining unit consists of all regular full-time employees holding the
title of ASSISTANT FIRE MARSHAL and are employed by the Ocean County Fire
Marshal’s Office. Supervisory employees not included in the bargaining unit are those of
the following rank: FIRE MARSHAL.

ARTICLE 2

COLLECTIVE BARGAINING PROCEDURE

SECTON 1: Collective bargaining with respect to rates of pay, hours of work and all
other conditions of employment shall be conducted by the respective duly authorized
bargaining agents of the employer and the employee.

SECTION 2: Members of the FM.B.A. Local 98 designated by the employees to
participate in collective bargaining meetings called for renegotiation pursuant to the

terms and provisions of this agreement, shall be excused from work assignments while in
attendance at such meetings. Said members will not exceed three (3).



ARTICLE 3

HOURS OF WORK

REGULAR WORK WEEK: The employer and the employees understand and agree
that all persons covered by this Agreement will work a minimum of forty (40) hours per
week. The normal work week shall be Monday through Friday (8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M),
eight (8) hours a day, not including a one-half hour unpaid meal break and shall be

promulgated by the Ocean County Sheriff or his/her designee. Shifts may be adjusted by
the employer with two weeks advanced notice.

ARTICLE 4

STAND-BY PAY

Employees covered by this Agreement, serving stand-by duty as heretofore
provided, will be paid at the following rate of Two Hundred Twenty-Five Dollars
($225.00) for any given seven (7) day stand-by period. Effective upon the execution of
this Agreement, the stand-by pay shall be increased to Two Hundred Forty Dollars
($240.00). Any call of duty initiated by a supervisor of employees serving stand-by duty
shall be considered authorized overtime and said overtime shall be paid in addition to the
stand-by pay. The number of personnel on stand-by at any given time is a matter to be
determined wholly at the discretion of the Sheriff.

ARTICLE 5

COMMITTEES

SECTION 1: NEGOTIATION COMMITTEE: The employer shall permit three (3)
members of the Employee’s Negotiating Committee to attend collective bargaining
meetings during the duty hours of its members, without loss of pay.

SECTION 2: ASSOCIATION MEETINGS: President or delegate of this bargaining unit
may use up to a total of fifteen (15) aggregate days for Association business each year.
Employees must request utilization of the leave at least forty-eight (48) hours prior to the
taking of such time and the employees agree that the taking of such time shall not impede
the operation of the Fire Marshal’s Office when it is taken. All use of such time shall be
reported to the Association and the employer to ensure that employees are actually
utilizing time for Association business. Statutory convention days shall not be counted
against contractually allowable days (N.J.S.A. 40A:14-177 & N.J.A.C. 4A:6-1.13).




ARTICLE 6
HOLIDAYS

SECTION 1: POSTED HOLIDAYS: Each full-time employee covered by this
Agreement shall be granted the following fourteen (14) holidays with pay, to be observed

on the dates specified each January by the Ocean County Board of Chosen Frecholders
and approved by the Sheriff:

New Year’s Days Labor Day

Martin Luther King Day Columbus Day
Lincoln’s Birthday Veteran’s Day
Washington’s Birthday Election Day

Good Friday Thanksgiving Day
Memorial Day Thanksgiving Friday
Independence Day Christmas Day

SECTION 2: The Sheriff will comply in granting a Holiday whenever the Governor of
the State of New Jersey and Board of Chosen Freeholders issue official proclamations
granting an additional holiday. Employees working on any of the above days shall
receive overtime pay at a rate of time and one-half (1-12X) times their regular pay. This
provision will only be prospective in application as of date of execution of contract.

SECTION 3: The following provision will take effect on the calendar year following the
year all existing Collective Bargaining Units agree to its inclusion in their Collective
Bargaining Agreement. Employees shall enjoy holidays with pay to be observed on the
dates established by New Jersey State Government.

ARTICLE 7

SICK LEAVE

SECTION 1: Sick Leave shall accumulate in hours at the rate of one and one quarter (1-
1/4) days per month in the first year of service, commencing on the first month or major
portion thereof, from date of hire. It is assumed that the employee shall remain in the
service of the County for the remainder of the calendar year, and the total number of sick
days, pro-rated, shall be credited to the employee. If separation occurs before the end of
the year and more Sick Leave has been taken than apportioned on a pro-rate basis, the per
diem rate of pay for the excess days shall be deducted from the final pay.

SECTION 2: Sick Leave shall accumulate from year to year with an additional fifteen
(15) days credited, in hours, to the employee at the beginning of each successive calendar
year.
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SECTION 3: Days lost due to injury or illness arising out of or caused by County
employment, for which the employee has a claim for Worker’s Compensation, shall not
be charged to Sick Leave. Paid holidays occurring during a period of Sick Leave shall
not be chargeable to Sick Leave.

SECTION 4: Employees in this bargaining unit are also eligible for coverage under the
County’s reimbursement for unused Sick Leave at Retirement Policy. This policy
provides for reimbursement for unused sick hours at retirement on the basis of one half
(1/2) pay for each earned and unused sick hours to a maximum of $15,000. Employees
are responsible for following all of the conditions and controls of this policy and all
pertinent forms must be submitted to the Department of Employee Relations at least sixty
(60) days prior to the date retirement commences. Employees will have a choice of
selecting either a lump sum payment or payments spread over a three-year (3) period.
The estates of unit members who die while still employed by the Board and/or Sheriff
shall also receive the same benefits within the guidelines described above.

ARTICLE 8

SICK LEAVE BUY-BACK PROGRAM

Employees in the bargaining unit are eligible to participate in a Sick Leave Buy-Back
Program.

PURPOSE: The purpose of the Sick Leave Buy-Back Program is to encourage

employees to make judicious use of their annual sick leave allotment by providing a
financial incentive.

ELIGIBILITY: In order to participate in this Program, an employee must satisfy all of
the following conditions:

1. Must be an active employee of the County of Ocean or on an approved leave
of absence without pay.

)

Must not be in calendar year of retirement.

3. Must have been employed by the County of Ocean not less than five (5) full
years at the time of application.

4. Must be credited with at least four hundred eighty (480) hours of earned and
unused sick leave on December 31st of the year preceding the year during
which payments will be made.



5. Must have used not more than fifty-six (56) hours of sick leave during the
calendar year which concludes on December 31st, of the year preceding the
year during which payments will be made.

HOW THE PROGRAM WORKS:

1. During January of each year, an eligible employee must request in writing (on
a form designed for that purpose) that he/she be compensated for between
thirty-two (32) and sixty-four (64) hours (inclusive) of earned and unused
sick leave.

2. Compensation shall be computed at the rate of sixty-five percent (65%) of the
daily base wage on the date of application times the number of hours to be
surrendered. Payment in the form of a payroll adjustment, subject to all
appropriate deductions, shall be made on or about May 15" of each year.

3. Employees who either do not qualify for this Program or choose not to
participate in it shall continue to eam, use and accumulate sick leave in
accordance with NJ Department of Personnel’s rules and regulations.

This article shall expire after the May 2013 payments, if any are made.
ARTICLE 9
OVERTIME

SECTION 1: Employees who are required to work overtime shall be paid at the regular
rate of pay for the first forty (40) hours worked in each week and shall be paid at the rate

of one and one-half times (1-1/2X) their regular pay for all hours worked in excess
thereof.

SECTION 2:  An employee shall be required to maintain appropriate records of overtime
as required by the employer.

SECTION 3: Any employee who receives compensatory time, at the request of the
employee, and with the prior approval of the employer, shall receive the compensatory
time on an hour for hour straight time basis unless compensatory time is received in lieu

of overtime in which case compensatory time shall be received on a time and one-half
basis for each hour worked.



ARTICLE 10

VACATIONS

The County’s vacation program is set forth as follows:

A. For an employee with no more than twelve (12) months of service, one (1) day, in
hours, for each calendar month employed.

B. For an employee who has served twelve (12) calendar months and one (1) day up
to a total of forty-eight (48) months, twelve (12) working days, in hours

C. For an employee who has served forty-eight (48) calendar months plus one (1)

day up to a total of one hundred thirty-two (132) calendar months, fifteen (15) working
days, in hours.

D. For an employee who has served forty-eight (48) calendar months plus one (1)
day up to a total of one hundred thirty-two (132) months plus one (1) day up to a total of
two hundred twenty-eight (228) calendar months, twenty (20) working days, in hours.

E. For an employee who has served two hundred twenty-eight (228) calendar months
plus one (1) day, twenty-five (25) working days, in hours.

Vacation time must be earned before it can be used. Each employee will be
informed of his/her vacation time through utilization of the County’s computer system.
Any employee leaving the service of the County shall have earned but unused vacation
time paid to him/her. Unearned but used vacation time will be deducted from the
employee’s last pay, if termination of service occurs. Permission may be granted with
notice to the Sheriff or designee for an employee to use vacation days individually.

ARTICLE 11

HOSPITAL, SURGICAL, MAJOR MEDICAL, PRESCRIPTION AND
RETIREMENT BENEFITS

All full-time members covered by this bargaining unit shall be permitted to enroll
in health benefits two (2) months from their date of hire.



