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S . .
THIS AGREEMENT, made this | EU‘” day of June 2014,

between the COUNTY OF ESSEX (hereinafter “County”}, and the NEW JERSEY

STATE POLICEMEN’S BENEVOLENT ASSOCIATION, LOCAL 382 (hereinafter
“PBA” or “Local 3827 or “Union”).
WHEREAS, the Public Employment Relations Commission has certified
New Jersey State Policemen’s Benevolent Association, Local 382, as the
exclusive representative for the purpose of collective negotiations with respect
to wages, hours, and other terms and conditions of employment in the
negotiating unit described below:
Unit: Included: All County Correctional Officers below
the rank of Sergeant employed by the County of
Essex.
Excluded: Managerial executives, confidential
employees and supervisors within the meaning of the
Act; craft employees, professional employees, casual

employees and all other employees of the County of
Essex.

NOW THEREFORE, the County and the PBA mutually agree as follows:



ARTICLE 1

PURPOSE

The purpose of the Agreement is to memorialize and to set forth herein,
the basic agreement covering the terms and conditions of employment to be

observed between the parties herein, in order to foster good Employee/Emplovyer

relations.



ARTICLE 2

CIVIL SERVICE BRULES

Whenever there should appear to be a conflict between the terms of this
Agreement on one hand, and the Civil Service Law (N.J.S.A. T1A:1-Tet seq.}
and the Revised Civil Service Rules for the State of New Jersey (NLJ.S A, Title
4A) on the other hand, the terms of the latter shall prevail. Nothing in this
Agreement shall be construed as to override current rules and regulations where

the Emplovees are employed.



ARTICLE 3

RECOGNITION

The County recognizes the New Jersey State Policemen’s Benevolent
Association, Local 382 as the exclusive representative for all County Correction
Officers under the rank of Sergeant, employed at the Essex County, for the

purpose of collective negotiations under and pursuant to NJ Title 34:13A.
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ARTICLE 4

RETENTION OF EXISTING BENEFITS

Except as otherwise provided herein, all rights, privileges, and benefits
which County Correction Officers have heretofore enjoyed and are presently
enjoying, shall be maintained and continued by the County during the term of
this Agreement. However, all County personnel policies and personnel
regulations in effect as of the date of this Agreement shall be applicable to all

Correction Officers except as otherwise expressly provided herein.



ARTICLE S

DISCRIMINATION FOR UNION ACTIVITY AND MEMBERSHIP

The County agrees it shall not discriminate against any Correction Officer
with respect to hours, wages, or any terms of conditions of employment by
reason of membership in the New Jersey State Policemen’s Benevolent
Association, Local 382 and its affiliates, their participation in any activities of
the Union and its affiliates, collective negotiations with the County, or their
institution of any grievance, complaint, or proceeding under this Agreement or

otherwise with respect to any terms and conditions of employment.



ARTICLE 6

COMPENSATION

Employees covered by this Agreement shall receive the tollowing base

salary:
Effective Effective Effective Effective
01/01/2014 01/01/2015  01/061/20186 01/01/2017
Start $41,257 $42,082 $42,924 $43,782
Step 1 $48,487 $48,456 $50,446 $51,454
Step 2 $55,716 $56,831 $87,967 $59,127
Step 3 $862,946 $64,205 $65,489 $66,799
Step 4 $70,176 $71.580 $73,011 $74,471
Step 5 $77,4086 $78,854 $80,633 $82,144
Step 6 $84,633 $86,326 $88,059 $89,814

Included in the rate of pay for all Employees covered by this Agreement

is the additional compensation of Four Hundred Dollars ($400.00) per year in

lieu of overtime pay for any time spent in a lineup, not exceeding fifteen (15)

minutes before each shift, provided, however, that the additional compensation

shall be continued regardiess of whether the lineup is continued or discontinued

by the County.



Increments

Current Employees receiving increments on January 1% will continue to
do so until they are at maximum. All other Employees will receive their
increments on their anniversary date.

Increments shall continue to be paid on an automatic basis. Howaever,
the County may withhold one-half (%) of an Employee’s increment under the
following conditions:

a. The Employee shall receive at least thirty (30) days’ notice

prior to the time the increment is due to be paid.

b. The County shall have the burden of proving the
withholding of the increment was for good and proper
cause.

c. The Employee or the Union shall have the right to challenge,
via the grievance procedure and binding arbitration if
necessary the evaluation method, format and conclusions
by which one-half (%} the increment was withheld. Both
the procedural and substantive aspects of the evaluation
system may be objected to.

d. The County may not employ this procedure more than once
every two (2) years against a single Employee.

€. The County may elect to pursue performance issues either



through this procedure or normal Civil Service procedures.
Should the County elect to utilize this procedure, it shall be
preciuded from employing Civil Service rules to discipline an

Employee for the same time period.

Shift Differential

The night shift differential has been eliminated. Effective August 10,
2005 an evening shift differential of Forty-Four Cent ($0.44) per hour for actual
hours worked during the 2PM - 10PM shift shall be paid to Employees working

this shift. This is no back pay liability for any other shift differential payments.

Holdback

The County will continue the practice of a one (1) week payroll holdback.

The procedure shall be consistent with that employed on a County-wide basis.

-9-



ARTICLE 7

PERSONNEL FILES

A personnel file shall be established and maintained for each Employee
covered by this Agreement. Such files are confidential records and shall be

maintained in the Office of the Director of Corrections and/or Governing Body.

Upon advanced notice and at reasonable times, any Corrections Officer
of the Department may at any time review his/her personnel file. However, this
appointment for review must be made through the Director of Corrections or his
designes.

Whenever a written complaint concerning an Officer or his/her actions is
to be placed in his/her personnel file, a copy shall be made available to him/her
and he/she shall be permitted to place a rebuttal in his/her file. I any
disciplinary action is taken, based on any complaint, then the Employee shall be
furnished with all details of the complaint including the identity of the
complainant.

All personnel files will be carefully maintained and safeguarded
permanently, and nothing placed in any file shall be removed therefrom.
Removal of any material from a personnel file by any member of the Department

shall subject the member to appropriate disciplinary action.

