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PREAMBLE

THIS AGREEMENT is made and entered into this day of Two
Thousand and fifteen.

BETWEEN

THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE BOROUGH OF
ROSELAND, ESSEX COUNTY, NEW JERSEY, hereinafter
The “BOARD”;

and

THE ROSELAND EDUCATION ASSOCIATION
hereinafter the “ASSOCIATION™:

WHEREAS, pursuant to the requirements of the New Jersey Employer-Employee Relations Act,
agreements reached between public employer and the majority representative of an appropriate
employee unit and filed with the New Jersey Public Employment Relations Commission; and

WHEREAS, the Roseland Board of Education recognizes the Roseland Education Association as
being the recognized majority representative of the unit of the Board’s employees consisting of
regularly employed teachers, nurses, librarians, and custodians,

NOW, THEREFORE, the Board and the Association have mutually agreed to the following
terms and conditions of employment.

When used hereinafter, the term “teacher” shall mean all certificated members of the unit, the
term “custodian” shall mean custodians only, and the term “employee” shall mean all members

of the unit,

Article I —- Duration of Agreement

This Agreement, dated as above, shall take effect on July 1, 2015 and shall continue in full force
and effect until June 30, 2018. The Parties agree that except in the case of any mutually agreed
upon amendments hereto which shall be embodied in writing and signed by the Parties, this
Agreement represents the full and total agreement between the Parties on all matters which were,
and could have been, negotiated by the Parties.

Article I1 - Compensation

L. SALARIES

A, Teachers: The salary schedules for teachers shall be as set forth on Schedule “A”,
Schedule “B” and Schedule “C” annexed hereto and made a part hereof.




The following percentage increases will be applied to the agreed-upon salary base
of $3,190,960 and are inclusive of increments:

Effective 7/1/15: 7.6% increase over the three-year period of the
Agreement.

Advancement on the schedules is not automatic and is dependent upon a favorable
recommendation by the Superintendent and Board of Education approval.

Effective July 1, 1995, academic credit for advanced level placement beyond the
MA column shall be based only on approved graduate degree credits obtained
after attainment of the Masters degree. Teachers matriculated in Board approved
Masters Degree program on July 1, 1995, shall be granted exemption from this
requirement.

Teachers shall be notified of their contract and salary status for the ensuing year
no later than May 15,

B. Custodians: Custodians must, as a condition of employment, possess a valid
Black Seal Boiler Operator License. The Board reserves the right to waive this
requirement and allow the employee time to obtain the license. During this
extended period of time the employee shall remain at his/her entry level eligible
for salary adjustment but not salary increment.

The following percentage increases will be applied to the agreed-upon salary base
of $3,190,960 and are inclusive of increments:

Effective 7/1/15: 7.6% increase over the three-year period of

the Agreement.

The minimum starting salary for a new full time custodian shall be $30,000 per
year. The Board has the discretion to pay a new custodian in excess of this
minimum starting salary.

The head custodian shall receive an annual stipend of $1,800.00. Said stipend
shall be off the established guide.

Any custodian holding a Black Seal License shall receive an annual stipend of
$250.

2. PAYMENT OF SALARIES

A, Ten-month employees shall be paid in twenty (20) equal payments on the 15" and
last day of each month during the school year.




Twelve-month employees shall be paid in twenty-four (24) equal payments on the
15™ and last day of each month during the year.

Each teacher may individually elect to have ten percent (10%) of his/her monthly
salary deducted and placed in a personal interest-bearing account in a bank of the
Board’s choosing.

Whenever the 15" day of and/or the last day of the month falls on/or during a
school holiday, vacation, weekend, or Bank Holiday, employees shall receive
payments on the last previous working date provided such an accommodation is
administratively possible. Employees shall be notified one week in advance
regarding any changes in this procedure.

The Board agrees to deduct from the salaries of its employees’ dues for the
Roseland Education Association, the Essex County Education Association, the
New Jersey Education Association, and National Education Association as said
employees individually and voluntarily authorize the Board to deduct. Such
deductions shall be made in compliance with Chapter 233, N.J. Public Laws of
1969 (N.J.S.A. 52:14-15.9¢) and under rules established by the State Department
of Education. Said moneys, together with current records of any corrections, shall
be transmitted to such person as designated by the Association by the 15™ of each
month following the monthly pay period in which deductions were made. The
person designated shall disburse such moneys to the appropriate Association or
Associations.

1. Each of the Associations named above shall certify to the Board, in
writing, the current rate of its membership dues. Any Association which
shall change the rate of its membership dues shall give the Board written
notice prior to the effective date of such change.

2. Representation Fee

If an employee does not become a member of the Association during any
membership year (i.e. from September 1 to the following August 31)
which is covered in whole or in part by the Agreement, said employees
will be required to pay a representation fee to the Association for that
membership year, This fee shall not exceed 85% of the Association’s
regular membership dues and shall be determined by NJEA in accordance
with the Association’s filing of the annual LAFAP report.

The Association shall indemnify and hold the employer harmless against
any and all claims, demands, suits and other forms of liability, including
liability for court expenses that may arise out of, or by reason of any
action taken by the employer in conforming with this provision. Dues
shall be transmitted electronically, if payroll provider maintains capability
on a monthly basis.



F. Part-time teachers whose work schedule will cause them to be not present on a
scheduled pay day may, upon request, receive payment on their last working day
immediately prior to a scheduled pay day provided it is administratively possible
to do so.

SICK LEAVE REIMBURSEMENT

If notice of retirement is provided to the District by January 1%, such employee shall
receive a lump sum payment of $74.00 per day, to be paid to the employee by June 30™

of the year of retirement. At the discretion of the recipient, payment may be delayed until
J anuary 15™ or thereabouts of the year after retirement. Should an employee eligible to
receive this benefit die while actively employed, payment should be made to the
employee’s estate. This provision will remain effective for the first year of the contract,
regardless of state law which may be enacted.