A. The County of Ocean currently provides medical coverage to County employees
through the New Jersey State Health Benefits Program as supplemented by the NJ Local
Prescription Drug Program and Chapter 88 P.L. 1974, as amended by Chapter 436 P.L.
1981. The parties recognize that the State Health Benefits Program is subject to changes
enacted by the State of New Jersey that may either increase or decrease benefits,
including employee premium sharing.

B. The County shall not change the health insurance coverage referred to in
paragraph A except for a plan that is equivalent or better. Provided , however, that the
parties expressly recognize that the components of HMO plans are changed periodically
by the plan providers and that the County has no control over or any obligations
regarding such changes.

C. All employees current and future who retire on or after September 1, 2010 in
order to be eligible for the lifetime health benefits upon retirement, must have served a
rninimum of fifteen (15) of the required twenty-five (25) years with the County.

D. Effective September 1, 2010, the following changes will affect all new hires:

1. Employees will be offered the NJ Direct 15 Plan, or its replacement. New
hires may elect a higher level of coverage at their expense.

o

Continuation of spousal coverage after the death of the retiree will no
longer be offered at the County’s expense.

3. The County will no longer reimburse retirees Medicare Part B Premiums.

E. An eligible employee may change his/her coverage only during the announced
open enrollment period for each year after having been enrolled in the former plan for a
minimum of one (1) full year. Regardless of this election, employees are specifically
ineligible for any deductive reimbursement.

F. When a member from this bargaining unit is granted the privilege of a leave of
absence without pay for illness, health coverage will continue at County expense for the
balance of the calendar month in which the leave commences plus up to three (3)
additional calendar months next following the month in which the leave commences.
After that time has elapsed, if necessary, coverage for an additional period of eighteen
(18) months may be purchased by the employee under the C.O.B.R.A. Plan.

In the case of consecutive leaves of absence without pay, it is understood and

agreed that the responsibilities of the County to pay for benefits remains limited to the
original period of up to four (4) months.



ARTICLE 12

FAMILY DENTAL PLAN

All members covered by this bargaining unit and working thirty-two and one-half
(32.5) hours or more shall be permitted to enroll after the first of the month following
three (3) full months of employment in a Family Dental Plan.

The Family Dental Plan will be made available to eligible spouses and children to
the end of the year in which they turn 19 years of age. The maximum total cost for
services per patient per benefit year is limited to $1,000. There will be a $25.00
deductible for up to the first three members of each family. However, this deductible is
not applicable to preventive and diagnostic services as described below.

If the patient utilizes a participating dentist the percentage of coverage indicated
next to each class of dental care will prevail:

Preventative and Diagnostic
(X-rays, Cleaning, Check-up, Etc.)........................... 100%

Treatment and Therapy
(Fillings).. ..o 80%

Prosthodontics, Peridontics, Inlays,
Caps and Crowns, Oral Surgery

(Ambulatory)........... T 50%
Orthodontics
(Limited to $800 per patient
Over a five year period).........ocooeeiiiiiiiiiii . 50%
ARTICLE 13
LONGEVITY

Longevity pay for all classified permanent employees covered by this Agreement
will be based upon the schedule set forth below:

7 years 3.0% of base salary
12 years 4.6% of base salary
17 years 5.7% of base salary
22 years 6.5% of base salary
27 years 7.3% of base salary
32 years 8.0% of base salary



Effective with the execution of this agreement, this benefit shall cease for all new
hires.

ARTICLE 14

TRANSPORTATION

SECTION 1: Employees authorized and required to use privately owned automobiles in
work connected activities shall be reimbursed for expenses incurred at the prevailing rate
per mile. Transportation expenses shall be paid on a voucher which shall be submitted on
& monthly basis or at such time and in such form as the employer may require.

SECTION 2: Any employee who uses his/her privately owned vehicle in the
performance of official duties for the County Fire Marshal must offer proof of insurance
to the Ocean County Employee Relations’-Risk Management Division before such use
can be approved. Coverage must be in compliance with the State of New Jersey
Department of Insurance regulations.

ARTICLE 15

CLOTHING MAINTENANCE

All Assistant Fire Marshals covered by this Agreement shall wear and maintain
the proper uniform as required by the Sheriff. Failure to maintain and comply with set
dress code may result in disciplinary action. Any changes in the uniform made by the
employer shall be borne by the employer.

ARTICLE 16

TUITION REIMBURSEMENT

SECTION 1: Members of this bargaining unit are eligible to be reimbursed for college
tuition, subject to the Ocean County Tuition Reimbursement Policy (ER 701-86).

ARTICLE 17

GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

DEFINITIONS: A “grievance” is an allegation by any employee or the Local that a
specific provision of this Agreement has been violated. These grievances only may be
submitted to binding arbitration as a final step in the procedure. All other allegations
that there has been a violation, a misinterpretation or misapplication of polices, rules and
administrative decisions including disciplinaries may be submitted to all steps of the
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grievance procedure on these matters and will be final and binding. These non-contract
grievances may not be submitted to binding arbitration.

A “grievant” 1s an employee who files a grievance.

“Representative” is a person or agent designated to represent either
party in this procedure.

“Day” means a calendar day.

“Party of Interest” is a person, agent or agency with an interest in the

grievance.
“Class Grievance” is a formal grievance by two (2) or more
employees.
PROCEDURES:
A.  Grevances shall be processed promptly and expeditiously.
B. Grievances shall be adjudicated according to the terms of this procedure, time or

filing notwithstanding.

C. Formal grievances and appeals shall be filed in writing.
D. Communications and decisions concerning formal grievances shall be in writing.
E. A grievant shall be permitted a representative at all levels of the procedure and

witnesses as determined by the hearing officer, provided requests for such are filed two
(2) work days prior to the hearing.

F. There shall be no additional evidence submitted during the grievance process
once a grievance has been submitted to the Fire Marshal.

G.  Failure by a grievant to process a grievance within the specified time limit shall
render the grievance as settled in favor o the Fire Marshal.

H.  Failure by the Fire Marshal to issue a decision within the specified time limit shall
render the grievance advanced to the next level.

L. Class grievances shall be filed at Level 2 within ten (10) work days of the
cccurrence of a class grievance.
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PURPOSE: The purpose of this procedure is to secure at the lowest possible level,
equitable solutions to the problems which may, from time to time, arise affecting
employees. Both parties agree that these proceedings will be kept as informal and
confidential as may be appropriate at any level of the procedure.

PROCESSING — THE LIMIT: The number of days indicated at each level should be
considered as a maximum and every effort should be made to expedite the process. The
time limit specified may, however, be extended by mutual consent of the parties.

STEP 1 - IMMEDIATE SUPERVISOR AND/OR FIRE MARSHAL: An employee with
a grievance shall first discuss it with his/her immediate superior and the Fire Marshal,
either directly or through the Local’s designated representative, with the object of
resolving the matter informally. The grievant must initially discuss the grievance within

fifteen (15) days of the occurrence of the grievance at this level. Failure to do so shall
render the grievance a nullity.

STEP 2 — COUNTY SHERIFF: If the aggrieved person is not satisfied with the
disposition of his/her grievance at Step 1, or if no decision has been rendered within five
(5) working days after the presentation of the grievance, he/she may file the grievance in
writing with Local 98 F.M.B.A. within five (5) working days after the decision at Step 1
or ten (10) working days after the grievance was presented, whichever is sooner. Within

five (5) working days after receiving the written grievance, the Local shall refer it to the
Sheriff.

STEP 3 — COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR: If the aggrieved party is not satisfied with the
disposition of his/her grievance at Step 2 or if no decision has been rendered within ten
(10) working days after the grievance was delivered to the Sheriff, whichever is sooner,
he/she may request in writing that Local 98 F.M.B.A. submit his/her grievance to the
County Administrator for disposition.

STEP 4 — ARBITRATION: Within ten (10) days, if the aggrieved party is not satisfied
with the disposition of his/her grievance at Step 3, he/she may request in writing that the
Local submit his/her grievance to Arbitration. If the Local determines that the grievance
15 meritorious, it may submit the grievance to arbitration within twenty (20) days after
receipt of a request by the aggrieved person.

Within ten (10) days after such written notice of submission to arbitration the
Sheriff and the Local shall attempt to agree upon a mutually acceptable arbitrator and
shall obtain a commitment from said arbitrator to serve. If the parties are unable to agree
upon an arbitrator or to obtain such a commitment within the specified period, a request
for a list of arbitrators may be made to PERC by either party. The parties shall then be
bound by the rules and procedures of PERC.
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The arbitrator’s decision shall be in writing and shall be submitted to the County
and the Local and shall be final and binding on the parties.

In the event that arbitrability of a grievance is at issue between the parties,
jurisdiction to resolve the issue shall rest solely with the arbitrator selected in accordance
with the provision of this Article.

The costs for the services of the arbitrator, including per diem expenses, if any,
and actual and necessary travel, subsistence expenses and the cost of the hearing shall be

borne equally by the County and the Local. Any other expenses incurred shall be paid by
the party incurring same.

GENERAL PROVISIONS:

A. No prejudice will attend any party in interest by reason of the utilization or
participation in the grievance procedure.

B. The filing, pendency or hearing of any grievance shall not impede the normal
management of the work force or operation of any of the County’s agencies.