-10-



ARTICLE 8

STAND BY - CALL [N

Correction Officers who are on call for any tour of duty other than their
regular tour shall be paid at straight time for two (2) hours. If called into work,

they shall be paid at time and one half (1%} for those hours worked.
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ARTICLE g

HOLIDAY TIME

The following days shall be recognized as paid holidays:

NEW YEAR'S DAY

DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING'S BIRTHDAY
LINCOLN'S BIRTHDAY
WASHINGTON'S BIRTHDAY

GOOD FRIDAY

MEMORIAL DAY

INDEPENDENCE DAY

LABOR DAY

COLUMBUS DAY

ELECTION DAY

VETERAN'S DAY

THANKSGIVING DAY

FRIDAY AFTER THANKSGIVING DAY
CHRISTMAS DAY

An Officer who works a holiday may elect to be compensated as follows:

1. Regular time plus time and one-half (1 + 1%) overtime pay; ofr

2. Regular time with a “due day” placed on the books as a

future day off.

All “due days” placed on the books, but not taken as a day off within one
(1) year of the holiday worked, convert to time and one-half (1 %) overtime pay
and are paid out automatically,. “Due days” do not accumulate from one year
to another.

Any “Due Days” or “Time Due Days” on the books as of August 10,

-12.



2005 must be cashed in at the rate of eighty (B0} hours each vear until these
accumulated “Time Due Days”/’Due Days” are exhausted. “Time Due

Days”/"Due Days” will no longer accumulate from year 1o year.

-13-



ARTICLE 10

SENIORITY

Seniority is defined as the length of continuous service of permanernt
Correction Officer. A list of Correction Officers listed according to saniority

shall be posted annually kept current by the County.

A. Job Assignments, Shift Assignments and Vacation Picks

Seniority shall be the basis on which Officers shall select vacation
schedules, shifts and overtime, except in circumstances where the granting of
such vacations, shifts or overtime will interfere with the efficient operation of
the Jail, as determined in the sole discretion of the Director of Corrections or his
designee.

Bid jobs will be posted and awarded according to jail policy "Job Bids
PS.ADM.O14.

The County agrees that all future assignments to preferred positions will
be posted and that overall seniority may be considered as a factor for filling
these assignments, as long as an Officer had requested the preferred position
of a preference sheet. The parties’ expressly understand and agree, however,
that final authority in filling these positions remains with the Director of

Corrections or his designee. Any Officer holding a preferred position may be
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removed for good cause at the discretion of the Director of Corrections or his
designee.

The Director of Corrections or his designee may make any involuntary
transfer from one shift to another or one job to another for good cause. When
so transferred, the Employee may any time thereafter bid on a iob or state his

preference on a voluntary transfer list as previcusly set forth.

B. Reduction in Force

Reductions in force are to be made in the order of least seniority first,

C. Retention of Benefits
Nothing contained herein is intended to limit or change the application of
seniority under Civil Service law and wherever there should appear to be a

conflict between this Agreement and Civil Service law the latter shall prevail.
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ARTICLE 11

UNION RELEASE TIME - ATTENDANCE AT MEETINGS

The Union President is granted full release time to conduct Union
business. The Union President shall wear his Corrections Officer uniform while
on the premises of the Essex County Correctional Facility while conducting
Union business. The Union President shall submit to the Director of Corrections
or his designee his schedule for meetings and release time the first day of aach
month on a monthiy basis.

in addition to the current time off provisions, two hundred eighty-eight
{288) hours per calendar year shall be provided to the Union for Union business.
The request for the time shall be submitted to the Director of Corrections or his
designee for approval in conjunction with the Union President’s monthiy report

for meetings and release time.
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ARTICLE 12

FREEHOLDER RESOLUTIONS AND JAIL/COUNTY POLICIES

Resolutions of the Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders affecting
the membership in regard to wages, hours, terms and conditions of
employment, will be forwarded to the Praesident of the Union in advance of their
consideration whenever practicable and within a reasonable period of time after
the resolution has been passed.

The Association President will be notified of any change in institutional

policy directly affecting the Emplovees or the inmatas,
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ARTICLE 13

EXTENT OF COUNTY LIABILITY

Whenever any civil action has been or shall be brought against any
Employee covered by this Agreement for any act or omission arising during the
course of, and within the scope of, the performance of the duties of such office,
position or employment, the County shall defray all costs of defending such
action, including reasonable counsel fees at the rate of Eighty Dollars
{$80.00/hr.) per hour, and expenses, together with costs of appeal, if any, and
shall save harmless and protect such persons from any financial loss resulting
therefrom,

Should any criminal action be instituted against any Employees entitled
to defense in civil actions according to the foregoing paragraph, for any such act
or omission arising out of his employment with the County, and should such
proceeding be dismissed or result in a final disposition in favor of such person,
the County shall reimburse him for the cost of defending such proceeding,
including reasonable counsel fees at the rate of Eighty Dollars ($80.00/hr) per

hour, and expenses of the original hearing or trial and all appeals.
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ARTICLE 14

LONGEVITY

1. The longevity program will be continued in effect for all permanent
Employees who were on the payroll as of December 31, 1974, but will be
discontinued and inapplicable for all Employees hired after December 31, 1974.

2. All longevity increments due on or after January 1, 19786, shali be
calculated on a basis of the regular salary increment in effect on December 31,
1975, and shall not be thereafter modified.

3. Effective January 1, 1976, inequities in longevity payments will be
eliminated over a five (5} year basis by increasing an affected Employee’s
longevity increment to the extent of twenty percent (20%]} of said inequity in
each of the aforementioned five (5) years.

4, Longevity increments will be paid as heretofore, namely, beginning

with the pay period following the anniversary date of employment.
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ARTICLE 158

GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

Any dispute, difference or grievance regarding the interpretation,
application or violation of policies, administrative decisions and agreements,
including this Agreement, affecting Correction Officers shall first be attempted
to be settled by means of a conference between the representatives of the
Union and the Director of Corrections or his designee,

in the event that such grievance shall not have been satisfactorily
adjusted between the parties in the manner provided above, then such grievance
regarding the interpretation or application of the provisions of the Agreement
may be submitted to arbitration {subject to the limitations set forth herein) at
the request of either party to the New Jersey State Board of Mediation or the
Public Employment Relations Commission who shall designate an Arbitrator.