If notice of retirement is provided to the District after January 1%, such employee shall
receive a lump sum payment of $64.00 per day, to be paid to the employee by the
following January 15",

Effective July 1, 2013, the maximum accumulated unused sick leave shall be one-
hundred eighty-five (185) days, or an amount established by state law, whichever is less.

OTHER COMPENSATION

A. Travel: Employees shall be paid at the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) rate for
the use of their car in the performance of their duties with prior approval of the
appropriate administrator,

B. Lunch-Time Supervisor: Teachers supervising lunch-time cafeteria for the full
vear shall be compensated at the rate of $2,500 per school year.

C. Curriculum Writing: Teachers who are approved to write curriculums will be
compensated:

2015-16 $55.00/hour
2016-17 $55.00/hour
2017-18 $55.00/hour

The number of hours required to write the curriculum will be predetermined by
the Superintendent of Schools.

D. Presentations: Teachers required to make a presentation at a Board meeting or
kindergarten orientation if scheduled in the evening shall receive one (1) hour
compensation at the curriculum rate established for that year. Compensation shall
be limited to one (1) hour.



Stipends: Stipends will be paid for the following positions as reflected below:

Owl’s Eye $2,000
Student Council $2,000
Head Custodian $1,800
Black Seal $§ 250

If the positions are shared by more than one person, the annual stipend shall be
divided among the individuals assigned to the position.

F. The cost per hour rate for ABA Tutoring and home instruction shall be $55.00.

Both parties seek a salary guide which compensates staff as equitably as possible. In this
contract, we have developed guides which replace major differences in the increment pattern. It
is our mutual intention to continue to improve the salary guide structure by attempting to reduce
major differences in the increment pattern in the future,

Article IIT — Medical and Dental Benefits

A,

Medical and Dental Benefits — In order to qualify for health benefit coverage,
employees must work thirty (30) hours per week, Any employee who currently
works less than thirty (30) hours per week, and/or who receives health benefit
coverage will continue to maintain said coverage. Upon application, employees,
their spouses and eligible dependents, as defined shall be enrolled in the School
Employees Health Benefits Program, hercinafter referred to as the “SEHBP.” All
employees shall be required to contribute a portion of their salary toward the cost
of their health care benefit premiums in accordance with Ch. 78 (P.L. 2011). The
Board reserves the right to substitute another insurance carrier in place of the
SEHBP and to provide benefits which are equivalent to the benefits provided by
the SEHBP.

Up to twenty-five percent (25%) of employees eligible for medical

and prescription coverage (first come, first served) may waive said coverage in
return for a lump-sum payment. Waiver by an employee who is eligible for
employee-only coverage shall be entitled to a lump sum payment of up to twenty-
five percent (25%) of the amount saved by the employer or $5,000, whichever is
less, for the waived medical coverage. Employees eligible for full-family
coverage, after three (3) years of employment, will receive a lump sum payment
of up to twenty-five (25%) of the amount saved by the employer or $5,000,
whichever is less, for the waived medical and prescription coverage. Employees
selecting to waive coverage shall receive this payment simultaneous with their
last paycheck.



Employees who waive coverage and subsequently discover that their alternate
coverage is no longer available may return to the plan for any of the following
reasons:

death of spouse

disability of spouse

divorce

legal separation

loss of employment or change of employment resulting in ineligibility for
benefits

If an employee is reinstated to coverage under the plan for any of the
above reasons, the appropriate proportional share of payment for the
waiver will not be made.

A spouse’s loss or reduction in benefits in the same position is not a
reason for automatic return to the plan,

The Board shall establish an Internal Revenue Service §125 plan for
making medical and dental contributions. Additionally, the Board shall
establish a health care flexible spending account of $2,000 and dependent
care flexible spending account of $4,000 for each employee enrolled in the
plan.

ARTICLE IV — Grievance Procedure

Al STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

1.

It is the purpose of this procedure to secure, at the lowest possible
administrative level, appropriate solutions to grievances of employees
through pre-determined and orderly procedures without threat of reprisal.

Any individual member or group of the staff shall have the right to appeal
(through administrative channels) the application of policies and
administrative decision affecting him/her. With respect to his/her personal
grievances he/she shall be assured freedom from interference, coercion,
discrimination, or reprisal in presenting his/her appeal. The person or
persons involved shall have the right to present their own appeal or
designate representatives of the Roseland Education Association or
another person of their own choosing to appeal with them in any step in
their appeal. Both parties agree that these procedures would be as
informal and confidential as may be appropriate at all levels of the
proceedings.




B. DEFINITION OF TERMS

1. GRIEVANCE — A “grievance” is a claim by an employee based upon the
interpretation, application or violation of this Agreement, policies or
administrative decisions. However, the term “grievance™ shall not apply
to any matter for which (a) a method of review is prescribed by law or
State Board Rule, or wherein (b) the Board of Education is without
authority to act, or where (¢) a complaint relates to the nonrenewal or
termination on notice of a non-tenure employee’s contract,

2. EMPLOYEE - Said term shall include any regularly employed individual
whether full or part-time, receiving compensation from the Board.

3. IMMEDIATE SUPERIOR - Said term shall mean the person to whom the
grieved employee is directly responsible under the organizational scheme
prevailing in this School District at the time that any grievance occurs.

4. AGGRIEVED PERSON - The person or persons making the claim.
C. PROCEDURE

L. TIME LIMITS — Any employee who has a grievance shall discuss it
within ten (10) school days of its occurrence with his/her immediate
superior in an attempt to resolve the matter informally at that level.