C. All records of grievance processing shall be filed separately.

D.  Forms for grievance processing shall be mutually agreed upon by the parties to
the agreement.

E. Parties in interest will cooperate, in investigating and providing pertinent
information concerning a grievance being processed.

F. Notice of hearings shall be made to the grievant at least forty-eight (48) hours in
advance and such hearings shall be held on the County’s premises.

G.  During the presentation of a grievance there shall be no loss of pay for the time
spent in presenting the grievance by the grievant and one (1) Local representative who is
an employee of the Sheriff throughout the grievance procedure. However, no employee
or official will be permitted to investigate or process grievances during working hours
without the approval of the Sheriff.

RIGHTS OF EMPLOYEE TO REPRESENTATION:

1. EMPLOYEE AND LOCAL: Any aggrieved person may be represented at all
states of the grievance procedure by himself/herself, or at his/her option, by a
representative selected or approved by the Local.
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CLASS GRIEVANCE PROCESSING: If, in the judgment of the Local, a
grievance which is previously designated as a class grievance exists, the Local
may submit such grievance in writing to the Sheriff and the processing of such
grievance shall be commenced at Step 2. The Local may process such a
grievance through all levels of the grievance, even though the aggrieved
person does not wish to do so provided the grievance is a contractual
grievance.

. WRITTEN DECISIONS:  Decisions rendered at Step 1 which are
unsatisfactory to the aggrieved person and all decisions rendered at Step 2 and
3 of the grievance procedures shall be in writing setting forth the decision and
shall be transmitted to all parties in the interest and to the Local.

ARTICLE 18

MANAGEMENT RIGHTS

. The Sheriff hereby retains and reserved unto himself, without limitation, all
powers, rights, authority, duties and responsibilities conferred upon and vested
in him prior to the signing of this Agreement by the laws and Constitution of
the State of New Jersey and of the United States including, but not without
limiting the generality of the foregoing, the following rights:

All management functions and responsibilities which the Sheriff has not
expressly modified or restricted by a specific provision of this Agreement.

- The right to establish and administer the policies and procedures related to
personnel matters, departmental activities, employee training, departmental
and work unit operational functions, performance of service and maintenance
of the facilities and equipment of the employer.

. To reprimand, suspend, discharge or otherwise discipline employees for
reasonable cause;

. To hire, promote, transfer, re-assign, layoff and recall employees to work;
. To determine the number of employees and the duties to be performed;
. To determine staffing patterns and areas worked, to control and regulate the

use of facilities, supplies, equipment, materials and other property of the
Sheriff, county of Ocean and Office of the Fire Marshal;
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8. To determine the number, location and operation of divisions, departments,
units and all other work groups of the Sheriff, assignment of work, the

qualifications required, the performance standards and the size of composition
of the work force;

9. To make or change Fire Marshal rules, regulations, policies and resolutions
consistent with the specific terms and provisions of this Agreement, consistent
with New Jersey State Statutes-;

10. And, otherwise, to generally manage the affairs of the Fire Marshal, attain and
maintain full operating efficiency and to direct the work force.

11. The exercise of the foregoing powers, rights, authority, duties and
responsibilities of the Fire Marshal, shall only be limited by the language of
this clause; and it is agreed that these enumerations of management rights
shall not be deemed to exclude other rights not enumerated.

12.In the recognition of the rulings of the Courts of New Jersey the parties
recognize that the exercise of managerial rights is a responsibility of the
Sheriff on behalf of the taxpayers and that the Sheriff cannot bargain away or
eliminate any of its managerial rights.

ARTICLE 19

WORK CONTINUITY

A.  Itisrecognized that the need for the continued and uninterrupted operation of the
Fire Marshal’s Office and functions is of paramount importance to the citizens of the
community and that there should be no interference with such operations.

B. The bargaining agent and the employees covered by this Agreement covenant and
agree that during the term of this Agreement neither the bargaining agent nor any
member of the bargaining agent or any member of the bargaining unit, nor any person
acting in its behalf will cause, authorize or support, nor will any of its members take part
in a strike (1.e. the concerted failure to report for duty or willful absence of any employee
from his/her position, or stoppage of work or abstinence in whole or in part, from the full,
faithful and proper performance of the employee’s duties of employment) work stoppage,
slow down, walk-out or other job action against the Sheriff and the County of Ocean.
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C.  The Local agrees that 1t will do everything in its power to actively discourage any
strike, work stoppage, slow down or other activity aforementioned including, but not
limited to, publicly disavowing such action and directing all such members who
participate in such activities to cease and desist from such activities immediately and to
return to work, along with such other steps as may be necessary under the circumstances
and to bring about compliance with its order.

ARTICLE 20

FULLY BARGAINED PROVISION

The employer and employees agree that they have fully bargained and agreed
upon all the terms and conditions of employment and that this Agreement represents and
incorporates the complete and final understanding and settlement by them of all
bargainable issues which were or could have been the subject negotiations.

ARTICLE 21

SEVERABILITY AND SAVINGS

If the provisions of this Agreement should be held invalid by the operation of law
or by any tribunal or competent jurisdiction, including but not limited to, the New Jersey
Civil Service Commission, or if compliance with or enforcement of any provision should
be restrained by such tribunal pending a final determination as to its validity, such
provisions shall be inoperative, but all other provisions shall not be affected and shall
continue in full force and effect.

ARTICLE 22

PERSONAL DAYS

Each employee may be eligible for three (3) days Personal Leave, which may be
used for personal business. Personal Leave days shall be considered as “earned” on
January 1, May 1 and September 1 of each calendar year.

Use of Personal Days shall require forty-eight (48) hours notice, except in the
case of any emergency. The employee must have the permission of his/her immediate
supervisor before Personal Leave can be taken and Personal Leave shall not be
accumulative. Employee’s request for Personal leave shall not be unreasonably denied.

In situations where there is a bereavement involving a family member not covered

by the contract, members may utilize the balance of the yearly allotment whether earned
Qr not.
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Personal Days shall not be carried over from one calendar year to the next and
must be used in increments of one full day.

ARTICLE 23

WORK RULES AND REGULATIONS

The Sheriff may establish at his/her discretion and the discretion of his/her agents
reasonable rules and regulations for the operation of the department.

ARTICLE 24

PERFORMANCE EVALUATION

The Sheriff reserves the right to establish a performance evaluation system and to
conduct the performance evaluations of all personnel covered by this Agreement.
Performance evaluations will be conducted by the appropriate supervisor and the
employee will be provided with a copy of his/her performance evaluation.

Any employee who wishes to discuss his/her performance evaluation with the

appropriate supervisor shall contact that supervisor for an appointment for such
discussion.

ARTICLE 25

PRODUCTIVITY PROGRAMS

The employer and the employee agree to cooperate in all efforts by the County to
increase productivity. They recognize that cooperation between management and
employees is indispensable to the accomplishment of sound and harmonious labor
negotiations. They further agree that the Ocean County Office of the Fire Marshal (i.e.
Local 98) will assist the County whenever possible, in obtaining funding to implement
productivity studies and programs. Towards that end, periodic staff meetings will be
scheduled. The Union may request Staff Meetings and present agenda items.

ARTICLE 26

DUES CHECK-OFF

Effective upon execution of this Agreement, the Sheriff agrees, in accordance with NJSA
52:14-15.9(e) to deduct from the earnings of each employee, Local members dues when
said employee has properly authorized such deduction in writing. The Local will
indemnify, defend and save harmless the Sheriff and County against any and all claims,
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demands, suits or other forms of liability that shall arise out of or by reason of action
taken by the Sheriff in reliance upon salary deduction authorization cards submitted by
the Local to the Sheriff. The Sheriff will forward all dues deduction monies collected on
a monthly basis to the Secretary-Treasurer of the Local. A list of the names of deductees
will be forwarded annually by the Local.

ARTICLE 27

AGENCY SHOP

The Sheriff agrees in accordance with NJSA 34:13A-5.5 to 5.9 any employee who
i3 a member of this bargaining unit on the effective date of this Agreement who is not a
member of the certified bargaining agent organization shall pay an agency shop fee equal
to 85% of the dues, initiation fees and special assessments of the bargaining agent. The

bargaining agent agrees to save the employer harmless from any and all actions it takes
under this Article.

ARTICLE 28

MAINTENANCE OF BENEFITS

Except as this Agreement shall otherwise expressly provide, all terms and
conditions of employment applicable on the effective date of this Agreement as
established by statute, regulation, administrative procedure, policies and practices shall
be maintained and continued for the duration of this Agreement. Unless specifically
provided in this Agreement, nothing contained herein shall be interpreted or applied so as
to eliminate, reduce or otherwise detract from any benefit existing on the effective date of
this Agreement.

ARTICLE 29

BEREAVEMENT LEAVE

A. All employees will receive up to three (3) days leave in the event of the death of a

spouse, child, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, parent, father-in-law, mother-in-law, brother,
brother-in-law, sister-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, aunt, uncle of the employee:, and
any other member of the immediate household. Bereavement Leave days shall be
consecutive and shall include the day of interment. All employees shall be entitled to one
(1) day in the event of the death of a spouse’s aunt, uncle or grandparent.
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B. Such leave will not be taken until the immediate supervisor is notified of the
instance of bereavement. The employer may require proof of loss of a decedent
whenever such requirement appears reasonable. Bereavement Leave is specifically
provided to allow funeral services and must include one of the following days:

Date of death

Any day of viewing

Date of interment

Day of religious or memorial service

C. In no event shall any part of Bereavement Leave occur more than fifteen (15)
days from the date of death. Abuse of the bereavement provision shall be cause for
disciplinary action. In special circumstances which may exceed fifteen (15) days from
the date of death, requests for Bereavement Leave shall not be unreasonably denied.