The decision of the designated Arbitrator shall be binding and final upon
the parties. The parties agree that the expenses of the arbitration shall be borne
equally between them. Only the Union or the County shall have the right to
submit a matter to binding arbitration.

In order for a grievance to be arbitrable it must be submitted, in writing,
to the Director of Corrections or his designee with a copy to the Director of

Human Resources within ninety (90} calendar days of its occurrence.
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Discussion or conference between the representatives of the Union and the
Director of Corrections or his designee or the County occurring after said ninety
{90} days is not to be considered a waiver of the right of the County o maintain
that a grievance is not arbitrable.

The Director of Corrections or his designee shall give his answer to a
timely grievance submitted to him within ten (10} calendar days after the
conference between the parties. [ the same is not provided, then the
Association has the right to proceed to arbitration upon the end of said ten {10}
day period.

Any Employee, who shall be required to testify at or attend hearings of
arbitration, mediation, or settlement on any questions or violations of this
Agreement, shall not suffer any loss of wages by reason thereof.

Any Employee suspended without pay, for less than six (6) days, may

challenge said suspension through this grievance procedure.

-21-



ARTICLE 186

VACATION TIME

Vacations shall be granted to Officers as follows:

st year 1 vacation day for each month of service
2% year through 5" year 12 days
6™ year through 10" vear 17 days

11" year through 15" year 20 days
16™ year through 20" year 23 days

After 20 vears 25 days

Employee celebrating their sixth, eleventh, sixteenth, and twenty-first
anniversaries will be granted the additional vacation days during the vear in
which the anniversary is celebrated.

In the event the Legislature enacts into law the Act known “20 and out”
permitting Employees with twenty (20) years of service to retire, then the
County agrees upon demand by the PBA to reopen this Article dealing with

vacations for the purpose of renegotiating this Article only.
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ARTICLE 17

COMPENSATORY TIME BANK

A Compensatory Time Off (CTO) bank shall be established wherein
Employees may elect to take extra duty work compensation as time {1.5 rate}
or paid compensation (time and one-half (1.5)). The CTO bank shall never
exceed forty (40) hours and shall be used no later than one (1) vear after the
date it is earned. If time is not used within one (1} year after it is earned, the
Employee must provide the Director of Corrections by the first anniversary of
the date of when the time was earned with the schedule for the next year as
to when that time shall be taken. Employees with no leave time remaining shall
not be sligible for accumulation of CTO. No Employee serving or charged with
attendance violations shall be eligible for accumulation of CTO. Hours placed
in the bank shall be used at the discretion of the Employee subject to approval

by the Director of Corrections or his designee.
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ARTICLE 18

SICK TIME

Fuil-time Employees receive 1.25 days of sick leave for each completed
month of service after his/her date of hire until December 31 of that year,
Thereafter, an Employes receives fifteen (15 sick days per vear if he/she works
the entire year. The fifteen (15) days are credited on January 1% of each year.

Sick leave may only be used for personal illness, non-work related
accident, exposure to contagious disease, serious illness or death in the
immediate family. immediate family consists of parents, step-parents, spouss,
children, step-children, foster children, legal guardian, legal ward, brother or
sister, grandparents, mother-in-law, father-in-law, or any relative of the
Employee who resides in the Employee’s household.

Unused sick leave accumulates from year to year, to be used if needed.

The Essex County Department of Corrections’ Attendance Control Policy

remains in full force and effect.
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ARTICLE 19

BEREAVEMENT DAYS

Up to three (3) bereavement days, non-accumulative, with pay, per death
shall be provided for death in the immediate family with proper identification.
“Immediate Family” shall mean the following: parent of Employee or SpoUSE,
sibling of Employee or spouse, child of Employee or spouse, spouse of
Employee, guardian of Employee or spouse, grandparents of Emplovee or

spouse,

-25.



ARTICLE 20

MEAL AND BREAK PERIODS

Except in cases of emergency, each Officer is entitled to a sixty (60}
minute meal period without deduction in pay. The County shall provide a meal
according to what is being served to the inmates. Break time shall be taken
away from an Officer’s assigned work location. Under no circumstances are
break or lunch periods to be taken outside of the facility. No Officer is

permitted to leave the jail grounds during break or lunch periods.
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ARTICLE 21

HEALTH INSURANCE AND SECTION 125 CAFETERIA PLAN

1. The existing Hospitalization, Medical-Surgical and Major Medical
Insurance benefits shall be paid for by the County except as set forth below.
The County reserves the right to select the insurance carrier who shall provide
such benefits, as long as the benefits are not less than those now provided by
the County.

The County shall maintain the following:

{a) Pre-Admission Review, as set forth in Schedule B, attached

hersto and made a part hereot:

{b} Second Surgicsl Opinions, as set forth in Schedule B: and

made a part hereof; and

{c} Twenty percent (20%]) co-pay for Dependent coverage only:

{1} This coverage will apply to “New Hires” only. For the
purpose of this provision, “New Hires” shall be defined as Employees hired after
December 31, 1983. Bargaining unit Employees working for the County on or
before December 31, 1993 will be considered “vested” in the current healith
care coverage, and will not be required to pay a twenty percent {20%]) co-pay

for dependent coverage even if any one is laid off after December 31, 1993 and

.97



then rahired by the County.
(2} The twenty percent (20%]) co-pay will be capped at the
applicable 1993 rate for (Parent/child, Employee/spouse, and family) as follows:
Husband/Wife $52.72 per month
Family $70.93 per month
Parent/Child $23.41 per month

2. The existing Drug Prescription Plan paid for by the County shall be
continued in effect. The County reserves the right to select the insurance
carrier who shall provide such benefits. The co-pays are as follows:

{a} Ten Dollars ($10.00) for generic drugs;

(b}  Fifteen Dollars {($15.00) for non-generic drugs;

{c} The prescription co-pay shall remain at Ten Dollars
($10.00) for generic drugs and increase to Twenty-
Five Dollars ($25.00} for name brand drugs effective
March 1, 2008, The mail order prescription plan shall
be continued,

3. Upon retirement, an Employee who is a member of the Essex
County Employee Retirement System may continue his/her health insurance, and
Two Thousand Dollars ($2,000.00) life insurance by paying group rate
premiums.