2. If, as a result of the informal appeal, the matter is not resolved to the
satisfaction of the employee within five (5) school days, he shall set forth
this claim in writing, giving date and specific details of the grievance, to
the immediate superior. The immediate superior shall communicate
his/her decision to the employee in writing within five (5) school days of
receipt of the written claim. Failure to petition within the said five (5)
school days shall be deemed to constitute an abandonment of the
grievance and an assent to the immediate superior’s determination,

3. The employee may appeal the immediate superior’s decision to the
Superintendent. This appeal must be made in writing and must set forth
the date and grounds upon which the grievance is based, The
Superintendent shall request a written report on the grievance from the
immediate superior. The Superintendent shall attempt to resolve the
matter as quickly as possible but within a period not to exceed ten (10)
school days. The Superintendent shall communicate his/her decision in
writing along with supporting reasons to the employee and the immediate
superior,

4. If the grievance is not resolved to the employee’s satisfaction by the
Superintendent, the grievant may request a review by the Board of



Education. The request shall be submitted within fifteen (15) days in
writing through the Superintendent who shall attach all related papers and
forward the request to the Board of Education. The Board shall review the
grievance, hold a hearing with the employee, if requested. The grievant
may be accompanied at the hearing with a representative. The Board of
Education shall render a decision in writing within fifteen (15) days of the
conclusion of the hearings,

5. If the aggrieved person is not satisfied with the disposition of his or her
grievance by the Board, or if no decision has been rendered within fifteen
(15) school days after it was delivered to the Board, the Association is to
decide whether the grievance is to proceed to arbitration in which case the
matter shall be submitted to the New Jersey Public Employment Relations
Commission within fifteen (15) school days of the Board’s decision or
decision date.

The Board and the Association shall agree upon a mutually acceptable arbitrator
from a list of arbitrators submitted by the Public Employment Relations
Commission.

The decision of the arbitrator shall be advisory in all cases except in matters of
grievance of disciplinary action in which case the decision of the arbitrator shall
be binding, Grievances of disciplinary action may proceed to binding arbitration
in accordance with the provisions of applicable law. The Board of Education
retaing the option of petitioning the Public Employment Relations Commission
for a Scope of Negotiations Determination of the issue of grievance.

Article V — Days and Hours of Work

A.

The days worked shall be based on the teachers’ school calendar as adopted by
the Board of Education for the 2015-2016, 2016-2017, 2017-2018 school years.
The Roseland Board of Education agrees to return up to two of the unused
emergency days built into the school calendar. No teacher shall be required to
report to duty earlier than twenty (20) minutes before the opening of the pupil’s
school day, nor required to clock in or out by hours and minutes. Teachers shall
indicate their presence for duty by placing initials in the sign-in and sign-out
roster.

The scheduled workday for teachers shall be 8:30 a.m. to 3:45 p.m. and the
student day shall be 8:50 a.m. to 3:20 p.m.

Teachers shall remain in school as specified in this paragraph, except that they
may be permitted to leave at 3:25 p.m, in the following circumstances:

l. On Fridays;
2, On days preceding holidays and/or extended recess periods;



()

On the day of back-to-school night;

4, On the day of the monthly Roseland Education Association
afternoon meeting, provided they are not meeting with a parent or
child, in which case they shall continue to do so.

Those teachers who have scheduled other duties are required to perform those
other duties on any of the days in the above four exceptions.

Teachers shall have a daily forty (40) minute duty-free lunch period except on
days of inclement weather when the teacher will return to the classroom to cover
his/her class’ play period. (Inclement weather to be determined by the building
principal or designee). Teachers are to inform the principal or office when
leaving the building during school time including the lunch period.

1.

SRR e an o

Teachers’ schedules shall provide preparation time in the amount of 200
minutes per five day week for regular full-time teachers and shall be
prorated for part-time teachers. Regular classroom teachers shall provide
student instruction in the absence of the specialist schedules to cover the
class during the classroom teacher’s preparation period. The
administration will use its best efforts to establish common planning time
during the work weelk.

Teachers having more preparation time than the contracted allowances can
be assigned to additional duties by the administration between 8:30 a.m.,
and 3:45 p.m.

Preparation time for full-time regular and specials teachers shall be
scheduled between 8:50 a.m. and 3:20 p.m. Preparation time for special
teachers working a flex time schedule shall be scheduled during the hours
of their regularly scheduled workday.

Preparation time shall be used for such activities as:

Correcting papers;

Preparing lesson plans;

Preparing bulletin boards and other displays;

Previewing audiovisual aids;

Professional reading;

Preparation of report cards;

Preparation of non-administrative repotts;

Conference with parents, administrators, and other personnel;
Duplicating or securing materials for class use; and

Other such activities as can be directly related to the welfare of the
students or the functioning of the school
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5. Unless otherwise assigned to other duty, teachers will utilize the
preparation time scheduled from 3:20 p.m. to 3:45 p.m. for the following

activities:

a. Cross-grade conferencing;

b. Meeting with students;

C. Meeting or communicating with parents;

d. Meeting with the principal and/or administrator

If there 18 no need or opportunity to participate in the above mentioned
activities, then teachers should utilize preparation time pursuant to
subparagraph D4.

6. Required loss of a preparation period (except for such instances as a
shortened day, assembly, field trips, etc.) shall be paid at the rate of fifteen
dollars ($15.00) per period, provided the staff member’s weekly
guaranteed preparation time as set forth in Article V, D.], is reduced below
its minimum. Vouchers are to be submitted for this payment on the first
day of each month.

Whenever possible, the notice of an agenda for any teacher’s meeting shall be
given to the teacher by the Friday preceding the meeting. Teachers shall have the
opportunity to suggest items for agenda. There will be up to one (1) sixty (60)
minute staff meeting per month on a Monday. The Board shall have the ability to
reschedule on another Monday due to inclement weather, The staff meetings
(including the alternative inclement weather Mondays) will be established
annually in the Board calendar, All teachers will also be required to attend up to
six (6) professional in-service workshops per school year from 3:30 p.m. to no
later than 5:00 p.m., which will be scheduled at the Superintendent’s discretion,

Teachers are expected to devote the time necessary to meet their responsibilities
to provide quality education for the children in the School District, which includes
for example, careful daily preparation, attendance at staff meetings, grade level
meetings and conference meetings, and are encouraged to attend H.S.A. meetings
and school sponsored projects. This does not include programs by outside
organizations which have been given permission to use the school.