ARTICLE 30

PERSONNEL FILES

A. A personnel file shall be established and maintained for each employee covered
by this Agreement. Such files are confidential records and shall be maintained in the
Employee Relations Department and may be used for evaluation purposes.

B. Upon advanced notice and at reasonable times, any members of the bargaining
unit may review his/her personnel file. However, this appointment for review must be

made through the Director of Employee Relations or his/her designated representative.

C. All personnel files will be carefully maintained and safeguarded permanently and
nothing placed in any file shall be removed therefrom.

ARTICLE 31

MINIMUM CALL-INPAY

Employees required to return to work on an overtime basis shall receive a
minimum of four (4) hours of overtime pay at time and one-half (1-1/2X) rate for each
mstance in which the employee is called upon to return to work beyond the forty (40)
hours per week, notwithstanding that the actual time worked may be less than four (4)
hours. The four (4) hour call-in overtime guarantee shall only apply to those instances

where the employee has completed his/her regular shift and is called to return to work
after completion of their regular shift.
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In the instance where the employee is required to return to work on an overtime basis and
has worked five (5) hours, the employee shall receive a minimum of eight (8) hours of
overtime pay at time and one-half (1-1/2X) rate for each instance in which the employee
1s called upon to return to work beyond the forty (40) hours per week, notwithstanding
that the actual time worked may be less than eight (8) hours. The five (5) hour call-in
overtime guarantee shall only apply to those instances where the employee has completed
his/her regular shift and is called to return to work after completion of their regular shift.

Notwithstanding the above, in no event shall the employee be paid at the overtime
rate for working during the employee’s regularly scheduled working hours. In other
words, the four (4) hours minimum overtime pay shall only be paid when the four hour
period is outside the employee’s regular shift. As an example, but not by way of
limitation, if an employee is called upon to return to work at 6:00A.M. and the

employee’s regular shift commences at 8:00 A.M., then the employee shall only be paid
ar the overtime rate for two (2) hours.

An employee shall be required to maintain appropriate records for their overtime
as required by the employer.

ARTICLE 32

TERMINATION OF EMPLOYMENT

This article is procedural and is not meant to diminish the statutory rights of the
County of Ocean as employer. Fire Marshals appointed to employment in the Ocean

County Fire Marshal’s Office shall be subject to the disciplinary procedures as set forth
herein.

1. It is the responsibility of the immediate supervisor to enforce and maintain
proper discipline. The employer recognizes a progressive disciplinary
procedure will ordinarily be utilized. In certain severe instances it may be
necessary for one or more preliminary steps of discipline to be by-passed
wherein either a suspension or dismissal is imposed on an employee as
specified by New Jersey Civil Service Commission. However, in no case will
the option of immediate dismissal be exercised without consultation with the
Director of Employee Relations by the Department Head. The following

disciplinary procedures will apply, except in such cases where other actions
are warranted.

Step One:

The supervisor will call to the employee’s attention specific acts of unsatisfactory
conduct or performance of duty and prepare a report for inclusion in the employee’s
personnel file.

19



Step Two: Written Reprimand -

If an employee fails to improve following an interview, a Written Reprimand will
be prepared by the immediate supervisor outlining in detail the unsatisfactory conduct
and performance of duty. The original copy of reprimand will be furnished to the
employee and a copy signed by him/her and acknowledged and a receipt of the Written
Reprimand will be sent to the Department of Employee Relations for inclusion in the
employee’s personnel file.

Step Three:  Suspension Without Pay

In any event where the conduct of an employee is such that a personal interview
and a Written Reprimand would not be applicable for the conduct committed by the
employee, and it appears that a suspension is necessary, upon approval of the Department
Head and the Director of Employee Relations; a suspension letter will be issued to the

employee. The letter will specify the reason for suspension and the length of time the
employee will be suspended.

Step Four: Dismissal

In the event that unsatisfactory conduct, performance or the conduct in and of
itself warrants dismissal, a dismissal notice will be issued in accordance with the rules
and regulations of the New Jersey Civil Service Commission.

Step Five: Grounds for Disciplinary Action

Any one of the following shall be cause for termination although termination may
be made for sufficient cause other than those listed. The following is not to be
considered as an exhausted list of possible grounds for dismissal:

Neglect of duty

Incompetency or inefficiency

Incapacity due to mental or physical disability
Insubordination or serious breach of discipline
Intoxication while on duty

Chronic or excessive absenteeism

The commission of any criminal act or offense
Conduct unbecoming a public employee

© NN R LN

It is specifically recognized by the employer and the employees that members of
this bargaining unit are statutorily appointed for a set period. Nothing contained herein is
to be interpreted in any way as to guarantee or tenure a position as Assistant Fire
Marshall with the County of Ocean. It is clearly understood by the parties pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 4A:14-1 that the Board of Chosen Freeholders by resolution appoints such
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Assistant Fire Marshals as they deem necessary and appoint a person or persons to hold
such office for a term of three (3) years and as indicated aforementioned nothing
contained in this article which is procedural in nature shall be construed to diminish the
statutory rights of the County of Ocean through the County Board of Freeholders with
reference to appointment or retention of Assistant Fire Marshals pursuant to statute.

ARTICLE 33
SALARY
A. The minimum salary of Assistant Ocean County Fire Marshals under this
Agreement is $31,500.
B. Effective April 1, 2013, employees in the bargaining unit shall receive an increase

of one point five percent (1.5%) applied to their March 31, 2013 base salary.

C. Effective April 1, 2014, the minimum salary of Assistant Ocean County Fire
Marshals shall be $32,000.

D.  Effective April 1, 2014, employees in the bargaining unit shall receive an increase
of one point five percent (1.5%) applied to their March 31, 2014 base salary.

E. Effective June 1, 2014, in consideration of Article 15, employees in the

bargaining unit shall receive an increase of Seven Hundred Twenty-Five Dollars
($725.00) applied to their base salary.

F. Effective April 1, 2015, the minimum salary of Assistant Ocean County Fire
Marshals shall be $32,500.

G. Effective April 1, 2015 employees in the bargaining unit shall receive an increase
of one point five percent (1.5%) applied to their March 31, 2015 base salary.

ARTICLE 34

DURATION

The terms and conditions set forth in this Agreement shall become effective on
April 1, 2013, except for those Articles which contain specific dates to the contrary, and

shall continue in full force and effect until March 31, 2016, or until execution of a
successor Agreement.
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AGREEMENT

This Agreement, executed , 2013 has been negotiated betyveen the
Ocean County Board of Chosen Freeholders, hereinafter referred to as "Employer”, and the
Office and Professional Employees International Union, Local #32, A.F. of L. - Q.I.O. -
C.L.C., representing Ocean County Juvenile Detention Center Employees, hereinafter
referred to as "Union."

Whereas, the parties hereto have entered into collective negotiations and desire to
reduce the results thereof to writing,

Now, therefore, it is mutually agreed as follows:
ARTICLE 1
RECOGNITION

The Employer-hereby recognizes the O.P.E.L.U., Local #32, A.F. of L. - C.1.O. -
C.L.C. as the exclusive representative of all full-time and permanent part-time personnel
employed as Juvenile Detention Officer, Juvenile Detention Officer/Youth Aide, Sr. Juvenile
Detention Officer/Sr. Youth Aide, Admissions & Records Officer and Senior Admissions &
Records Officer but excluding the Director, managerial executives, supervisory personnel,
confidentials, policy officers, craft Employees, teachers, social workers, investigators, T/120s
and personnel in other bargaining units.

Unless otherwise indicated, the term "Employee” when used hereinafter in this
Agreement, shall refer to all Employees represented by the Union in the negotiating unit as
above defined, and references to male Employees shall include female Employees. Use of
the word "Employer” shall refer to the Ocean County Board of Chosen Freeholders.

ARTICLE 2
MANAGEMENT RIGHTS

A. The Employer retains and reserves all rights, powers, duties, authority and
responsibilities conferred upon and vested in it by the laws and Constitutions of the State of
New Jersey and the United States of America.

B.  All'suchrights, powers, authority and prerogatives of management possessed
by the Employer are retained, subject to limitations as may be imposed by the New Jersey
Public Employer-Employee Relations Act, as amended, the Rules and Regulations of the
Civil Service Commission and the Rules and Regulations as outlined in NJAC:10A, Chapter
32 Manual of Standards for Juvenile Detention facilities.

C.  The Employer retains its responsibility to promulgate and enforce rules and
regulations, subject to limitations as may be imposed by the New Jersey Public Employer-
Employee Relations Act, as amended, and the Rules and Regulations of the Civil Service
Commission, governing the conduct and activities of Employees and which are consistent
with the express provisions of this Agreement.

D.  The Employer specifically has the right to install a time clock in the facility
and to establish rules and regulations concerning its use.

1



ARTICLE 3
NO STRIKE

A.  ltis recognized that the need for continued and uninterrupted operation of
the Employer's departments and functions is of paramount importance to the citizens of
the community and that there should be no interference with such operations.