4. The County will provide health benefits as described in Section 1
below to Employees who retire and fulfill all the requirements and criteria of

Section 2 below. In consideration of providing this benefit the parties agree

that the Six Hundred Dollars ($600.00) annual payment to qualifying retirees is
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hereby sliminated.

Section 1: {a} The coverage outlined in this provision is for the
eligible retiree and his/her dependents as defined in the Plan
documents governing this benefit and subject to any conditions
and stipulations set forth herein. Upon the death of the retiree, all
coverage pursuant to this provision shall be terminated at the end
of the calendar month in which the covered retired Employee died.

{b} All coverage provided pursuant to this provision shall
be limited to the County Point of Service Plan or the County
offered Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOs). The County
reserves the right to amend or change this coverage and the Plan
to any extent necessary, including changing the service provider,
provided the level of coverage provided to retirees will be at the
same level as contained in the current Plan document on the date
of this Agreement is signad.

{c} The County will provide Prescription Drug Plan benefits
to eligible retirees at the same level as provided to active
Employees.

{d} At such time as the eligible retires becomes Medicare
eligible, the eligible retirees will assume the cost of any Medicare
coverage. It is expressly understood that the County will only

provide supplemental coverage to Medicare.

Section 2  Inorder to be eligible for the health benefits described
in Section 1 above, the Employee who retires must;

{a) Have twenty-five (25} vears or more of service credit
in any of the following: the State Public Employment Retirement

System of New Jersey (PERS); the Essex County Employment
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Retirement System (ERS); the Police and Fire Retiremeant System
of New Jersey (PFRS); or the consolidated Police and Firemen's
Pansion Fund {CPFPF}; and

{b} Be actively employed with the County of Essex on the
date this provision was made part of the Agreement: and

{c} Have a total of ten (10) years of employment service
with the County of Essex prior to his/her retirement; and

{d} Have been an Employee of the County of Essex
immediately prior to his/her retirement; and

{e} Not elect a vested and deferred retirement: and

{f} Not elect or take a disability retirement with less than
twenty-five (25} years of service credit in PERS, ERS, PFRS, or
DPFPF: and

{a} Not receive a payment or stipends of any kind for
premiums, charges or the like for retiree medical benefits from any
Employer; and

{hj Not receive health benefits coverage from a source
other than Essex County; and

{f Not be eligible to receive health benefits coverage
from a source other than Essex County; and

{i} Not be an active Employee who is eligible for retiree
health benefits initially provided by a non-Cournty  operated
predecessor to a current Essex County agency, for example, the
Essex County Welfare Board: and

{k} Not be a retired Emplovee of & non-County operated
predecessor to a current Essex County agency, for example, the
Essex County Welfare Board, who is currently receiving health

benefits from that predecessor agency.
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Notwithstanding the requirements set forth in Section 1 above, and
subject to all remaining terms, conditions and eligibility requirements contained
in Section 2 above, Employees who electad retirement between January 1,
1998 and the date this provision was made part of the Agreement shall be
gligible for coverage outlined in this provision, provided that the first date of
retirement occurred between January 1, 1998 and the date this provision was
made part of the Agreement.

In the event that a retiree ceases to be eligible for, or to receive, health
benefits from an Employer or source other than Essex County and he/she then
meets all the requirements of Section 2, he/she shall be entitled to the benefits
described in Section 1 of this provision.

5. The County may change insurance carriers or be self-insured, so
fong as it does not reduce existing benefits.

6. The County shall provide Employees an opportunity to participate
in its Section 125 Cafeteria Plan.

7. Waiver/Opt-Out - Effective January 1, 2012 the County will
implement a waiver program for health benefits insurance costs for active
Employees. The waiver program will consist of the following:

a. Employees may waive family coverage to be capped
at Four Thousand Doliars ($4,000.00} or twenty-five
percent {25%) of the amount saved by the County,
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whichever is less.

Employees may waive pareni-child or husband/wife
coverage to be capped at Three Thousand Doliars
{$3,000.00} or twenty-five percent {(25%) of the
amount saved by the County, whichever is less.
Employees may waive single coverage to be capped
at Two Thousand Dollars {$2,000.00) or twenty-five
percent (25%) of the amount saved by the County,
whichever is less.

In order to be eligible for the waiver, the Employee
must be enrolled in other health care coverage and
provide the County proof of creditable coverage.

if an Employee continues to receive prescription
coverage from the County, the Employee must pay
the applicable amount as set forth by legistation.
An Employee who waives coverage shall be
permitted to resume coverage under the same terms
and conditions as apply to initial coverage if the
Employee ceases to be covered through the
Employee’s spouse for any reason, including, but not
fimited to, the retirement or death of the spouse or
divorce. An Employee who resumes coverage shall
repay, on a pro rata basis, any amount received
which represents an advance payment for a period of
time during which coverage is resumed. An
Employee who wishes to resume coverage shall file
a declaration with the County, in such form as the

County shall prescribe, that the waiver is revoked,
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The decision of the County to allow its Employess to
waive coverage and the amount of consideration to
be paid therefore shall not be subject to the collective
bargaining process.

Employees hired after July 1, 2014, shall not be
gligible for Traditional coverage.

Employses shall contribute amounts as set forth by
Chapter 78, P.L. 2011. Once full implementation is
reached, the contributions shall remain at the
maximum level of contribution set forth in Chapter
78, P.L. 2011 for the remainder of this Collective
Negotiations Agreement, through December 31,

2017.
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ARTICLE 22

DUES DEDUCTION AND AGENCY SHOP

The County agrees to deduct dues for the Union from the wages of
Employees covered by this Agreement, pursuant to the existing statute as
amended, N.J.S.A. 34:13A-5.6, provided at the time of such deduction thers
is in possession of the County a current written assignment, individually and
voluntarily executed by the Employee. The Union shall be responsible for
securing the signatures of its members on the forms and delivering the signed
forms to the County. Existing Employees shall not be required to submit any
written assignment since same has been previously submitted and accepted by
the County.