Teachers who are requested by the Board to make presentations at public Board
meetings shall be granted two (2) consecutive hours of preparation time during
working hours prior to the meeting date for preparation of the requested
presentation and an informal outline of the presentation which is to be submitied
to the Board one week prior to the scheduled meeting. The two hours granted
shall be in addition to any existing scheduled preparation time, Certificated
substitutes shall be provided where necessary.
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Any in-service professional development workshop scheduled after school shall
not exceed one and one-half (1 %) hours, Any in-service professional
development workshop that exceeds 1 % hrs. will be scheduled for a minimum
student day. There is a limit of two (2) minimum student days for the school year,
If staff acquires mote than an average of twenty (20) hours in one year, those
hours can apply to the following year. These hours are those arranged by the
Professional Development Committee.

CUSTODIANS

1.

Each day custodian is to work eight (8) hours, exclusive of lunch hour, per
day, five (5) days per week. The night custodian is to work eight (8)
hours, including dinner hour, to compensate for night shift assignment,
Custodians shall indicate their presence for duty by placing their initials in
the sign-in roster immediately upon arriving to assume their duties. This
procedure is also to be followed at the conclusion of cach work day.

Work performed in excess of eight (8) hours in one day is to be paid at a
rate of time-and-one half. Work performed on Sunday and on holidays is
to be paid at the rate of double time.

Weekend and holiday building check is performed by custodians on a
rotating basis at a remuneration of time~and-one-half for one hour.

For those custodians performing building check whose residence is more
than five (5) miles from the school, an additional remuneration of time-
and-one-half for one half hour shall be paid.

The Board and Association recognize the Board’s right to require that one
custodian be present at all times between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 6:00
p-m. on days when school is in session. In the event that by reason of
absence of one or more of the custodians, there is only one custodian on
duty on a given day, the Superintendent or building principal may require
that the custodian on duty not leave the school building during his/her
lunch hour. However, unless the custodian is required by the principal or
his/her secretary to perform services of an emergency nature, any lunch
hour during which a custodian is required to remain in his/her building
under the provisions of this Paragraph shall not entitle him/her to the
payment of overtime compensation under the provisions of .2. above. In
the event that a custodian is required to perform service of an emergency
nature during such a lunch hour, either his/her lunch hour will be extended
by the amount of time spent in dealing with the emergency or he/she will
be compensated at the overtime rate for the time spent in dealing with
such emergency, in the principal’s discretion. In all cases, the custodian
shall, immediately upon completing such services, report to the building
principal, or, in his/her absence, his/her secretary, the amount of time
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spent by the custodian in performing such services. Nothing contained in
this Paragraph shall be construed so as to permit a custodian to voluntarily
work through his/her lunch period on matters of a non-emergency nature
and thereby entitle him/her to overtime compensation for that hour in the
absence of a direction from the principal or his/her secretary,

Article VI - Work Year

A,

TEACHERS — The in-school work year shall include days when pupils are in
attendance, orientation days, and any other days on which teachers’ attendance is
required. Teachers new to the District shall have one (1) additional day of
orientation which shall immediately precede the work year for pre-existing
professional staff.

The work year shall be one hundred cighty-six (186) days for returning teachers,
one hundred eighty-seven (187) days for newly hired teachers and one hundred
eighty-three (183) days for students. The last scheduled school day in June shall
be reduced for teachers by three (3) hours. Teachers must conclude the check out
procedure in order to leave. The last student days before Thanksgiving and
Christmas recesses shall be four (4) hours each.

CUSTODIANS
1. All custodians shall be eligible for a vacation according to the following:
a. Two weeks vacation (10) days will be granted during each of the

first five (5) years of employment in the Roseland School System,

b. After five (5) years of employment in the Roseland School System,
three (3) weeks paid vacation will be granted.

c. After ten (10) years of employment in the Roseland School
System, four (4) weeks paid vacation will be granted.

d. After ten (10) years of employment in the Roseland School
System, two (2) additional vacation days will be added for every
five (5) years of service.

e. Custodians must take one (1) week vacation consecutively or in
days when school is closed for holiday during the school year.
One (1) week must be taken when school is closed for summer
vacation, Additional accrued vacation time can be taken at the
custodian’s discretion providing three weeks notice for vacation is
given to the school principal.
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All custodians are entitled to twelve (12) paid holidays each year except
when Yom Kippur and Rosh Hashanah should fall on a school day. Then
those days shall be additional holidays.

July 4 Thanksgiving

Labor Day Christmas Day

Rosh Hashanah New Year’s Day

Yom Kippur Lincoln’s Birthday
Columbus Day Washington’s Birthday
Election Day Good Friday

Veterans Day Memorial Day

If any of the aforementioned holidays fall on a day when school is in
session, a lieu day will be granted in accordance with the school calendar.

Upon submission of a request and with prior approval of the
Superintendent, two custodians per year will each be granted one (1)
Professional Day to attend NJEA Convention. Upon return,
documentation of attendance is necessary.

Article VII — Sick Leave and Personal Days

A. PERSONAL ILLNESS

1.

Ten days of absence for ten-month employees and twelve days for twelve-
month employees will be allotted for personal illness, Pati-time
employees shall be granted absence with pay for illness on a pro-rata basis
of number of days employed for the year as compared to full-time
employees. Entitlement of sick days for all new employees shall be on a
pro-rata basis according to their time of hire. Entitlement shall accrue
upon first day of employment each year.

If less than the allotted days for sick leave is used during the school year,
the balance 1s to be accumulated without limitation for use in subsequent
years.

In cases of absence beyond the accumulated sick leave time, a deduction
of 1/200™ of the annual salary for ten-month employees for each day of
absence will be made. In cases of absence beyond the accumulated sick
leave time a deduction of 1/240% of the annual salary for twelve-month
employees for each day of absence will be made. The Board of
Education, at its discretion, may make an exception to this rule.

At the start of each school year, all employees are to receive notification
of their accumulated sick leave.

14



5. Within one day of returning to work after an absence, a “Staff Absent
Report” form (agreed to by both Parties) shall be completed by the
employee and submitted to the building principal. The required form shall
be placed in the employee’s box prior to his/her return.

