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AGREEMENT

This Agreement, dated the day of January 2006, by and between the Borough of Glen
Ridge, a municipal corporation of the State of New Jersey, hereinafter referred to as the "Borough",

and the Policemen's Benevolent Association Local No. 58, Glen Ridge, New Jersey, hereinafter

referred to as the "PBA";

PREAMBLE
WHEREAS, the PBA has been recognized by the governing body of the Borough as the
majority representative of the Police Officers, Detectives, Police Sergeants and Detective Sergeants
under and by virtue of "New Jersey Employer-Employee Relations Act”, as amended, for the
purpose of collective negotiations, and
WHEREAS, the Borough and the PBA have engaged in collective negotiations concerning
wages and other terms and conditions of employment which negotiations have resulted in this

Agreement,
NOW, THEREFORE, be it agreed by and between the parties hereto as follows:




ARTICLE I
RECOGNITION

1. The Borough hereby recognizes the aforementioned PBA as the exclusive majority

representative for all its Police Officers; Detectives; Police Sergeants and Detective Sergeants
employed by the Borough but excluding Police Lieutenants and all other Police Superior Officers,

managerial executives, confidential employees and all other employees of the Borough.

2. Unless otherwise indicated, the term "Police Officer” when used in this Agreement refers to all

persons represented by the PBA in the above-defined bargaining unit.




ARTICLE I
SALARIES

1. The salary schedules for all Police Officers recognized as being represented by the PBA shall

be as follows:

2006

Patrolmen Base Salary

Provisional
(Until completion$39,194
of academy)

Probationary $44,408
Sixth Grade $47,197
Fifth Grade $50,455

Fourth Grade $53,713

Third Grade $60,357

Second Grade $66,905

First Grade $73,485

2007
Base Salary

$40,762

$46,185

$49,085

$52,474

$55,862

$62,772

$69,582

$76,425

2008
Base Salary

$42,393

$48,033

$51,049

$54,573

$58,097

$65,283

$72,366

$79,482

2009
Base Salary

$44,089

$49,955

$53,091

$56,756

$60,421

$67,895

$75,261

$82,662

2. Each Police Officer who is assigned to the Detective Bureau shall receive a $1,500.00

stipend annually. Each Sergeant who is assigned to the Detective Bureau shall receive a $2,000.00

stipend annually. This is in addition to any accrued overtime. The payment shall be included in the

employee's regular salary payments.




3. Bach Police Officer who is promoted to the rank of Sergeant on or after the execution date

of this Agreement shall receive the following salaries:

2006 2007 2008 2009
Sergeant

Base Salary Base Salary Base Salary Base Salary
Third Grade $78,433 $81,571 $84,834 $88,228
Second Grade $80,996 $84,236 $87,606 $91,111
First Grade $83,495 $86,835 $90,309 $93,921

4. The increments payable to Police Officers and Sergeants who are below First Grade are

subject to favorable recommendations by the Chief of Police.




ARTICLE III
LONGEVITY

The longevity plan shall be as follows: two (2%) percent of salary after five (5) full years of service; four
(4%) percent of salary after ten (10) full years of service; six (6%) percent of salary after fifteen (15) full
years of service; eight (8%) percent of salary after twenty (20) full years of service and ten (10%) percent of
salary after twenty-four (24) full years of service effective July 1 of each year. Longevity will be made part
of an employee's annual salary and shall be calculated as of January lst of the current year if the
employee's anniversary date of employment is prior to July 1st of the current year. When the employee's

anniversary date of employment is on or after July 1st, payment will begin as of January 1st of the

following year.




ARTICLE V
EMERGENCY MEDICAL TECHNICIAN INCENTIVE PROGRAM
The Borough of Glen Ridge will offer members of the Glen Ridge PBA #58 the following

program to encourage members of the department to obtain and retain EMT certification.