The County will deduct the current uniform dues from the pay of the
Employee(s) on a biweekly basis provided that if an Employee has no pay
coming for such pay period, or if such pay period is the first pay of a new
Emplovee, such dues shall be deducted from the next appropriate pay period.
The County will deduct form the Employee(s) in any one month only dues
incurred while an individually has been in the employ of the County and only
such amounts becoming due and payable in such month.

In the event that a refund is due an Employee for any sums deducted

from wages and paid to the Union, it shall be the responsibility of such
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Employee 1o obtain appropriate refund from the Union.

If during the life of this Agreement there shall be any change in the rate
of membership dues, the Union shall furnish to the County notice of the change
at least thirty (30) days prior to the effective date of such change.

Any Employee in the bargaining unit who does not join the Union shall,
as a condition of employment, pay a representation fee to the Union by
automatic payroll deduction. The representation fee shall be in an amount not
to exceed eighty-five percent (85%] of the regular Union membership dues, fees
and assessments as certified to the Employer to the Union. The Union may
revise its certification of the amount of the representation fee at any time to
reflect changes in the regular Union membership dues, fees and assessments.
The Union’s entitlement to the representation fee shall continue beyond the
termination date of this Agreement so long as the Union remains the majority
representative of the Emplovyees in the unit, provided that no modification is
made in this provision by a successor Agreement between the Union and the
Emplovyer.

The checking-off of dues and/or Agency Shop fees shall be permitted for
aonly the certified bargaining unit.

The Union agrees that it will indemnify and save harmless the County
against any and all actions, claims, demands, losses or expenses (including
reasonable attorney’s fees) in any matter resuiting from action taken by the

County at the request of the Union under this Article.
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ARTICLE 23

NO STRIKE PLEDGE

It is recognized that the need for continued and uninterrupted operation
of the County’s Departments and Agencies is of paramount importance to the
citizens of the community, and there should be no interference with such
operation.

The Union covenants and agrees that during the term of this Agreement
neither the Union nor any person acting in its will cause a strike, or other
deliberate work interference with normal work procedures against the County.

In the event of a strike, or other deliberate interference with normal work
procedures, it is covenanted and agreed that participation in any such activity
by the Union shall entitle the County to take appropriate disciplinary action
including possible discharge in accordance with applicable law.

Nothing contained in this Agreement shall be construed to limit or restrict
the County in its right to seek and obtain such judicial relief as it may be entitied
to have in law or in equity for injunction or damages or both in the event of

such breach by he Union.
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ARTICLE 24

EMPLOYEE DEVELOPMENT FUND

The county agrees to pay Four Hundred Fifty Dollars ($450.00) per
Officer hired prior to March 31 2004 and Three Hundred Fifty Dollars ($350.00
per Officer hired after April 1, 2004 to the Empioyee Development Fund. The
number of Employees shall be determined as of January 1 of each year. The
appropriate amount shall be paid to the Union by the County of Essex no later
than March 1 each year. The money shall be used for situations not covered
by the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the parties.

This fund is to be held in a separate account and used at the discretion
of the Union, and the Union indemnifies the County of all responsibility for the

fund’s operation.
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ARTICLE 25

PEHSONAL DAYS

Full-time Employees shall be entitled to three (3} personal days with pay
per year.

Personal days are granted to Employees with the assumption that they
shall be employed the complete calendar year. If an Emplovee separates service
for any reason during the calendar year, personal days shall be prorated for the
portion of the calendar year he/she is actively emploved. Employees who have
utilized a greater portion of their prorated personal days upon separation shall
be liable for personal leave taken in excess of their entitlement and shall have
this time deducted from any money owed to the Employes upon separation,

Newly hired full-time Employees shall accrue personal days in accordance

with the following schedule:

DATE OF EMPLOYMENT NUMBER OF DAYS
January 1 to February 29 Three (3) Personal Days
March 1 to June 30 Two (2} Personal Days
July 1 to October 31 One (1) Personal Day
November 1 to December 31 Zero (0} Personal Days

Personal days shall not be carried over to the succeeding calendar year

and must be utilized in the year that they are granted.
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ARTICLE 26

RIGHTS OF EXCLUSIVE BARGAINING UNIT
{BULLETIN BOARDS/SAFETY COMMITTEE]}

The Union shall be provided with office space of necessary size and
within the confines of the jail to be used solely and exclusively by the PBA to

conduct Union business.

The Union shall be provided with thres {3} separate bulletin boards for the
posting of notices relating to meetings and official PBA business only. No
notice shall be posted until it has been submitted to the Director of Corrections
or his designee.

A Safety Committee comprised of no more than three (3} representatives
from the Employer and the Union will meet on a quarterly bass to discuss

ongoing safety issues in the workplace.
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ARTICLE 27

PHYSICAL EXAMINATIONS

All Employess shall receive a complete physical examination at least
twice a year. Yearly chest x-rays will be made available to all Employees at no

cost and the resuits of the x-rays will be made available to them,
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ARTICLE 28

RETROACTIVE PAYMENTS

Any retroactive monies are to be paid by separate check by the County
if possible.
All retroactive salary increases are to be paid to the estate of any

Employee who has died during the period that the retroactive salary period

covers.
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ARTICLE 29

DEPARTMENTAL INVESTIGATIONS

The interrogation of a member of the Correction Officers shall be at 2
reasonable hour, preferably when the member of the force is on duty, uniess the
exigencies of the investigation dictate otherwise.

The interrogation shall take place at a location designated by the Director
of Corrections. Usually it will be at the Correctional Facility or the location
where the incident allegedly occurred.

The member under investigation shall be informed of the nature of the
investigation before any interrogation commences. Sufficient information to
reasonably apprise the member of the allegations should be provided. f it is
knowrn that the member is being interrogated as a witness only, they should be
so informed at the initial contact.

The gquestioning shall be reasonable in length. Fiftesn {15} minutes time
shall be provided for personal nscessities, meals, telephone calls, and rest
periods at the end of every two (2} hours.

The member shall not be subject 1o any offensive language, nor shall
he/she be threatened with transfer, dismissal, or other disciplinary punishment.
No promise of reward shall be made as an inducement to answering guestions.