6. A medical certificate is required when a staff member has been absent five
(5) or more consecutive days.

PERSONAL LEAVE OTHER THAN ILLNESS

This policy shall cover brief absences not chargeable to sick leave or for
professional reasons directly beneficial to the school system. The provisions for
leave at full pay stated below shall be for one year, and no unused days shall be
accumulative for use in another year, except as provided in Paragraph B.2.

1. DEATH/RELIGIOUS - An allowance of up to six (6) days total leave per
year shall be granted. Up to six {6) days may be used for a death in the
immediate family (spouse, father, mother, child, grandchild, grandparent,
brother, sister, step-mother, step-child, step-father or any member of the
immediate household.) Up to three (3) days out of the six (6) total days
may be used for attendance at funerals other than immediate family and
religious holidays.

2, OTHER EMERGENCIES OF PERSONAL NATURE .An allowance of
up to a total of three (3) days leave during the school year. All employees
are required to give at least forty-eight (48) hours notice unless it is
impossible to do so. Personal leave shall not be taken on the day
immediately preceding or following a holiday or vacation period if the
days are being used to extend the vacation. However, if an employee
needs to use a personal day during the above cited period, he or she shall
provide the Superintendent in writing with the reason for such request for
approval with pay. If at the end of the school year any of the three (3)
leave days of a personal nature remain unused, they shall be accumulated
as sick days for use in the next school year.

3. COMPASSIONATE LEAVE — no more than five (5) days may be
accumulated. These days are to be used for immediate family
appointments (medical) or other immediate family emergency. Upon
request, Compassionate Leave days can revert back to sick pool.

4, PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT — The Superintendent may grant
such time, up to one day per instance, for professional development of

staff personnel.

Leave days under this Article shall only be granted for a full working day.

15



C. EXTENDED LEAVES OF ABSENCE-MATERNITY/CHILD CARE

1.

2.

3.

DEFINITION OF LEAVES

Maternity Leave shall be defined as that period of time during a
pregnancy in which the woman is disabled. With a standard
physician’s certificate of disability due to pregnancy, a staff
member shall be entitled to be off the twenty (20) working days
immediately preceding and the twenty working days immediately
following the anticipated date of birth. These days may include
school holidays or recess periods where applicable, but do not
include periods during the summer vacation. The staff member
may be paid for these days, provided she has sufficient annual
and/or accumulated sick days.

If a pregnant staff member incurs disability which exceeds the
norm referred to in the prior paragraph, she may obtain a special
doctor’s certification, explaining the medical necessity for
additional days of absence. Upon provision of such a certificate,
the staff member may be paid for these additional days provided
she has sufficient annual and/or accumulated sick days.

CHILD CARE LEAVE - Application for child leave for the
purpose of caring for a natural or adopted child shall be considered
by the Board of Education up to a two (2) year leave. Employee has
the option not to take the second year of the leave. However, they
are responsible to inform the Superintendent in writing of their
decision by January 1* of the preceding second year.

APPLICATION FOR LEAVES

a.

MATERITY LEAVE — Application shall be made in writing to the
Superintendent. Such application shall contain the desited dates

for beginning and terminating the leave in accordance with Section
4.

CHILD CARE LEAVE — Application shall be made in writing to
the Superintendent. Such application shall contain the reason for
requesting the leave and supporting information regarding the
necessity of having the leave. Application for child care leave
shall be considered by the Board of Education on an individual
basis,

CONDITIONS OF LEAVE
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MATERNITY LEAVE — Nottfication — An employee of the Board
of Education shall notify the Superintendent as soon as she is
pregnant, presenting medical certification of her conditions and
estimated date of birth,

PAYMENT — Maternity leaves shall be granted without pay or
increment.

MEDICAL CERTIFICATION —~ An employee who continues to
work beyond her seventh month of pregnancy must present a
certificate of physical fitness from her physician, including the
estimated date of birth for the child and the date to which the
employee is capable of safely performing her duties.

CHILD CARE LEAVE

NOTIFICATION — An employee of the Board shall notify the
Superintendent as soon as a need for this leave is evident,

PAYMENT - If child care leave is granted, it will be without pay
or increment.

NON-TENURE EMPLOYEE — Leaves for non-tenure employees
under this Article need only be granted to the end of the contract
year.

RETURNING FROM LEAVE

In accordance with 29 C.F.R.825.214 and N.I.S.A. 34:11b-7,
Employee’s returning from approved leave pursuant to the Family
and Medical Leave Act and/or the New Jersey Family Leave Act
will be restored to the position they held when the leave
commenced or to an equivalent position of like terms and
conditions of employment.

DURATION OF LEAVES

After the employee presents application for either/or both leaves
under this Article, mutual agreement shall then be reached with the
Superintendent, in writing, on the date of beginning the leave and
the date of the employee’s return.

The dates beginning the leave may be determined mutually with

the Superintendent according to the mother’s needs, in the case of
maternity leave. In the case of an employee who adopts a child for
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D.

E.

F.

whom the employee will have direct and major responsibility for
rearing, child care leave may be granted upon receiving defacto
custody of the child or earlier if necessary in order to fulfill the
requirements for adoption.

6. APPLICATION FOR EARLY RETURN

If unusual conditions prevail, the employee may apply, on
recommendation of the Superintendent, with a doctor’s written approval,
to the Board, for permission to return to a position for which the employee
qualifies, prior to the termination of the period for which leave was
granted. It is understood, however, that the Board in its discretion may or
may not grant permission for change of the original agreed upon term of
the leave.

Applicability of State and Federal Family Leave Acts

Employees covered by this Agreement are eligible for leaves of absence under the
provisions of the New Jersey Family Leave Act and the Federal Family and
Medical Leave Act. These leaves are without pay unless the employees have paid
days available to them under other provisions of this Article applicable to these
statutes,

The Board may grant a leave of absence without compensation in accordance with
Board Policy 4431.

Teachers returning in September from leave of absence (Policy No. 4431) or
Family Leave, Maternity Leave, shall inform the Superintendent in writing of
their intentions to return by January 1%

Article VIII — Employee and Association Rights

A,

B.