1. Any member of the bargaining unit who is EMT certified shall receive as additional
compensation six hundred dollar ($600.00) per year, which shall be paid with and be part of the
annual salary. The compensation shall be prorated in the first year of eligibility based upon the
month in which the certification is obtained.

2. Any person receiving compensation under this program who fails to maintain the

EMT certification will be disqualified from the program. Compensation shall cease upon

expiration of the EMT certification.




ARTICLE VI
COLLEGE INCENTIVE PROGRAM

The Borough agrees to continue the College Incentive Program which was in effect on

January 1, 1980 under the following conditions:

There will be maintained a College Incentive program to encourage members of the Police

Department to continue their formal education and acquire an Associate of Science Degree or a

Baccalaureate Degree or Masters Degree in Law Enforcement or other program of study as

approved by the Chief of Police ("Accredited Program” or "Accredited Degree"). All regular

members of the Police Department will be eligible for participation in the program. The only pre-

requisite is that the Police Officer must be or have been matriculating towards an Accredited

Degree. The program will be based on the number of college credit hours earned by individuals

which are applied or can be applied toward an Associate, Baccalaureate or Masters Degree in an

Accredited Program. The credit hours and monetary incentive shall be as :follows:

Phase I

Phase II

Phase 111

Phase IV

Phase V

17 through 33 credit hours, the Police Officer' base salary will increase to

$225.00 annually.

34 through 50 credit hours, the Police Officer's base salary will increase to
$375.00 annually.

51 or more credits, the Police Officer's base salary will increase to $675.00
annually.

Attainment of an Associates Degree: (1) the base salary of a Police

Officer hired prior to February 1, 1981 will increase by $1,225.00 annually;

. (2) the base salary of a Police Officer hired on or after February 1, 1981 will

increase by $925.00 annually. These increments shall remain part of the Police
Officer's salary until separation from the Police Department.

Attainment of a Baccalaureate Degree, the Police Officer's base salary will
increase by $1,225.00 annually and it shall remain a part of the Police Officer's
salary until separation from the Police Department provided the Police Officer's

base salary has not already been increased to $1,225.00 under Phase v

above.




Phase VI Attainment of a Masters Degree, the Police Officer's base salary will increase to
$1,525.00 annually and it shall remain a part of the Police Officer's salary until
separation from the Police Department.

A Police Officer who has a number of credits but has not received a degree will remain in the
program for as long as the Police Officer is enrolled in a school of higher education and taking courses
applicable toward an Accredited Degree. If or when a Police Officer who has accumulated a number of
credits but not a degree fails to add to that number of credits for a period of two years from the date of
completion of the last credited course, the Police Officer shall be dropped from the College Incentive
Program and the annual salary will revert to the base salary of the Police Officer's respective rank. In
the event an individual has been dropped from the program as outlined, the Police Officer may be
reinstated upon completion of three credited courses or nine credit hours, and will re-enter the
program at the phase in which the total number of credits warrant.

Members who wish to enter the program shall have their respective institute of higher
education send directly to the Chief of Police a certified copy of their transcript. This transcript is to
be received no later than the first day of August preceding the calendar year of payment. New
members joining the department will be eligible to join the College Incentive Program the calendar
year following their appointment at the level in which they are eligible.

If an individual is appointed a Police Officer in 1977 or thereafter, and already possesses a
degree in an Accredited Program, the Police Officer will immediately receive $925.00; $1,225.00 or
$1,525.00 depending on the degree over and above his/her annual base salary. If an individual is
appointed a Police Officer in 1985 or thereafter, and already possesses a Baccalaureate degree in
discipline other than an Accredited Program, the Police Officer will receive $925.00 over and above
his/her annual base salary commencing in 2006. Such officer shall be eligible to have the $925.00
increased to $1,225.00 upon his/her completion of an Accredited Degree.