At every stage of the proceedings, the Correctional Facility shall afford
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an opportunity for a member, if they 50 request, 1o consult with counsel and/jor
their Union representative before being questioned concerning a violation of the
Rules and Regulations during the interrogation of a member, which shall not
delay the interrogation beyond one (1) hour for consultation with their Union
representative, nor more than two (2) hours for consultation with their attorney.
However, this paragraph shall not apply to routine day-to-day investigations.

In cases other than departmental investigations, if &8 member is under
arrest or if they are a suspect or the target of a criminal investigation, they shall
be given their rights pursuant to the current decisions of the United States
Supreme Court.

Nothing herein shall be construed to deprive the Correctional Facility or
its Officers of the ability to conduct the routine and daily operations of the

Correctional Facility.
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ARTICLE 30

PROMOTIONS AND JOB TITLES

The Correction Officer title series shall be County Correction Officer,
County Correction Sergeant, County Correction Lieutenant, and County
Correction Captain.

in line promotional examinations shall be open to all permanent
Employees in the next lower level and in accordance with Civil Service

regulations.
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ARTICLE 31

UNIFORM AND SAFETY ALLOWANCES

Each Officer shall receive Eight Hundred Doilars ($800.00) per year for
Uniform and Safety Allowance,
The Uniform and Safety Allowance shall be paid two (2) times a year by

separate paycheck as follows:
Al Four Hundred Dollars ($400.00) between the first and
second pays in March; and
B. Four Hundred Dollars ($400.00) between the first and

second pays in September.
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ARTICLE 32

EDUCATION ALLOWANCE

An Employee who has attained college credits in Police Science, criminal
justice, or social services having a reasonable relationship to correctional or
rehabilitative services from a fully accredited coliege (accredited by the
institutional agency - Middle States Association of Colleges & Schools, or the
New England, Great Lakes, Plains, Southeast, Southwest, Rocky Mountains or
Far West geographical regions) may submit verification of such college credits
and receive additional annual compensation in accordance with the following
schedule:

A Jail Employees™ hired prior to 10/08/97:60 Credits $5,427.00
30 Credits $2,714.00

B. Jail Employees*® hired after 10/08/87: 60 Credits $4,920.00
30 Credits $2,480.00

C. An Employee entitled to the Above Education Allowance
Will Continue to Receive the Above Amount

D. All Annex** Employees regardiess of hire date
And anyone hired after October 8, 1987 will receive
The following: 60 Credits  34,920.00
30 Credits  $2,480.00
E. Employees possessing a BA Degree will receive an
Education Allowance of $6,050.00
F. The Education Allowance is frozen at the Six (6}

Step Rate of 60 Credits = $4920.00; 30 Credits = $2,460,
and BA Degree = $6,050,00
Education allowance benefits shall be frozen at the above levels. The

current practice regarding payment procedure shall continue.

* Refers to Officers who worked at the Nelson Place Jail.
* Hefers to Officers who worked at the Caldwell Jail Annex.
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ARTICLE 33

TERMINAL LEAVE

Anyone designed as an Annex Employees as of March 31, 2004
will continue to receive their accumulated sick time on a one-cne (1-1)
basis upon retirement provided they retire prior to December 31, 2010.

Anyone designated as a Jail Employee as of March 31, 2004 will
receive their accumulated sick time on a one-one (1-1) basis upon
retirement provided they retire with at least twenty-five (25) years of
service prior to December 31, 2010.

All other Jail and/or Annex Employees hired prior to Aprit 1, 2004
and still employed on January 1, 2011 shall receive their accumulated
sick time upon retirement on a one-five {(1-5} basis.

All Employees hired on or after April 1, 2004 shall receive their

accumulated sick time upon retirement on a one-five (1-5) basis.
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ARTICLE 34

RESIDENCY REQUIREMENT

A, Effective upon full execution of the Agreement, current and
future PBA 382 represented Employees are required to be or have been
bona fide residents of the County of Essex for five (5) years while
employed by the County.

B. This Memorandum of Agreement, together with the 2006
through 2007 Collective Bargaining Agreement, and the 2008 through
2010 Memorandum of Agreement between the parties, represents the
complete and final Agreement between the parties, and is contingent
upon ratification and approval of the Association membership, the Essex
County Executive and the Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders.

C. All proposals, whether written or oral, presented by the
parties during the course of the negotiations are deemed withdrawn and
not a part of this Agreement. This Agreement cannot be modified except

by a writing signed by the parties.

-48-



IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties have, by their authorized

representatives, set their hands and seals this day of

2014,
FOR THE UNION FOR THE COUNTY OF ESSEX
Joseph Amato, President Joseph N. DiVincenzo, Jr.
PBA Local 382 Essex County Executive

Deborah Davis Ford, Clerk of the
Board of Chosen Freeholders

Approved as to Form
Dolores Capetola, Esq.
Essex County Counsel
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INSURANCE APPENDIX
SCHEDULE B

Pre-Admission Review

Pre-Admission review was established to provide a balanced and comprehensive professional
review process with the objective of reducing unnecessary hospital admissions and procedures.
Registered nurses trained and certified in utilization review, in conjunction with staff
physicians, conduct the process which allows for the development of flexible and highly
individualized programs to meet the needs of the County of Essex and the employees,
Experience shows that a peer discussion process (physician to physician) is the only effective
way to gain true cooperation from the providers affected by the process.

The pre-certification process is implemented as a monitoring tool in the total case managemernt
process by facilitating early intervention which allows the review process to influence the site
of care and the utilization of medical resources and services associated with the diagnosis,
Early intervention by the Peer Review process fosters a spirit of cooperation which paves the
way for the efficient resolution of the review process.

The total "utilization management” process includes the pre-certification “point of entry",
concurrent follow-up review throughout the confinement, discharge planning, and short- term
case management following discharge. When the process identifies those situations of
catastrophic potential and those which are likely to reach the stop-loss threshold, large case
management can be recommended.

Benefits to the Emplovee

&  Maximizing employees' health care benefits

¢ EBosuring the highest quality of treatment for employees and their families

= Eliminating unnecessary procedures and excessive hospital stays

« Providing employees with a confidential Patient Advocate Line where questions about
health care can be answered by health care professionals.