Whenever any teacher is required to appear before the Board or any committee or
member thereof concerning any matter which could adversely affect the
continuation of the teacher in his/her office, position or employment or the salary
of any increment pertaining thereto, then he/she shall be given prior written notice
of the reasons for such meeting or interview and shall have the right to present
his/her own appeal or designate representatives of his/her own choosing to appear
with him/her.

The Association and its representatives shall have the right to use school building
for meetings at hours when custodians are normally on duty. The amount of time
used by a custodian to attend an Association meeting during his/her regular work
day is to be made up on said day. The principal shall be notified at least 24 hours
in advance of the time and place of all such meetings.
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The Association shall have the right to use school mailboxes as it deems
necessary. The Association shall have the right to use copy machines after
gaining the approval of building principals or other members of the
administration. Approval shall not be unreasonably withheld.

The Association shall have use of a bulletin board in the faculty room and the
custodial room. The Association shall also be assigned adequate space on the
bulletin board in the Central Office for Association notices. The location of
Association bulletin boards in each room shall be designated by the Association.
Copies of all materials to be posted on such bulletin boards shall be given to the
building principal, but no approval shall be required.

Regarding any matter which would adversely affect the continuation of a
custodian in employment, position or salary, or an increment pettaining thereto,
the custodian shall be given prior written notice of the reasons for such action and
opportunity for hearing before the action is final.

Nothing contained herein shall be construed to deny or restrict any custodian from
such rights as may exist under the laws of the State of New Jersey. The rights
granted to custodians hereunder shall be deemed to be in addition to those
provided by law.

Article IX — Tuition Reimbursement for Advanced Study

A,

ELIGIBILITY — Any teacher employed in the Roseland School System and
enrolled at a duly authorized institution of higher education as defined by N.J.S.A,
18A:3-15.3 for the purpose of graduate study in a course or degree related to the
teacher’s current or future job responsibilities. All tuition reimbursement must be
in accordance with State law.

APPROVAL — All courses and programs for advance study to be reimbursed
under this policy must have prior approval of the Superintendent.

REIMBURSEMENT DEFINED — Reimbursement shall be for the cost of tuition
and registration fees to a maximum based upon tuition and registration fees at
Montclair State University. A part-time faculty member’s allowance shall be
prorated according to the same formula of his/her salary, ¢.g. a part-time teacher
receiving 3/5’s full salary shall receive 3/5°s of the reimbursement allowance.
Under the provisions of this Article, a part-time teacher employed five (5) days
per week at a minimum of twenty (20) hours shall be considered full-time. The
pool will consist of $20,000 per year. Faculty members taking courses to comply
with the provisions of Article IX, Paragraph E4, shall be given preference in
allocating these funds., No reimbursement shall be made for the cost of books.

REQUIREMENT — Teachers shall receive reimbursement contingent upon the
following conditions:
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1. Proof of satisfactory completion of approved course with “B” or better;
and

2. Proof of tuition payment must be submitted to the school’s Superintendent
within the school’s fiscal year and must be submitted immediately after
the completion of each course,

3. Effective July 1, 20135, all employees receiving tuition reimbursement
agree to continue employment for at least (2) years following receipt of
payment, or shall repay said amount, and shall indemnify the Board for the
collection costs if it must pursue collection. If the employee is non-
renewed or terminated, there is no repayment obligation.

GENERAL

1. Courses taken for certification shall be eligible for reimbursement.

2. Undergraduate courses shall not be eligible for reimbursement except in
those instances where no graduate courses are offered within a reasonable
distance.

3. Courses shall be taken at a time that does not conflict with school duties or
hours.

4. The Board of Education may request teachers who have not earned a

Masters Degree or equivalency (BA:+30) to successfully complete
graduate coutses amounting to at least 6 credits over a 3 year period.

TIME AND MANNER OF REIMBURSEMENT

The tuition reimbursement program shall operate in a manner consistent with the
School District’s fiscal year of July 1 through June 30. All courses taken during
the summer, fall, and spring semesters (final grade must be in by June 5) shall be
submitted and approved prior to the commencement of the course. Evidence of
satisfactory completion of the course should be submitted as soon as available.
Upon receipt of evidence of successful completion from all teachers taking
approved courses during the spring semester, the Board will reimburse all
teachers simultaneously in accordance with the above program. If the total
number of approved courses and/or other professional development opportunities,
as contained in the teacher’s P.D.P, exceeds the pool, then each teacher will be
reimbursed the equivalent pro-rata cost per credit completed, up to the individual
maximum of the pool. In no event shall the total annual reimbursement exceed
the pool.

The Board shall reimburse custodians for the fee and/or renewal of boiler
licenses.
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Article X — Work Clothes

A, The Board shall provide each custodian with five (5) uniforms and summer tee
shirts per year. Custodians shall be responsible for cleaning and care of the
uniforms. Custodians are expected to wear the uniforms each work day. The
Board shall provide two (2) pair of work shoes each year. The Superintendent, at
his/her discretion, may authorize a third pair as need requires.

B. Two sets of rain gear have been purchased for the building. Said gear is to remain
the property of the Roseland Board of Education and shall be replaced as needed.

C. A winter jacket will be furnished each custodian in the first year of employment
and every third year thercafter.

D. Two pair of work gloves will be furnished each custodian, if needed, each year.

E. As needed, one pair of foul weather boots will be furnished each custodian every
three years, '

Article XI — Professional Improvement

In accordance with N.J.A.C. 6:11-13, the Association and the Board pledge to cooperate through
the local district professional development committee in forming the District professional
development program in accordance with the standards established by the State Professional
Teaching Standards Board and Commissioner of Education.

The Board shall provide in-service professional development programs which shall be
cooperatively planned to meet priorities jointly determined by the Association and the
administration. Professional development programs shall be conducted after school hours, All
teachers are required to complete one-hundred (100} clock hours of approved Professional
Development every five (5) years in accordance with the timelines and standards set forth in
NJ.A.C, 6A:9-152.