A list of accepted courses applicable toward this College Incentive Program will be on file
with the Chief of Police and Borough Clerk. Only courses listed will apply in determining total
credits. Courses will be added on this list as they are approved by the Chief of Police.
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ARTICLE VI
IN-SERVICE TRAINING

Police Officers shall receive a meal allowance up to $5.00 for every day spent at in service

training sessions conducted outside of the Borough of Glen Ridge. A department vehicle shall be
made available for attendance at such training sessions, at the option of the officer. If the officer
uses his/her personal vehicle, the officer shall be reimbursed at the current IRS rate for travel

beyond normal commuting distance.
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ARTICLE VIII
INSURANCE

1. The Borough shall continue to provide hospitalization, medical and surgical benefits to
all Police Officers and their families through the State Health Benefits Plan.

2. The Borough shall also furnish false arrest insurance covering all Police Officers.

3. The Borough shall continue to provide dental benefits to all Police Officers and their
families through the Borough of Glen Ridge Group Dental Plan, as shown in Exhibit A.

4. The Borough shall continue to provide prescription drug benefits to all Police Officers
and their families. The Borough will pay full premium costs of the plan. Prescription Drug Benefits
shall be provided through the State Health Benefits Plan which at this time provides a (co-pay) of
$5.00 per prescription for patent drugs and $1.00 per prescription for generic drugs.

5. The Borough shall continue to provide vision care benefits to all Police Officers and

their families through Vision Service Plan (Modified Plan A ) subject to an annual deductible of
$25.00 for each family member.
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ARTICLE IX
RETENTION OF BENEFITS
Tt is understood and agreed by and between the parties that all benefits which were provided for

employees prior to the effective date of this Agreement, including but not limited to life insurance

coverage, shall be continued, except as modified by this Agreement.
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ARTICLE X
HOURS OF WORK AND OVERTIME

1. Except as provided in the Sidebar Agreement which is attached hereto, the past practice
regarding hours of work and overtime shall be maintained during the term of this Agreement. In the
event of a conflict between the provisions of this Agreement and the Sidebar Agreement, the
provisions of the Sidebar Agreement shall prevail.

2. The Borough agrees that each Police Officer shall be paid at the rate of one and one-half
(1-1/2) times said Police Officer's regular hourly rate for each hour, or part thereof, of working time
in excess of eight (8) hours per day and forty (40) hours in any Week; Working time shall be deemed
to include appearances in municipal court, county court, superior court, federal court, Division of
Motor Vehicle Hearings, Civil Hearings and Grand Jury proceedings arising out of or in the course
of a Police Officer's official duties.

3. Whenever an employee is required to appear in any municipal court in connection with any
matter arising out of his employment as a Police Officer, said Police Officer shall be paid at the rate
of one and one-half (1-1/2) times his/her regular hourly rate for all time spent but in no event shall
the officer be paid less than two (2) hours. This two (2) hour minimum pay provision shall not be
utilized by the Borough as justification for requiring the Police Officer to report for duty for the
remainder of his/her 2-hour minimum in the event the court appearance is less than two (2) hours.

4. Whenever an Police Officer is required to attend training sessions during his/her off duty time,
he/she shall be compensated at one and one-half (1-1/2) times his/her regular hourly rate for two (2)
hours or for all hours spent in such training, whichever is greater.

5. Compensatory time may be accrued and accumulated to a total of one hundred twenty (120)
hours and may be carried forward from year to year thereafter.

6. Senior Officer Compensation: If no Sergeant is working, the Patrolman designated by Chief

(or his designee) as "Senior Officer" or "Officer in Charge" shall be paid the following scale annually,
including longevity, for all such hours worked in that capacity.