All that is required is that the employee or provider call a toll-free number prior to planned
hospital admissions, and within two working days of emergency admissions. Additionally,
employees are asked to notify the Medical Review Specialist of maternity care within the first
three months of pregnancy. This will allow the Medical Review Specialist to screen for and
identify situations that are at high risk for complications of pregnancy and/or premature births.
As part of the early intervention component for pregnant women, information will be gathered
to better identify the risk factors which will then be shared with the patient's physician.

Amn effective utilization management prograrm must be carried out as a mandatory requirement
of covered employees. If an employee does not obtain pre-authorization prior to the service
being rendered, covered hospitalization benefits will be reduced by 20% to 2 maximum
penalty of $500.

&
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Commonly Asked Questions About Pre-Admission Review

1.

b

What is Pre-Admission Review?

Pre-Admission Review (PAR) is a program through which you will be advised
in advance of a hospital admission, whether inpatient care is necessary for your
condition.

PAR 1s designed to encourage outpatient care when medically appropriate.

Basically, the program is designed to promote health care in an appropriate
setting and, at the same tirne, control health care costs. In essence, it aims fo
manage health care treatment.

How does it work?

If hospitalization is recommended, you must have your doctor call PAR medical
review specialists, {(doctors and nurses) using the toll-free number.

These medical review specialist will review you case and, based on established
medical criteria, determine the proper place of care.

If inpatient hospitalization is determined to be appropriate, the PAR medical
specialists will send a copy of the written authorization to you, your doctor, and
the hospital.

The PAR medical specialists may determine that another settng (e.g. hospital
outpatient department, doctor's office, surgical center), is medically appropriate
for your condition. If so, they will notify you in writing that the requested
inpatient admission has been denied and they will suggest other available
alternatives.

Please note: A Pre-Admission Review is not necessary for maternity deliveries
(vaginal or cesarean).

Will participation in the PAR program alter my benefit payment?

Your benefit payment depends on your individual situation. As long as PAR
procedures are followed and your inpafient hospitalization is approved, the
County of Essex will pay full benefits in accordance with the terms of your
health benefits plan. If you follow the PAR procedures and your inpatient
admission is demied, you can still be assured of payment, in accordance with
your health bepefits plan, for the service performed in an alternate outpatient
setting.

If you think the denial is unfair, you or y{mrv doctor may request a second
review by a different team of medical professionals.

What happens if I don't follow the PAR program procedures and I am admitted

~ to the hospital as an inpatient?

€
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quality health benpefits. By participafing in this program, together we can

influence the way health care is delivered without reducing benefits.

HOSPITAL TRANSFERS

An inpatient being transferred from one hospital to
another is considered a pew admission. A call o
the Referral Center must be placed within 48
hours, or the next business day, advising us of this
transfer.

OUTPATIENT SURGICAL PROCEDURES

If you are admitted to & hospital a§ a result of
complications from cutpatient sargery, a call to the
Referral Center must be placed within 48 hours, or
the next business day, advising of the admission.

NEWBORN EXTENDED STAYS

A newborn child's siay in the hospital is
considered part of the mother's maternity
admission and is not subject to Pre-Admission
Review. However, if the newborn child remains in
the hospital after the mother is discharged, this is
considered a new admission, and a call must be
placed to the Referral Center within 48 hours, or
the next business day, advising of this extended
stay.

MANDATORY SECOND SURGICAL OPINION PROGRAM

i.

What is the Mandatory Second Surgical Opinion Program?

The Mandatory Second Surgical Opinion Program (MSSOP) is a program
that covers the cost of a second opinion by a qualified specialist when surgery
has been recommended to a patient.

The program is designed to promote quality health care and, at the same
time, control health care costs. Also, as an informed patient you can make a
better decision when faced with surgery. In many cases, an unnecessary
surgery can be avoided.

A list of the surgeries for which you must obtain a second opinion is included.

How does the Mandatory Second Surgical Opinion Program Work?
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10.

1L

If it is determined afterwards that the admission was necessary, you will be
liable for 20% of the covered hospital charges that the County of Essex would
otherwise have paid, but no more than a maximum penalty of $500.

What if my physician does not call PAR medical specialists?

If you physician does not call, you can call the PAR medical specialists yourself
and provide the necessary information. One of the PAR nurses will call your
physician for verification and will obtain any additional information that is
needed, »

If my doctor schedules me for surgery in an outpatient setting, do [ need PAR?

No, PAR is only necessary when your doctor requests that you be admitted to
the hospital as an inpatient (overnight stay).

What happens if [ have to be admitted to the hospital on an emergency basis?

Either you, a family member, your doctor, or a hospital representative must
notify the Referral Center of an emergency admission within forty-eight (48)
hours.

‘What happens if complications arise from an outpatient surgery and I have to be
admitted to the hospital?

If complications arise during an outpatient surgery, making an inpatient stay
medically necessary, full benefits will be paid in accordance with the terms of
your plan. You must, however, call the Referral Center within forty-eight (48)
hours.

What if T intend to be admitted to an out-of-state hospital for a non- maternity,
non-emergency procedure? Do [ still need PAR?

Yes. You must stll obtain PAR from the PAR medical-specialists. Your
Physician should call the toll-free number.

If you are traveling out-of-state, and need to be admitted to a hospital for
maternity delivery, you do not have to obtain PAR. Otherwise, PAR procedures
must be followed.

Are all members of my family required to participate in the PAR program?

Yes. You and your covered dependents are required to-follow the procedures of
the PAR program. »

Why has the County of Essex decided to include this program in our health
benefits package?

This program has been included as an effort to promote health care in the
appropriate setting and control health care costs so that we can continue to offer

@
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If you or a family member is advised of the need for surgery by a physician:

Call the Second Opinion Referral Center TOLL-FREE number.

You will be given the names of board-certified cooperating second opinion
specialists In vour area.

Choose one of them and advise the Referral Center of your choice and the date
and time of the appointment.

The Referral Center will mail out a special ¢laim form and a letter confirming
the appointment to the doctor.