B.  During the term of this Agreement, the Employees and the Union agree not
to institute or engage in or support any strike, work stoppage, slowdown or other similar

action by Employees covered by this Agreement. No lockout of Employees shall be
instituted or supported by the County during the term of this Agreement.

ARTICLE 4
WORK PERFORMANCE

All Employees covered by this Agreement will perform all duties according to
their job descriptions and all duties assigned by their supervisor. Employee work rules,
personnel regulations and other regulations are recognized as the authority of the
Employer. The Employer may adopt work rules for the efficient, orderly and timely
operation of assignments by members of this Agreement with proper notification to the
members of this Agreement. Proper notification shall be the posting of any new work rule
two (2) weeks before the implementation of same. Standards of work shall be consistent
with the State Manual of Standards.

ARTICLE 5
PERFORMANCE EVALUATION

The Employer has established a Service Rating/Performance Evaluation Manual
which sets forth the procedures and policies by which the job performance of Employees
will be evaluated. The Employee will be provided with a copy of his/her performance
evaluation in a timely manner (optimally 72 hours or less).

Any Employee who wishes to discuss his/her performance evaluation with the
appropriate supervisor shall contact the appropriate supervisor for an appointment for

such discussion and shall have the right to have one (1) Union Representative present at
said discussion.

ARTICLE 6
NON-DISCRIMINATION

~The parties agree that they will comply with all State and Federal statutes regarding
discrimination. For example, no Employee will be discriminated against because of race,
creed, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability, union affiliation or age. No
Employee, because of sex, shall be denied or discriminated against in the employment of
any job position within the bargaining unit or our Agreement.
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ARTICLE 7
WORK HOURS

A.  The hours of work for Employees in this bargaining unit shall be scheduled at
the discretion of the Employer. The normal work week of the Employees in this unit will be
scheduled on a seven (7) day basis of forty (40) hours per week. Scheduling shall occur at
the discretion of the Employer from Thursday to Wednesday.

B. The parties recognize the responsibility of the Employer to assign staff on an
as needed basis, to deal with the caseload and mission of the Agency. Decisions regarding
scheduling and work hours in accordance with the management rights clause of this
Agreement are at the sole discretion of the Employer. Such decisions are final and binding.

C. The Employer or its agent will post any schedule changes at least two (2)
weeks before the change is to be implemented and copies of said schedule change shall
be sent to the bargaining agent and the Employee Relations Director.

D.  Annually during the month of November, Employees in this bargaining unit will
be given the opportunity, on the basis of seniority to bid for the shift assignment of their
preference; provided that the resulting pattern of assignments satisfies all State guidelines.
The bargaining unit understands and accepts the need of the Employer to have at least one
female and one Senior Officer assigned to every shift at all times. To this end, the Employer
may have to hold certain shifts open for female and Senior officers and bypass the normal
shift bidding by the seniority provision. Every effort should be made to follow the shift
bidding procedure when possible. Seniority bidding will also be used to fill shift openings
that occur during the year. If there are no bids on particular shift assignments, then
management may assign personnel from the unit to the shift in question at its discretion.
The Employer will maintain an up to date seniority list and will provide a copy to the
bargaining unit.

E. The work day for Employees shall be eight (8) hours inclusive of a thirty (30)
minute meal period.

F.  The work day shall be broken into three (3) consecutive work shifts and two
(2) supplemental shifts, as follows:

a. 7:00 A.M. to 3:00 P.M.
b. 3:00 P.M. to 11:00 P.M.
c. 11:00 P.M. to 7:00 A.M.

Supplemental shifts:
d. 8:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M.
€. 2:00 P.M. to 10:00 P.M.



ARTICLE 8
SAFE CONDITIONS

Whenever an Employee observes a condition which represents a violation of safety
or health rules and regulations or which is an unreasonable hazard to persons or property,
the Employee shall report such observation to the Director, who will conduct a prompt
investigation.

The parties agree to meet on an as needed basis to discuss maters of mutual
concern pertaining to the health and safety of employees.

ARTICLE 9
SENIORITY

A.  All Employees are to be notified of a job opening or vacancy prior to filling a
position.

B. Seniority, which is defined as continuous, unbroken service with the
Department of Juvenile Services will be given consideration by the Employer with respect
to promotions. However, service will be considered broken, for the purpose of this clause, if
an Employee who has served continuously with the Employer for at least one (1) year:

1. Should resign his/her position an not be rehired by said Employer within
three (3) months of said resignation.

2. Should an Employee retire.
3. Should an Employee suffer a validated dismissal.

4, For seniority purposes, should a member of the bargaining unit be
promoted within the department but out of the bargaining unit and
returns to the bargaining unit, he/she will be given credit for the time in
the unit when they left.

C.  The Employer shall fill permanent job openings by promoting Employees
from the next lower rated job titles, provided these Employees possess the requirements
enunciated by the Civil Service Commission. and who are subsequently certified by the
New Jersey Civil Service Commission. In all instances, Employees promoted must possess
the skill, ability and knowledge to perform the duties required of the higher rated job as
determined by the Employee Relations Director.

D. If there are two (2) or more Employees with equal skill and ability to perform
the work at the discretion of the Employer, the Employee with the greatest seniority shall be
given preference. If the Employee with the greatest seniority cannot perform the higher
rated job, once promoted to the higher rated job, then the Employer shall promote the
Employee which it deems next eligible, as determined by the Employee Relations Director.
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E.  Vacations - Whenever more than one (1) Employee recognized by this
Agreement requests vacation at a job location at any particular time, the Employer shall
endeavor to honor all vacations as requested. However, when vacation cannot be granted
to all Employees requesting vacations for a particular period, the Employees with the
greatest seniority shall be granted their vacation during a period of work for his/her
department. Peak periods will be designated by the administration each year.

ARTICLE 10
SICK LEAVE

A.  Sick Leave shall accumulate at the rate of one and one-quarter (1 1/4) days
per month credited in hours in the first year of service, commencing on the first month or
major portion thereof from day of hire. New full-time Employees, both provisional and
permanent, shall earn, but are not permitted to use, Sick Leave during the first three (3)
months of employment. Employees who are not retained at the conclusion of the three (3)
month period shall not be entitled to any leave accumulated during that time. If separation
occurs before the end of the year, and more Sick Leave has been taken than appropriated
on a pro-rated basis, the per diem rate of pay for the excess days shall be deducted from
the final pay. Sick Leave shall accumulate year to year with an additional fifteen (15) days
credited to the Employee at the beginning of each successive calendar year. Days lostdue
to injury or illness arising out of or caused by County employment for which the Employee
has a claim for Worker's Compensation, shall not be chargeable to Sick Leave.

B.  Sick Leave may be used as credited even though it has not technically been
earned, provided that the Employee has worked for the Board in good standing and without
any pattern of leave abuse for a period of one (1) full calendar year after the calendar year
in which employment began, subject to proper notification. For example, a Juvenile
Detention Officer who began County employment on October 1, 2007 would be eligible to
utilize Sick Leave on an accelerated basis beginning on January 1, 2009. Prior to that time,
Sick Leave may not be utilized until earned.

1. The Director of Juvenile Services or his/her designee may require proof of
illness of an Employee on Sick Leave whenever there is reason to believe that an

Employee is abusing Sick Leave. Abuse of Sick Leave shall be cause for disciplinary
action up to and including termination.

C.  Employees in this bargaining unit are eligible for coverage under the County's
Reimbursement for Sick Days at Retirement Policy. This policy provides for the
reimbursement of unused sick days at retirement on the basis of one-half pay for each
earned and unused sick day to a maximum of $15,000.00 (Fifteen Thousand Dollars).

Employees are responsible for following all of the conditions and controls of this
policy and all forms pertinent to the policy must be filled out and submitted to the
Department of Employee Relations at least sixty (60) days prior to the date retirement
commences. Employees have a choice of selecting either a lump sum payment or
payments spread over a three (3) year period.

D. All other proper and authorized leaves as provided in the rules of the New
Jersey Civil Service Commission shall be recognized and constitute a part of this
Agreement. )
<)



ARTICLE 11
SICK LEAVE BUY-BACK PROGRAM

Purpose: The purpose of the Sick Leave Buy-Back Program is to encourage Employees to
make judicious use of their annual sick leave allotment by providing a financial incentive.

Eligibility. In order to participate in this Program, an Employee must satisfy all of the
following conditions:

1. Must be an active Employee of the County of Ocean or on an approved leave
of absence without pay.

2. Must not be in calendar year of retirement.

3. Must have been employed by the County of Ocean not less than five (5) full
years at the time of application.

4. Must be credited with at least four hundred eighty (480) hours of earned and
unused sick leave on December 31st of the year preceding the year during
which payments will be made.

5. Must have used not more than fifty-six (56) hours of sick leave during the
calendar year which concludes on December 31, of the year preceding the
year during which payments will be made.

How the Program Works:

1. During January of each year, an eligible Employee must request in writing (on
a form designed for that purpose) that he/she be compensated for between thirty-two (32)
and sixty-four (64) hours (inclusive) of earned and unused sick leave.

2. Compensation shall be computed at the rate of sixty-five percent (65%) of the
daily base wage on the date of application times the number of hours to be surrendered.