0-96 hours at the rate of Third Grade Sergeant

97-192 hours at the rate of Second Grade Sergeant

193 and more at the rate of First Grade Sergeant.
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7 Tn the event that a member of the bargaining unit is offered three (3) hours or more of overtime
by a supervisor and reports for work to start the offered shift, but it is then deemed that the officer is

not needed, said officer will receive a minimum of three (3) hours overtime pay.
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ARTICLE X1
VACATIONS

Section 1

Each Police Officer shall be eligible for annual vacation leave with pay based upon the number of

years of service with the employer as follows:

A. In the first year of employment...one (1) working day per month for each month of service not

to exceed eleven (11) days.

B. Commencing the first year of employment and each year thereafter through the fifth (5th) year
of employment ...twelve (12)working days per year.

C. Commencing the sixth year of employment and each year thereafter through the tenth (10th)
year of employment...thirteen (13) working days per year.

D. Commencing the eleventh year of employment and each year thereafter through the fifteenth
(15th) year of employment... sixteen (16) working days per year.

E. Commencing the sixteenth year of employment and each year thereafter through the twentieth
(20th) year of employment...twenty-one (21) working days per year.

F. Commencing the twenty first (21st) year of employment and each year thereafter... twenty-four
(24) working days per year. It is agreed that the Police Officer's anniversary date must fall on or before
June 30 of each year in order to be eligible for the number of vacation days at each level. If the

anniversary date falls on or after July 1 the additional vacation entitlement will be eligible in the next

ensuing calendar year.
Section 2
It is expressly understood and agreed that each Police Officer may, at his/her option, utilize the three

(3) elective holidays in conjunction with the above vacation entitlement.

Section 3

Scheduling of vacation shall be in accordance with Ordinance No. 827, Section 5, as amended.
Section 4

In lieu of time off, each Police Officer may, at his/her option, elect to be paid in cash for not more
than three (3) holidays per year (maximum of twenty-four (24) hours) per year or bank any part up to
thirty-six (36) hours in Compensation Time. Notice of such election shall be given on or before

November 1 and payment shall be made with the first salary payment in December of each year.
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ARTICLE XII
BEREAVEMENT OR FUNERAL LEAVE

Each Police Officer shall be entitled to bereavement leave with pay not to exceed three (3)
work days. A bereavement day shall equal the shift hours which the officer is normally scheduled to
work. Officers assigned to a 12 hour day schedule shall receive 12 hours for each bereavement day
(3 work days = 36 hours) while officers normally scheduled for an eight hour day shall receive eight
hours for each bereavement day (3 work days = 24 hours).

Said bereavement leave shall be granted in the event of the death of a Police Officer's spouse,
child, brother, sister, step brother, step sister, foster children, step children, father, mother,
stepmother, stepfather, mother-in-law, or father-in-law, grandparent or spouse's grandparent. If a
Police Officer requires additional bereavement leave for travel or other extraordinary circumstances
pertaining to a member of the family, the Police Officer may apply to the Chief of Police who may
grant up to twelve (12) additional work hours of leave. The Chief of Police shall have the authority
to grant bereavement leave of up to twelve (12) or twenty-four (24) work hours for the death of a
Police Officer's relative other than a member of the family listed above. The excess of any such
bereavement leave in excess of four (4) days for family or in excess of twelve (12) or twenty-four
(24) work hours for a relative other than an immediate family member as described above shall be

charged against the Police Officer's vacation time or taken without pay.
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ARTICLE XIII
PERSONAL LEAVE

1. Effective January 1 of each calendar year of this Agreement, each employee shall be

entitled to one (1) personal leave day per calendar year with pay. The personal day shall equal the
shift hours which the officer is normally scheduled. Officers assigned to a 12 hour day schedule
 shall receive 12 hours for their personal day while officers normally scheduled for an eight hour day
shall receive eight hours for their personal day.

2. Except in the event of personal emergency or permission from the Chief of Police or his
designee, the employee shall submit a written request for such a day off at least forty-eight (48)
hours prior to the commencement of the shift that the employee intends to take off.

3. Unutilized personal leave at the end of the calendar year will be converted to a vacation
day for use as per the vacation policy of the Borough.