When necessary for professional improvement a teacher, with prior approval from the
Superintendent, may attend an appropriate workshop or seminar. Upon evidence of completion
of the workshop or seminar, the teacher will be reimbursed the registration fee,

Mentoring of Provisional and Alternate Route Teachers

1. All vacancies for mentoring positions shall be posted as early as the District is
aware of its needs. The postings shall include the qualifications for the position.

2. No teacher shall be assigned to serve as a mentor if there are qualified volunteers
available.
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Only tenured teachers shall serve as mentors.

Those teachers acting as mentors for individuals obtaining certification via the
alternate route shall receive the amount provided for by state funding.

Those teachers acting as mentors for individuals obtaining certification via the
provisional route shall receive the amount provided for by state funding.

Article XTI Emplovee Evaluation

Al

B.

C.

D.

Employees have the right to adequate and constructive supetvision by the
appropriate administrator.

Employees must be punctual and responsible to their assignment throughout the
year and, when they are not, they are to be notified by their immediate supervisor.

Employee performance shall be evaluated in the light of all evidence pertinent to
the discharge of their responsibilities.

Procedure for evaluation for employees shall be as specified by applicable law
and Commissioner of Education regulations.

Article XTIT — Reassignments

A,

B.

C.

D.

No later than May 1 of each school year, the Superintendent shall post a list of
official vacancies expected to occur during the following school year.

Teachers who desire a change in grade and/or subject assignment may file a
written statement of such desire with the Superintendent no later than May 15™

In determining the requests for reassignment, the wishes of the individual teacher
shall be considered to the extent that the transfer does not conflict with the
instructional requirements and best interests of the school system as determined
by the administration and authorized by the Board.

Posting new assignments will be on May 1%, Teachers are required to notify
Superintendent in writing of their interest in a new assignment by May 15% On
June 1%, teachers will receive a letter which will inform them of their assignment
and salary schedule.
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Article X1V — Subsequent Negotiations Procedure

A,

DEADLINE DATE

The Parties agree to enter into collective negotiations over a successor Agreement
in accordance with Chapter 123, Public Laws of 1974 in good faith effort to reach
agreement on all matters concerning the terms and conditions of employees’
employment. Such negotiations shall begin no later than October 1% of the
calendar year preceding the calendar year in which this Agreement expires. Any
Agreement so negotiated shall apply to all members of the bargaining unit, be
reduced to writing, be signed by the Board and the Association, and be adopted by
the Board.

MEETINGS
All meetings between the Parties shall be regularly scheduled whenever possible

to take place when the employees involved are free from assigned responsibilities,
unless otherwise agreed.

Article XV — Board Richts

A,

The Board, on its own behalf and on behalf of the electors of the District, hereby
retains and reserves unto itself all powers, rights, authority, duties and
responsibilities conferred upon and vested in it by the laws and the Constitution of
the State of New Jersey and of the United States.

The provisions of this Agreement shall be construed in the light of the
management prerogatives vested in the Board by foregoing legal authorities.

The Board will conduct its routine, annual discussion of staffing for the ensuing

year between October-May 15. All discussions will be conducted privately,
unless an individual requests otherwise.
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Article XVI — Entire Agreement

THIS AGREEMENT incorporates the entire understanding of the Parties on all issues covered
and provided for herein, and during the term of this Agreement, neither Party shall be required to
re-negotiate concerning said issues for the period covered herein.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Parties hereto have caused this Agreement to be executed by
their duly authorized officers on the date and year aforesaid.

FOR THE BOARD FOR THE ASSOCIATION
Pulin Faf—
_ sk C&o&lﬁwm}o ¢ / ’
President A Presiden
Paul Mastrangelo

A=

(ﬁeﬂétary
Jason Bohm
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NOTES RELATED TO SCHEDULE “A”, SCHEDULE “B” AND SCHEDULE “C”
SALARY GUIDES FOR 2015-2016-2017 AND 2017-2018

The following procedures augment the provisions of ARTICLE II COMPENSATION and are to
be applied in determining eligibility for longevity pay and lateral movement on salary guides A,
B, and C.

1. Changes in position on the salary guide may be made up to June 30.

2. Eligibility for lateral movement on the salary guide may not be granted to undergraduate
courses even if tuition reimbursement has been granted.

3. Lateral movement on the guide shall be limited to:
a. graduate courses
b. undergraduate courses which will lead to special certification granted by the New
Jersey State Department of Education.
C. undergraduate courses taken wherever and whenever graduate courses are

unavailable within a reasonable distance

4, No one will be placed on or beyond the M.A. column unless a Masters Degree has been
earned. An equivalency will place the teacher on the BA-+30 step.

5. Longevity increments shall be granted after 14, 19 and 24 years of service in the
Roseland School System. For teachers and custodians, please refer to the following chart
for the sequencing of payments:

14 yrs. 19 yrs. 24 yrs.
2015-2016 $900 $2,800 $4,000
2016-2017 $900 $2,800 $4,000
2017-2018 $900 $2,800 $4,000

For part-time teachers, longevity entitlement shall be prorated on basis of salary.

6. The following guidelines shall apply in determining an individual’s eligibility for
longevity stipends:

a. Only time spent as a teacher in the District will count toward eligibility
b. If a teacher worked as a substitute for one hundred (100) days in any of

his/her years of service, such years shall be counted on a pro-rata basis
(see below) towards eligibility.
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All service as a teacher in the District will count toward eligibility,
whether consecutive or not, with the following exception: If an individual
voluntarily quits, but is subsequently rehired by the Board of Education,
time counting toward eligibility must occur within the following
consecutive spans:

14 years longevity within 18 years
19 years longevity within 23 years
24 years longevity within 28 years

Partial years and less than full time service will be pro-rated. Partial years
will count as fractions of years for time eligibility. Less than full time
service will be prorated by applying the fraction of the salary to the
stipend.

Once a stipend is awarded, it is locked in, A subsequent longevity step
will be calculated anew.