Payment in the form of a payroll adjustment, subject to all appropriate deductions, shall be
made on or about May 15th of each year.

3. Employees who either do not qualify for this Program or choose not to
participate in it shall continue to earn, use and accumulate sick leave in accordance with
New Jersey Department of Personnel rules and regulations.

This article shall expire after the May 2013 payments, if any are made.
ARTICLE 12
UNION RIGHTS

‘ A.  The Employer shall permit representatives of the Union to transact official
business on work areas provided that this shall not interfere with or interrupt normal work
operations.
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B. The Union will have access to bulletin boards in work areas where Employees
are employed. The Union may post notices of association activities and information
pertinent to its collective bargaining relationship with the Employees on these bulletin
boards. Copies of the information to be posted on the bulletin boards will be forwarded to
the Department of Employee Relations.

C. Whenever any representative of the Union or an Employee is mutually
scheduled by the parties during working hours to participate in negotiations, grievance
proceedings, conference or meetings, such Employees shall suffer no loss in pay or
benefits and shall not be required to make up time missed on an hour-for-hour basis.

D. Employees may use up to a total of fourteen (14) aggregate days for Union
business leave each year. The Union must request utilization of the leave to the Director of
Employee Relations at least forty-eight (48) hours before it is taken, such leave shall not
impede the operation of any County department.

E. The Employer shall not discriminate against any Employee with respect to
hours, wages, or any terms or conditions of employment by reason of his membership in
the Union, participation in activities of the Union, collective negotiations with the Employer,
or his/her institution of any grievance, complaint or proceeding under this Agreement.

F.  An Employee shall have the right, upon request, to review the contents of
his/her personnel file. The Employee shall have the right to have photocopies made at
his/her expense. The Employee shall be entitled to have a Union Representative
accompany him/her during such review. The Employer agrees that it shall not establish any
separate personnel file which is not available for the Employee's inspection.

G. Employees may enjoy the privilege of a Leave of Absence for Family Leave in
accordance with State Statutes, the prevailing New Jersey Department of Personnel Rules
& Regulations and Board policy.

H.  Atthe discretion of the Director, which shall not be unreasonably withheld, the
Employer may reimburse Employees for cost of any clothing and/or personal property
damaged or destroyed as a result of an assault on either the Employee or his personal
property suffered while acting in the discharge and performance of his duties.

ARTICLE 13
VISION CARE

Vision Care benefits will be afforded to all members of the bargaining unit in

glc«:o”rdance with the provisions set forth in the "Guidelines for Ocean County Vision Service
dan-.



ARTICLE 14
TRAVEL EXPENSE

All Employees who have approval to use their personal vehicles for County
business, shall be reimbursed at the prevailing rate per mile, plus tolls, if any should apply.

All Employees will report their mileage on the appropriate form and will use the
appropriate voucher as specified by the County.

This reimbursement shall apply to those Employees who meet the minimum
acceptable driving requirements as set forth in the Ocean County insurance Committee
Policies and Procedures Manual. Employees who do not meet these requirements shall
not drive. All such Employees must offer proof of insurance to the County Department of
Employee Relations, Division of Risk Management before such use can be approved.
Coverage must be in compliance with the State of New Jersey Department of insurance
regulations.

ARTICLE 15
EMPLOYEE MANUALS

Personnel Handbooks and Policy and Procedural Manuals have been prepared
and distributed by the Employer.

ARTICLE 16
HOLIDAYS

Each full-time Employee covered by this Agreement shall enjoy the following
holidays with pay, to be observed on the dates specified each January by the Board of
Chosen Freeholders:

Martin Luther King Day Columbus Day
Lincoln’s Birthday Election Day
Washington’s Birthday Veteran's Day
Good Friday Thanksgiving Day
Memorial Day Thanksgiving Friday
Labor Day

Each full-time Employee covered by this Agreement shall enjoy as holidays
January 1st, July 4th and December 25th of each year. If the Board of Chosen Freeholders
designates a different date for the County celebration of these three holidays, said
designation shall not apply to members of this bargaining unit.

Any Employee working on any of the above days shall receive overtime pay at the
rate of time and one-half (1 1/2x) for all hours worked plus one (1) day straight time wages
representing the paid holiday. If an Employee should work beyond a normal eight (8) hour
shift, he/she shall be paid double time and one-half (2 1/2X) for those hours worked up to
and ending at midnight.



in addition, Employees required to work on Easter Sunday shall be compensated at
the rate of time and one-half (1 1/2x) for all hours worked.

The County will comply in granting a holiday whenever the Governor of the State of
New Jersey and the Board of Chosen Freeholders both take official action to declare an
extra holiday.

The following provision will take effect on the calendar year following the year all
existing Collective Bargaining Units agree to its inclusion in their Collective Bargaining
Agreement. Employees shall enjoy holidays with pay to be observed on the dates
established by New Jersey State Government.

ARTICLE 17

DUES CHECK-OFF

Following the successful completion of the first ninety (90) days of employment, the
Employer agrees to deduct from the earnings of each Employee Union member dues,
initiation fees and special assessments when said Employee has properly authorized such
deductions in writing. The Union will indemnify, defend and save harmless the County
against any and all such claims, demands, suits or other forms of liability that shall arise out
of or by reason of action taken by the County in reliance upon salary deduction
authorization cards submitted by the Union to the County. The County will forward all dues
deduction monies collected on a monthly basis to the Secretary-Treasurer of the Office and
Professional Employees International Union, Local #32. A list of the names of deductees
will be forwarded annually.

ARTICLE 18
AGENCY SHOP

The parties agree that for the term of this Agreement in accordance with New
Jersey Statutes, any Employee in a title covered by this Agreement on the effective date of
this Agreement who is not a member of the Union shall pay an agency shop fee equal to
85% of the dues, initiation fees and special assessments of the bargaining agent. Such
fees shall be deducted from the pay of Employees affected following the successful
completion of the first ninety (90) days of employment. The contract language shall serve
as authorization for the deduction of these fees. The bargaining agent agrees to save the
Employer harmiess from any and all actions it takes under this Article.

ARTICLE 19
BEREAVEMENT LEAVE

All Employees shall receive up to three (3) days leave in the event of the death of a
spouse, child, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, parent, father-in-law, mother-in-law, brother,
brother-in-law, sister, sister-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, aunt or uncle of the Employee
and any other member of the immediate household. One (1) day leave will be given to
attend the funeral services of a spouse's aunt, uncle, or grandparent.
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Such leave will not be taken until the immediate supervisor is notified of the instance of
bereavement. The employing authority may require proof of loss of a decedent whenever
such requirement appears reasonable. Bereavement Leave is specifically provided to
allow eligible Employees time to make necessary arrangements and attend funeral
services. Therefore, bereavement leave must include one of the following days:

Date of death

Any day of viewing

Date of interment

Day of religious or memorial service

In no event shall any part of Bereavement Leave occur more than fifteen days from
the date of death, unless there are mitigating circumstances. Abuse of the bereavement
provision shall be cause for disciplinary action.

ARTICLE 20

VACATION TIME

Vacation leave will be granted to each full time Employee, in hours, on the following
basis:

l. For an Employee with no more than twelve months of service...one (1) day for
each calendar month employed.

2. Foran Employee who has served one (1) year and one (1) day up to a total of
four (4) years...twelve (12) working days per year.

3. Foran Employee who has served four (4) years and one (1) day up to eleven
(11) years. . fifteen (15) working days per year.

4.  For an Employee who has served eleven (11) years and one (1) day up to
nineteen (19) years...twenty (20) working days per year.

5. Foran Employee who served nineteen (19) years and one (1) day...twenty-
five (25) working days per year.

New full-time Employees, both provisional and permanent, shall earn, but are not
permitted to use, vacation leave during the first three months of employment. Employees
who are not retained at the conclusion of the three month period shall not be entitled to any
leave accumulated during that time.

Each Employee shall be informed of his/her Vacation Time through utilization of the
County's computer system. Any Employee leaving the service of the County shall have
unused Vacation Time paid to him/her on a pro-rated basis. If separation of service occurs,
unearned Vacation Time used will be deducted from the Employee's last pay along with
any other unearned time that the Employee has utilized. Permanent part-time Employees

will be granted vacation leave in hours in accordance with the above schedule on a pro-
rated basis.
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ARTICLE 21
DISCIPLINE

A. All discipline of Employees of the Detention Center shall be in conformance
with the following progressive discipline contained below:

B. Nothing shall prevent the County Administration from suspension of any
individual in any severe case as might arise. In any case, dismissal shall be in
conformance with applicable and New Jersey Civil Service Commission’s rules and
regulations.

C.  The recommendation for any suspension or dismissal by the Director shallin
all cases be in writing and be confirmed by the Director of Employee Relations.

D. in all cases of suspension of more than five (5) days, the affected Employee
shall have notice of the charges by the Director and be afforded the opportunity to be
represented by the Union and Counsel at a hearing before the Director of Employee
Relations or his/her designee.

E.  All disciplinary action will be taken for reasonable cause which must be
justified upon examination by the Director of Employee Relations and the County
Administrator.