4 Priority in granting requests shall be as follows: (1) emergencies; (2) observation of
religious or other days of celebration, but not holidays; (3) personal business; (4) other personal
affairs; and (5) departmental seniority where, within a work unit, there are more requests than can be

granted for use of this leave at any one time.
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ARTICLE XIV
TERMINAL LEAVE - SICK DAYS

The Borough agrees to provide a terminal leave program, at the completion of ten (10) years
of service with the Borough, whereby fifty (50%) percent of each Police Officer's accrued sick days
allowable may be applied towards the Police Officer's terminal leave prior to retirement, to a
maximum of one hundred (100) days. Sick leave can be accumulated to a limit of two hundred (200)
working days. All other provisions of Ordinance No. 1016 "Sick Leave" are incorporated by
reference. The entire allotment of fifteen (15) days shall be available for utilization as of January 1
of each year, but shall be pro-rated if the officer terminates his employment prior to the end of the
calendar year.

If a member does not utilize any sick leave during the period from January 1 through April
30 of any calendar year, he/she shall be granted one (1) compensatory day to be taken between May
1 and August 31 of that year. If a member does not utilize any sick leave during the period from May
1 to August 31 of any calendar year, he/she shall be granted one (1) compensatory day to be taken
between September 1 and December 31 of that year. If a member does not utilize any sick leave
during the period from September 1 through December 31 of any calendar year, he/she shall be
granted one (1) compensatory day to be taken between January 1 and April 30 of the immediately
following calendar year. If a member does not utilize any sick leave during the entire calendar year,
he/she shall be granted one (1) additional compensatory day to be taken during the immediately
following calendar year.

Donation of sick time to another officer shall not count against the donating officer with

regards to earning compensation days for not utilizing sick days as described above.

20




ARTICLE XV
MUTUAL AID

Police Officers while rendering aid to another community are fully covered by worker's

compensation and liability insurance and pensions by State Law. The Borough shall not require
Police Officers covered by this Agreement to be assigned to other communities whose Police
Officers are engaged in a job action.

This will not preclude the use of Police Officers of the Borough to assist another community
when so requested by another community. This provision is subject to and modified by the New
Jersey Civil Defenses Act and the rules and regulations promulgated there under. The Borough shall

not be required to violate any applicable statutes or court decisions.
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ARTICLE XVI
GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

To provide for the expeditious and mutually satisfactory settlement of grievances, it is
understood by the parties that this procedure shall be used for the resolution of complaints of members

of the PBA. The procedure shall be as follows:

Step One

The aggrieved party(ies) shall first discuss it orally with the Senior Patrol Lieutenant or his/her
designee either directly or through the P.B.A.’s designated representative for the purpose of resolving
the matter informally. If a grievance is not presented within fifteen (15) calendar days after the
event(s) which gave rise to the grievance, it shall be deemed abandoned.
Step Two

If the aggrieved party(ies) is not satisfied with the disposition of the grievance at Step One, or if
10 decision has been rendered within three (3) calendar days after presentation of the grievance at Step
One, the aggrieved party(ies) may, within five (5) days thereafter, file a written grievance with the
Chief of Police or his/her designee. A meeting on the written grievance shall be held within five (5)
calendar days of the filing of the written grievance among the Chief of Police, Captain, the aggrieved
party(ies) and the P.B.A.’s designated representative. A final decision thereon shall be rendered in
writing within seven (7) calendar days after the holding of such meeting. Said meeting shall not be
public unless all parties agree.
Step Three

If the aggrieved party(ies) is not satisfied with the disposition of the grievance at Step Two, or
if no written decision has been rendered within seven (7) calendar days after the presentation of the
grievance at Step Two, the matter may, within five (5) days thereafter be referred by the P.B.A.