Employees hired after July 1, 2012 are not eligible for a longevity stipend.
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ROSELAND TEACHER SALARY GUIDE

Step = BA
1 48,685 !
2 49,485 |
3 50,485
4 51,485 .
5 52,485
6 53,485
7 54,485
8 56,485
9 56,485
10 58,485 -
11 60,485 |
12 62,485
13 64,985 .
14 67,985
15 71,985
16 77,985
17

SCHEDULE “A” SALARY GUIDE -2015-2016

89,144

2015-2016
BA+30

BA+15

50,685
51,485

52,485

53,485 -

54,485

| 55,485
56,485
57,485
58,485 |
60,485 '

62,485
64,485

66,985

69,985
73,985 :
79,085 -

91,144

52,685 :

53,485
54,485
55,485
56,485

57,485 -
58,485 -
59,485 -

60,485

62,485
64,485
66,485
68,985

71,985

75,985

81,985

93,144 -

MA

54,685

55,485
56,485
57,485
58,485

59,485
60,485

61,485
62,485
64,485
66,485

68,485 .

70,985

73,985

77,985

83,085
95,144 :

MA+15

56,685
57,485
58 485

59,485
60,485

61,485
62,485
63,485

64,485
166,485
68,485

70,485

72,985

75,985

79,085
85,985

97,144

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION

initiative, industry and proficiency within the program area.

This salary guide format is effective July 1, 2009, and shall continue as format for any successor

agreement salary guide.
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 MA+30

58,685
59,485
60,485
61,485

62,485
63,485

64,485

65,485 .

66,485

68,485 :
70,485

72,485
74,985

77,985
81,985
87,985 |
99,144

GUIDE FOR THE ADMINISTRATION OF
SALARIES RECOMMENDED MOTION: - That the following guide for the administration of
salaries for teachers shall become effective July 1, 2015 and shall supersede all guides previously
adopted for teachers. This guide shall be regarded as a statement of policy to be followed so far
as practicable in fixing salaries, but not as a contract. Due consideration in determining salary
progression in accordance with the guide will be based on demonstrated teaching ability,




ROSELAND TEACHER SALARY GUIDE

- 2016-2017

Step BA - BA+15 - BA+30 MA  MA+15  MA+30
1 49,353 51,353 53,353 55353 57,353 59,353 :
2 50153 52,153 54,153 56,153 58,153 ' 60,153 -
3 51,153 ° 53,153 55153 57,153 59,153 61,153
4 52,153 54,153 56,153 58,153 : 60,153 62,153 .
5 53,153 55153 = 67,153 | 59,153 61,153 63,153
6 54153 56,153 58,153 60,153 62,153 64,153
7 55,153 57,153 59,153 61,153 63,153 = 65,153
8 56,153 58,153 60,153 . 62,153 64,153 66,153
9 57,153 59,153 - 61,153 63,153 65153 67,153
10 59,153 . 61,153 = 63,153 - 65153 67,153 69,153
11 61,153 68,153 ' 65153 67,153 69,153 . 71,153
12 63,153 | 65153 67,153 69,153 71,153 ' 73,153
13 65653' 67,653 69,653 71,653. 73,653 75,653
14 68,653 70,653 72,653 74,653 76,653 78,653 :
15 72,653 . 74,653 76,653 78,653 80,653 82,653
16 78,653 - 80,653 82,653 . 84,653 86,653 88,653

 16A 84,232 86,232 88,232 90,232 92,232 94,232
17 89,812 91,812 93812 95812 97,812 99,812

SCHEDULF “B” SALARY GUIDE - 2016-2017

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION - GUIDE FOR THE ADMINISTRATION OF
SALARIES RECOMMENDED MOTION: - That the following guide for the administration of
salaries for teachers shall become effective July 1, 2015 and shall supersede all guides previously
adopted for teachers. This guide shall be regarded as a statement of policy to be followed so far
as practicable in fixing salaries, but not as a contract. Due consideration in determining salary
progression in accordance with the guide will be based on demonstrated teaching ability,
initiative, industry and proficiency within the program area.

This salary guide format is effective July 1, 2009, and shall continue as format for any successor
agreement salary guide.
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ROSELAND TEACHER SALARY GUIDE

: . 2017-2018 . |
Step BA  BA+15  BA+30 MA  MA+15 MA+30
12 50520 52529 54,529 56,529 58529 60,529
3 51,520 53520 55529 67,528 59,529 61,529

4 52,520 54,529 56,520 58,529 60,529 . 62,529
5 53520 55520 57,529 50,520 61529 63,529
6 54529, 56520 58520 60,529 62,520 64,529
7 55529 57,529 59,520 61,529 63,520 65,529
8 56,529 ° 58,520 60,529 62,529 64,529 66,529 -
9 57,520 = 59,520 61,529 63,5291 65529 67,529

10 59,529 ' 61,529 63,529 65520 67,529 69,529
1 5 61,529 63,529 I 65529 67,529 69,529 - 71,529
12~ 63520 65520, 67,529 69,520 71,529 73,529
13 66,020 68,020 70,029 72,029 74,029 76,029
14 69020 71020 73020 75020 77,029 79,029 |
15 73,029 75029 77,029 79,029 81,029 83,029
16 79,029, 81,020 83029 85020 87,029 89,029
16A 84,608 86,608 88,608 90,608 92,608 94,608
17 90,188 . 92,188 94,188 96,188 . 98,188 100,188 |

SCHEDULE “C” SALARY GUIDE - 2017-2018

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION - GUIDE FOR THE ADMINISTRATION OF
SALARIES RECOMMENDED MOTION: - That the following guide for the administration of
salaries for teachers shall become effective July 1, 2015 and shall supersede all guides previously
adopted for teachers. This guide shall be regarded as a statement of policy to be followed so far
as practicable in fixing salaries, but not as a contract. Due consideration in determining salary
progression in accordance with the guide will be based on demonstrated teaching ability,
initiative, industry and proficiency within the program area.

This salary guide format is effective July 1, 2009, and shall continue as format for any successor
agreement salary guide.
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