Keep the appointment (or advise the doctor of cancellation).

After the doctor renders the second opinion, he or she will send the-complered
form to the Referral Center.

If the second opinion specialist says 1 do not need surgery, can 1 have the
surgery anyway?

Yes, the program requires only that you obtain a second opimion. The Second
opinion does not have to confirm the need for surgery. The final decision to
have surgery lies with you, the patient. If the opinions conflict, you can obtain a
third opinion which would also be covered under this program. Just call the
Second Opinion Referral Center and follow the same procedure you used for the
second opinion.

‘What happens if I wait 2 while after getting a second opinion and then decide to
have surgery?

The second opimion is valid on your records at the Referral Center for 90 days.
If you schedule surgery after 90 days have elapsed, you must call the Referral
Center again to update your records.

How much will it cost for the second opinion?

Nothing. If you follow the program guidelines and select one of the doctors
from the Referral Center, the cost of the second opinion (and the optional third)
is paid in full by the County of Essex.

Which surgical procedures are part of the Mandatory Second Surgical Opinion
Program?
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ARTHROSCOPY Examination of JOINT using a scope (may include
: MERISCoectomy)
CATARACT SURGERY Surgical removal of cataract {clouded lens) from the
EYE
CHEMONUCLEOLYSIS OF Destruction of VERTEBRAL DISK by injection
DISK
CHOLECYSTECTOMY Removal of GALLBLADDER (may include
examination of bile ducis)
CORONARY ARTERY BYPASS | Insertion of vein graft to bypass an obstructed
SURGERY HEART ARTERY \ ) :
EXCISION OF INTER- Removal of a herniated DISK (including excision of
VERTEBRAL DISK disk with fusion)
HYSTERECTOMY Removal of Uterusg
MASTECTOMY ) )
Surgical removal of BREAST (or portion)
MENISCETOMY )
Remaval of cartilage from the KNEE
PROSTATECTOMY Removal of all or part of the PROSTATE
RHINOPLASTY Surgery of NOSE to correct deformities (includes
TONSILLECTOMY submucous resection)
SEPTECTOMY WITH Removal of an obstruction of the NOSE (includes
RHINOPLASTY submucous resection)
SPINAL p{}g{gN Jommg of VERTEBRAE for mmmobilization
TONSILLECTOMY Removal of the TONSILS
7. What happeus if I do not obtain a second opinion?

Coverage for surgery is reduced by 20% to a maximum of $500.
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What if my doctor advises me to have a surgery not on the mandatory
list, but I want a second opinion?

It is very important to call the Second Opinion Referral Center to discuss )
the particular procedure. In most cases your health benefits plan will
allow for payment, but some surgery is not covered for a second
opinion, for example:

Cosmetic Surgery

Dental Surgery

Minor Surgery (i.e. removal of sebaceous cyst)

Surgery ineligible by your health benefits plan

Sterilization procedures Emergency surgery

Surgery that is performed on an already hospitalized patient .

Why do I have to go to one of the Referral Center's doctors?
By using the Referral Center's physicians the County of Essex can;

+ guarantee that claims will be paid properly;

» eliminate payment by subscribers for the second opinion consultation;
and

¢ be assured that the cooperating specialist is board certified.
Physicians who participate in the program are certified and meet
certain criferia.

Does the second opinion doctor contact my original doctor?

We ask the specialist giving the second opimion consultation not to
contact the original doctor to discuss findings or recommendations
except with the consent of the patient.

What if the second opinion specialist wants to take more tests and/or x-
rays? Are thesc charges covered also? :

In most cases the County of Essex will ask the specialist not order
additional x-ray and laboratory procedures when satisfactory studies are
already available. However, there are times when the specialist might
feel additional tests are needed. The specialist must call the Referral
Center if additional tests are requested.

Why can't the second opinion doctor perform the surgery? What if I like
him/her betier?

Part of the arrangement between the County of Essex and the Specialists
participating in the program, is an agreement that the specialists will not
perform the surgery. This was done to help the second opinion physician
make an unbiased diagnosis. If the physician knows he cammot perform
the surgery, he or she will not sway the patient to have Unnecessary

Surgery.
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Are doctors aware of this program?

Yes, they are aware of it and most of them accept it. Doctors realize that
the thrust on health care is toward cost containment and patient
involvement. As a result of programs like this, they deal with more .
imformed, more relaxed patients. Doctors also are aware that some
programs are mandatory and that their payments might be reduced if the
second opinion was not given. The Referral Center receives many calls
from physician's offices asking if specific procedures need a second
opinion. They also receive many requests from physicians who wish to
join this program as a second opinion specialist.

If T am rushed to the hospital in an emergency or if it is determined that |
need surgery while hospitalized, do I heed a second opinion?

No. If you need surgery while you are hospitalized regardless of your
admitting diagnosis, second opinions are not required or allowed. Also,
you do not need a second opinion if you are admitted to the hospital for
SMergency surgery.

What if T live out-of-state?

The Referral Center has physicians who provide second opinions for
locations outside of New Jersey. If you live out-of-state and require a
second opinion, you must call the Referral Center,

Why has this program been included in our health benefits package?

This program has been included as an effort to control health care costs.
Research has shown that many employees with mandatory second
opinion programs in place have experienced substantial savings from
these programs. How? The fact is that some elective surgery may not be
necessary, yet it always involves some risk and expense. Appropriately
20% of elective surgery will not be confirmed as necessary when a
second opinion is obtained. When appropriate, alternative treatments
many replace surgery, which in tirn may mean reduced risk to the
patient. However, when surgery is confirmed by the second opinion, you
know that surgery is most likely the best treatment for you.



IN WITNESS WHEREQOF, the parties have by their authorized

representatives, set their hands and seals this bl day {/} I 2014,

New Jersey State PBA Local 382 For the County of Essex
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/;}T(';ﬁ%phfzﬁnate Jos h’gﬁ DiVincenzo, Jr.

/. President Essex County Executive

New Jersey State PBA Local 382 Ve,

Deborah Davis Ford, Clerk of
Board of Chosen Frecholders

Approved gs to Form
s

. Pagax{eni, Esq.
‘sunty Counsel
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