President or his/her designee in his/her absence to the Public Safety Committee or the
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Committees designated representative as per Glen Ridge Borough Ordinance Number 1450. A
meeting on the grievance shall be held within fifteen (15) calendar days thereafter between the P.B.A.
and the Public Safety Committee or the Committee’s designated representative, which meeting shall
not be public unless the parties so agree in writing. A decision shall be rendered within seven (7) days
of the date of the meeting.
Step Four
1. In the event the grievance has not been rendered in or at Step Three, the matter may be referred
to binding arbitration only by the P.B.A. or the Borough as hereinafter provided.
2. In the event that the Borough or the P.B.A. desires to submit a grievance to binding arbitration,
the following procedure shall be followed:
a. The party demanding arbitration shall serve written notice of its intention to arbitrate on
the other party(ies) within ten (10) calendar days following receipt of the Public Safety
Committee’s decision or the determination of the Committees designated representative.
b. The party demanding binding arbitration shall request the New Jersey State Board of
Mediation or the New Jersey Public Employment Relations Commission to appoint an
arbitrator. The selection of the arbitrator shall be conducted in accordance with the
Rules and Regulations of the Agency.
c. The decision of the arbitrator shall be in writing and include the reasons for such
decision.

d. The decision of the arbitrator shall be final and binding upon the Borough and the

P.B.A.
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A. A Failure to respond to any Step in this procedure by the Borough or its agent shall be deemed
to be a negative response and upon the termination of the applicable time limits. The P.B.A.
may proceed to the next step.

B. Time limits may be extended by the parties by mutual written agreement.

C. The Borough reserves the right to submit in writing complaints to the President of the P.B.A.

A conference among the representatives of the Borough and the P.B.A. (not to exceed three (3)
of each party) shall be held within ten (10 calendar days of filing of the submission to discuss
the complaint. In the event no adjustment has been satisfactorily made within ten (10) calendar

days after such meeting, the Borough may file within ten (10) calendar days for binding

arbitration in accordance with this Article.
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ARTICLE XVII
CONDUCTING UNION BUSINESS
The State PBA Delegate shall be excused from his full time tour of duty, without loss of pay

on the days when the regularly scheduled and specifically called statewide meetings are held. The
State PBA Delegate shall also be granted time off, without the loss of pay, to attend the regularly
scheduled meetings of the Essex County PBA Conference, subject to recall in the event of an
emergency. The Borough shall give a leave of absence with pay to two (2) representative who are

duly authorized by the PBA to attend any State convention of such organization.
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ARTICLE XVIII
DURATION

This agreement shall be effective as of January 1, 2006 and shall terminate on the

latter of December 31, 2009 or the date on which a substitute agreement is executed. Collective
negotiations for the successor agreement shall be conducted in accordance with applicable statutes
and rules and regulations of the Public Employment Relations Commission.

IN WITNESS THEREOF, the parties have hereunto set their hands and seals this day
of January, 2006

ATTEST THE BOROUGH OF GLEN RIDGE
ATTEST POLICEMEN’S BENEVOLENT
ASSOCIATION LOCAL 58

GLEN RIDGE, NJ
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SIDE BAR I

For purpose of this Agreement a compensatory day is equal to the officer’s regular work day (i, 8.5
hours for 8.5 hours or 12 hours for 12 hours).

Sick Time Bank — In the event that an officer exhausts his/her sick leave due to a serious injury or long
term illness, other officers may donate their sick time in an amount not to exceed ten (10 ) days per
year for a sick leave bank to be drawn upon by the ill or injured officer. Said officer may not utilize
the sick leave bank to take sick time in excess of one (1) year following exhaustion of his/her own sick
time. The employer may require satisfactory proof of the long term illness or injury in order to
demonstrate the need to accessing the sick leave bank. Sick time will be donated and taken on a day-
for-day basis.

ATTEST THE BOROUGH OF GLEN RIDGE
ATTEST POLICEMEN’S BENEVOLENT
ASSOCIATION LOCAL 58

GLEN RIDGE, NJ
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