ARTICLE 22

SEVERABILITY

If any provision of this Agreement or any application of this Agreement is held
invalid by operation of law or by a court or other tribunal of competent jurisdiction, such
provision shall be inoperative but all other provisions shall not be affected thereby and shall
continue in full force and effect. The County and Union shall negotiate the impact of such
change.

ARTICLE 23
PERSONAL DAYS

Each Employee may be eligible for three (3) days personal leave, which may be
used for personal business which cannot be conducted after the work day. Use of Personal
Days shall require forty-eight (48) hours notice, except in the case of any emergency. The
Employee must have the permission of his/her immediate supervisor before personal leave
can be taken. Personal leave shall not be unreasonably denied. For new Employees in
their first calendar year of service, personal leave shall be granted as follows:

Date of Initial Hire Amount of Personal Leave
January 1 thru April 30 3 days
May 1 thru August 31 2 days
September | thru October 31 | day
November 1 thru December 31 0 days
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Employees hired on or after October 1 through October 31 of their first calendar
year in service may use the one Personal Day to be awarded to them after two months of
service, but must use the day prior to the end of the calendar year. Except for Employees
hired on or after October 1 through October 31 of their initial calendar year of service, no
Employee shall be entitled to use personal leave until he/she has worked three months for
the County.

Personal Days shall not be carried over from one calendar year to the next and
must be used in increments of one full day.

ARTICLE 24
GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

A. Grievances shall be processed promptly and expeditiously.

B. Grievances shall be adjudicated according to the terms of this procedure, time
of filing notwithstanding.

C. Formal grievances, appeals, communications and decisions concerning
formal grievances shall be in writing.

D. Failure by a grievant to process a grievance within the specified time limit
shall render the grievance as settled in favor of the Board.

E. Failure by the Board to issue a decision within the specified time limit shall
render the grievance advanced to the next level.

F.  Grievances may only be advanced to Step 2 or higher by Union officers or
Shop Stewards.

G. The filing, pendency or hearing of any grievance shall not impede the normal
management of the work force or operation of any of the Board's agencies.

H. All records of grievance processing shall be filed separately.

L. Forms for grievance processing shall be mutually agreed upon by the parties

to the A(\jgreement. The Union and Employee Relations Director will distribute the forms as
required.

J. Parties in interest will cooperate in investigating and providing pertinent
information concerning a grievance being processed.

K. The Board agrees that in the presentation of a grievance there shall be no
loss of pay for the time spent in presenting the grievance by the grievant and one (1) Union
Representative who is an Employee of the Board throughout the grievance procedure.
However, no Employee or official will be permitted to investigate or process grievances
during working hours without the approval of the Emplioyee Relations Director.
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L. The Union and the Employee Relations Department may mutually waive the
first step.

PROCESSING - The number of days indicated at each level should be .co_nsidered as a
maximum and every effort should be made to expedite the process. Time limits at Step One
shall begin with the day of the event giving rise to the grievance or the day the Union or
grievant should have become aware of the problem, whichever is later.

STEP 1 - The grievant and/or his/her representative shall present a written statement of
the alleged grievance to the Department Head. The grievant must file the written grievance
within fifteen (15) work days of the occurrence of the grievance. The Department Head or
designee shall hold a meeting within seven (7) work days of the filing of the grievance with
the grievant and the steward or Union Representative in order that both parties discuss all
the facts surrounding the grievance. The Department Head shall render a decision In
writing within five (5) work days after the grievance meeting. All decisions of the
Department Head will be copied to the Employee Relations Director, County Administrator
and the local Union Representative.

STEP 2 — Ifthe grievant is dissatisfied with the answer submitted by the Department Head
during the Step 1 of this process, then the Union Representative may appeal the
Department Head's written answer within seven (7) work days after receipt of the answer at
the first step by the grievant.

The Employee Relations Director or his/her designee shall review the grievance
appeal, investigate the facts and submit a written answer to the Union Representative
within seven (7) work days of the submission of the grievance at Step 2.

STEP 3 - If the grievant is dissatisfied with the answer submitted by the Employee
Relations Director at Step 2, the grievant and/or his/her representative may appeal the
answer of the Employee Relations Director within seven (7) work days after receipt of the
written answer at the second step of the process by the grievant. The Employee may
request that the County Administrator schedule a hearing and should the Administrator
determine that a hearing would be advantageous to the parties it shall be scheduled within
seven (7) work days after receipt of the grievance appeal from the County Employee
Relations Director's decision at Step 2 of the process.

The County Administrator will submit a written answer to the grievant within seven
(7) work days after the adjournment of the hearing. The hearing by the County
Administrator will take place within twenty-one (21) work days after the scheduled date is
submitted to the grievant. Should the County Administrator not request a hearing, the
Administrator shall submit a written answer to the Union Representative within seven (7)
work days of the submission of the grievance at Step 3. The decision of the County
Administrator shall be final and binding on all matters except contract violations.

STEP 4 - If the grievant is still dissatisfied with the answer received from the County

Administrator and the grievance is a matter of contract violation, then the grievance may be
submitted to arbitration.
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1. Within twenty (20) days of the decision of the County Administrator, the Union
may file for arbitration through the Public Employment Relations Commission (P.E.R.C.).

2. The arbitrator must first rule on the arbitrability of the grievance if so
requested by either party.

3. The arbitrator shall have no power to add to, subtract from or altgr the
language of this Agreement. He/she shall have no power to make an award inconsistent
with law and he/she shall have no power to entertain grievances that constitute violations of
this Agreement. The arbitrator shall rule only on the interpretation of the clause of the
Agreement involved.

4.  The arbitrator shall not have the power to make an award or in any matter
which is not within the Board's power to implement, including monetary awards which
require appropriation from governmental agencies other than the Board of Chosen
Freeholders.

5. The arbitrator's decision shall be binding on all parties on matters regarding
violations of the contract, except that if his/her decision requires Legislative action, such
decisions shall be effective only if legislation is enacted.

6.  The cost of the services of the arbitrator shall be shared equally by the
parties.

7. An arbitrator shall be empowered to hear only one grievance for each
appointment he/she receives; provided, however, that in the event there is more than one
grievance presented and the grievances arise out of the same set of facts or involve the
same materially and substantially identical issues, a single arbitrator shall be empowered to
adjudicate all such grievances. It is expressly understood and agreed that the grievance
procedure shall be the sole and exciusive remedy for all grievances which are arbitrable
under this Agreement.

ARTICLE 25
OUT-OF-TITLE PAY

In the event an Employee is assigned to perform work in a job classification higher
than his/her regular title for one or more complete work days, he/she shall, upon execution
of this contract, be compensated at the rate of $2.00 per hour ($16.00 per day) higher than
his/her regular base wage for all complete work days in the higher classification, regardless
of which title is being temporarily filled. Effective, upon execution of this contract, when a
Senior JDO has been assigned as an acting officer in charge and/or Supervising JDO for
one or more complete work day, they shall be eligible for this benefit and receive out-of-title
pay.
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ARTICLE 26
LONGEVITY PAY

Longevity Pay for all classified permanent Employees covered by this Agreement
will be based upon the schedule set forth below:

7 years 3.0% of base salary
12 years 4.6% of base salary
17 years 5.7% of base salary
22 years 6.5% of base salary
27 years 7.3% of base salary
32 years 8.0% of base salary

Effective January 1, 2014 this benefit shall cease for all new hires.
ARTICLE 27
COLLEGE CREDIT

The Employer agrees to pay each Employee covered by this Agreement, in addition
to his/her annual salary, an educational incentive, payable in equal increments, on the
following basis:

A. For an Associate of Arts Degree or sixty-two (62) credits, Three
Hundred and Fifty Dollars ($350.00).

B. ForaBachelor's Degree or one hundred and twenty-four (124 ) college credits,
Six Hundred Dollars ($600.00).

C. For a Master's Degree, Eight Hundred Dollars ($800.00).

Successful completion of the degree shall be evidenced by submission of any of the
following documents:

1. A copy of the actual degree.

2. A copy of the Employee's transcript, indicating that a degree has been
awarded, accompanied by a letter from the institution certifying the awarding of
the degree.

3. Any certified institutional document that evidences the awarding of the degree.
The Employee must notify the County within sixty (60) days of the attainment
and awarding of the degree. If the Employee fails to notify the County within
sixty (60) days of receiving the degree, then the Employee will not receive the
benefit added to his/her salary until sixty (60) days after the Employee notified
the Director of the receipt of the degree.
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Tuition Reimbursement

Members of this bargaining unit are eligible to be reimbursed for college tuition,
subject to the Ocean County Tuition Reimbursement Policy (ER 701-86).

ARTICLE 28
PROMOTIONAL REMUNERATION

Any Employee covered by this Agreement who receives a promotion shall, upon
execution of this contract, receive an increase of $2,500.00 (Two Thousand Five Hundred
Dollars) or the established minimum salary for the position, whichever is greater, effective
on the date of the promotion.

ARTICLE 29

HOSPITAL, SURGICAL, MAJOR MEDICAL, PRESCRIPTION AND RETIREMENT
BENEFITS

Al members covered by this bargaining unit and working thirty-two and one half
(32.5) hours or more shall be permitted to enroll in health benefits two (2) months from their
date of hire.

A. The County of Ocean currently provides medical coverage to County
Employees through the New Jersey State Health Benefits Program as supplemented by
the NJ Local Prescription Drug Program and Chapter 88 P. L. 1974, as amended by
Chapter 436 P. L. 1981. The parties recognize that the State Health Benefits Program is
subject to changes enacted by the State of New Jersey that may either increase or
decrease benefits including Employee premium sharing.

B. The County shall not change the health insurance coverage referred to in
paragraph A except for a plan that is equivalent or better. Provided, however, that the
parties expressly recognize that the components of HMO plans are changed periodically by

the plan providers and that the County has no control over or any obligations regarding
such changes.

C. All Employees current and future who retire on or after December 1, 2010 in
order to be eligible for the lifetime health benefits upon retirement, must have served a
mirimum of fifteen (15) of the required twenty-five years with the County.

D. Effective December 1, 2010, the following changes will affect all new hires:

Employees will be offered the NJ Direct 15 plan or its replacement. New hires
may elect a higher level of coverage at their expense.

Continuation of spousal coverage after the death of the retiree will no longer be
offered at the County’s expense.

The County will no longer reimburse retiree Medicare Part B premiums.
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E. An eligible Employee may change his/her coverage only during the announced
open enrollment period for each year after having been enrolled in the former plan for a
minimum of one (1) full year. Regardless of this election, Employees are specifically
ineligible for any deductive reimbursement.

F. When a member from this bargaining unit is granted the privilege of a leave of
absence without pay for illness, health coverage will continue at County expense for the
balance of the calendar month in which the leave commences plus up to three (3)
additional calendar months next following the month in which the leave commences. After
that time has elapsed, if necessary, coverage for an additional period of eighteen (18)
months may be purchased by the Employee under the C.0.B.R.A. plan.

G. Inthe case of consecutive leaves of absences without pay, it is understood
and agreed that the responsibilities of the County to pay for benefits remains limited to the
original period of up to four (4) months.

ARTICLE 30

FAMILY DENTAL PLAN

Members of this bargaining unit, after the first of the month following three (3) full
months of employment, shall be eligible for a Family Dental Plan contracted for with Blue
Cross/Blue Shield or other suitable dental care provider. -

The Family Dental Plan will be made available to eligible Employees, spouses, and
children to age 19 and will be experience-rated. The maximum total cost for services per
patient per benefit year is limited to $1,000. There will be a $25.00 deductible per patient
per benefit year, to be paid by the Employee, for up to the first three members of each
family. However, this deductible is not applicable to preventive and diagnostic services as
described below.

If the patient utilizes a participating dentist the percentage of coverage indicated
next to each class of dental care will prevail:

Preventive and Diagnostic
(X-rays, Cleaning, Check-up, Etc.). ... .. 100%

Treatment and Therapy
(FIINGS). e 80%

Prosthodontics and Periodontics,
Inlays, Caps and Crowns,

Oral Surgery (Ambulatory) ........................ 50%
Orthodontics

(Limited to $800 per patient

overa 5 year period) ....co.oooveieeeiiiieeiennn. 50%
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ARTICLE 31
OVERTIME

A. Employees are scheduled to work eight (8) hours per day and forty (40) hours
per week in a seven (7) day week schedule. Any Employee scheduled by a supervisor to
work in excess of eight (8) consecutive hours in a day or forty (40) hours in a work week
shall be eligible for overtime compensation at the rate of one and one-half times (1 1/2x)
his/her regular hourly salary. The Employee's regular hourly salary shall be computed by
the division of 2,080 hours per year into his/her annual base salary.

B. Any Employee who leaves his/her work station and is required to return to
work from his/her home shall be compensated with a guaranteed four (4) hours work. No
Employee will be paid less than four (4) hours wages for the four (4) hour period at the
applicable rate at the time of call-in.

C.  With prior approval of the Director of Juvenile Services or his/her designee, the
Employee may receive compensatory time, at the applicable rate, in lieu of pay for call-ins.
An overtime rotation list shall be maintained based upon seniority within the departmental
units (i.e: Custody, Support, etc.) And within the guidelines set forth in Policy 6.1 of the
Department of Juvenile Services Policy and Procedure Manual. If an Employee to whom
the assignment has been offered declines to accept the assignment, he/she will be passed
and will not be offered any other overtime assignment until his/her turn is reached again. In
the event all eligible Employees who are offered a particular overtime assignment declines
to accept it, the least senior Employee who is offered the assignment and who is qualified
to perform the assignment shall be obligated to accept it. These forced overtime
assignments will be rotated on a progressively increasing seniority basis. No Employee will
be permitted to accept an overtime assignment if he/she does not possess the skill and
ability to perform the duties. No Employee shall be required to work in excess of two (2)
successive shifts in a twenty-four (24) hour period.

ARTICLE 32
UNIFORMS

A. Members in this bargaining unit shall receive the sum of Five Hundred Fifty
Dollars ($550.00) per annum to purchase his/her own uniform. Said monies will be
disbursed on or about June 1st. This benefit shall be increased by $50.00 in 2014
($600.00) and $50.00 in 2015 ($650.00). Uniform requirements will be specified in the
Department Policy and Procedure Manual.

B. Members in this bargaining unit shall receive the sum of Five Hundred Fifty
Dollars ($550.00) per annum for uniform maintenance. Payment shall be made in the
amount of Two Hundred and Seventy-Five Dollars ($275.00) on or about June 1st, and in
the amount of Two Hundred Seventy-Five Dollars ($275.00) on or about December 1st.
This benefit shall be increased by $50.00 in 2014 to a total of $600.00 ($300.00 payable on
or about June 1% and $300.00 on or about December 1% and by $50.00 in 2015 to a total
of $650.00 ($325.00 payable on or about June 1% and $325.00 on or about December 1%Y.
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C.  AllEmployees in this bargaining unit shall maintain and wear the proper uniform
as required by the Department of Juvenile Services’ Policy and Procedure Manual. New
Employees shall be required to purchase and wear tan khakis as specified by the
Depariment until the Employee receives his/her uniform. New Employees will be
reimbursed for the cost of two (2) khaki uniforms (shirt & pants) and one (1) uniform shirt
and one (1) uniform pants. Reimbursements will be made by County Voucher upon
submission of a properly completed voucher and receipts. Reimbursements will not be
made without original receipts.

D. if the employer changes uniforms, the cost of the change will be borne
entirely by the employer.
ARTICLE 33
TRAINING

The parties recognize that as a condition of employment, pursuant to both the
Police Training Act and Department of Personnel regulations, Juvenile Detention Officers
will be subject to mandatory training. During these training periods, job location will
temporarily shift to the designated training facility. Transportation, if necessary, will be
provided by the Department.

ARTICLE 34
LEGAL AID
The Employer shall provide legal aid to all personnel covered by this Agreement as
provided for in an Ocean County resolution adopted by the Board of Chosen Freeholders
on July 7, 1982; Indemnification of Employees.
ARTICLE 35

FULLY BARGAINED CLAUSE

This Agreement represents and incorporates the complete and final understanding
and settlement by the parties on all bargainable issues which were or could have been the
subject of negotiations. During the term of this Agreement, neither party will be required to
negotiate with respect to any such matter, whether or not covered by this Agreement, and
whether or not within the knowledge of contemplation of either or both of the parties at the
time they negotiated or signed this Agreement. The parties further agree that there are no

additional promises, warranties or guarantees other than those contained specifically in the
language of this Agreement.

ARTICLE 36
SALARY

A. The minimum salary of a Juvenile Detention Officer and Youth Aide shall be
$34,000.
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B. Effective April 1, 2013 all Employees in the bargaining unit shall receive an
increase of one point five percent (1.5%) applied to their March 31, 2013 base salary.

C. Effective April 1, 2014, the minimum salary of a Juvenile Detention Officer
and Youth Aide shall be $34,500.

D. Effective April 1, 2014 all Employees in the bargaining unit shall receive an
increase of percent (1.5%) applied to their March 31, 2014 base salary or the minimum,
whichever is greater

E. Effective April 1, 2015, the minimum salary of a Juvenile Detention Officer
and Youth Aide shall be $35,000.

F. Effective April 1, 2015 all Employees in the bargaining unit shall receive an
increase of percent (1.5%) applied to their March 31, 2015 base salary or the minimum,
whichever is greater.

G. Permanent part-time Employees shall receive the above salary adjustments
on a pro-rated basis.
ARTICLE 37
RX CERTIFICATION

Effective April 1, 2013, all members of this bargaining unit who posses a valid

pr?scription distribution certification will be paid a $500 stipend in addition to their base
salary.

ARTICLE 38
DURATION
The terms and conditions set forth in this Agreement shall become effective on

April 1, 2013 except for those Articles which contain specific dates to the contrary, and shall

continue in full force and effect until March 31, 2016 or until execution of a successor
Agreement.
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IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties hereto have caused these presents to be signed
and attested to this 3#day of Asps7 | 2013

FOR THE OCEAN COUNTY BOARD
ATTEST: OF CHOSEN FREEHOLDERS

(B \fo

Betty Vésil
Clerk of oard

Kois Cu%?inello

Secretary-Treasurer
ATTEST:

Karevin Barnes
Business Representative

g/zj,’.'f./ : /j \
e %/3/4/ W

- LaVernSmith ~— 7
-~ Negotiating Team Member
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p
Negotiating Team Member





