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I.  PREAMBLE
 
 This Agreement between the County of Atlantic, (hereinafter referred to as the Employer) 

and Local 1040 of the Communications Workers of America AFL/CIO (hereinafter referred to as 

the Union), is the final and complete understanding between the Employer and the Union on all 

bargainable issues and as such, will serve to promote and maintain a harmonious relationship 

between the Employer and those of its employees who are subject to this Agreement in order that 

more efficient and progressive public service is rendered. 

The Employer and the Union recognize their respective responsibilities under Federal and 

State laws relating to fair employment practices.  The Employer and the Union agree that the 

working environment shall be characterized by mutual respect for the common dignity to which 

all individuals are entitled.  It is also agreed that verbal/physical harassment of an employee is 

inappropriate. 
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II.  RECOGNITION AND SCOPE 

 
 
 SECTION 1:  The Employer hereby recognizes the Union as the sole and exclusive 

representative for all full time and regular part time employees under this agreement for the 

purpose of collective negotiations pursuant to the New Jersey Employer - Employer Relations 

Act (N.J.S.A. 34:13A-1 at. Seq.) concerning wages, hours and other terms and conditions of 

employment in the negotiating unit described below: 

A. Included:  All full time and regular part time administrative supervisors  

employed by Atlantic County in the Facilities Management and Supported Employment Division 

including but not limited to the following titles: 

TITLE          GRADE    BASE SALARY 

Employment Specialist  C    $29,500 

Office Services Manager  B    $27,000 

Training Aide    A    $25,000 

Maintenance Superintendent  F    $38,000 

Maintenance Supervisor  E    $36,000 

Assistant Program Analyst  C    $29,500 

Supervisor, HVAC   E    $36,000 

Senior Accountant   D    $32,500 

Building Supervisor   E    $36,000 

Assistant Supervisor, HVAC  D    $32,500 

 Effective January 1, 2006 the start salaries for the following positions shall be increased 

as follows: 

Supervisor, HVAC       $38,500 

Maintenance Supervisor      $38,500 

Building Supervisor       $38,500 

Maintenance Superintendent      $40,500   

B. Excluded: 

Managerial Executives, confidential employees, non-supervisors within the meaning of the Act; 

non professional employees, police, craft employees, casual employees, chief of administrative 
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services, confidential aide/capital planning manager and all other employees employed by the 

County of Atlantic. 

 SECTION 2:  Unless otherwise indicated, the terms “employee” and “employees” when 

used in this agreement refer to all persons represented by the Union in the above-defined 

negotiating unit. 

SECTION 3:  The content of job descriptions shall not be negotiated and shall be the 

Employer’s prerogative in accordance with the rules promulgated by the New Jersey Department 

of Personnel.  Failure of the Employer and the Union to agree on the placement of any additional 

titles within the bargaining unit shall be resolved by the Public Employees Relations 

Commission (PERC); however, any such procedure shall not delay the filing of the petition and 

the payment of the employee(s) serving therein by the Employer. 
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III. DUES AND REPRESENTATION FEES 

 

A. The Employer agrees to deduct the Union dues from the salaries of its employees. 

Subject to this Agreement, such deductions shall be made in compliance with N.J.S.A. 34:13A-1 

et. seq. and members shall be eligible to withdraw such authority during January and July of each 

year as prescribed by law.  

B. The deductions of full dues shall be made only for each employee who 

individually requests, in writing, that such deductions be made.  

C. The Employer further agrees to deduct, in accordance with P.L. 1979, Chapter  

477, as it relates to the Agency Shop provisions, from the pay of each employee covered by the 

Agreement who does not furnish a written authorization for deduction of Union dues, a 

representation fee equal to 85% of the Union dues, as may be certified to the Employer by the 

Union at least thirty (30) days prior to the month in which the deduction of dues is to be made, 

commencing ninety (90) days after the date of hire of such employee. However, in the event of 

rehire, such dues shall commence after thirty (30) days of rehire.  

D. The amounts to be deducted shall be certified to the Employer by the Union and  

aggregate deduction of all employees shall be remitted to the Union, c/o Communications 

Workers of America, Secretary/Treasurer, 501 Third Street, NW, Washington, DC 20001-2797 

by the tenth (10th) day of the month following the calendar month in which said deductions are 

made, together with a list of names and the amount of the deduction. 

E. The Union shall indemnify, defend and hold the Employer harmless against any 

and all claims, demand, suits or other forms of liability that may arise out of or by reason of 

action taken by the Employer in reliance upon official notification on the letterhead of the Union 

of such deductions.  
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IV.  NON-DISCRIMINATION 

 

 The Employer and the Union duly understand and agree that there shall be no 

discrimination against any employee because of age, sex, marital status, race, color, religion, 

sexual preference, statutorily protected handicap/disability, national origin, political affiliation, 

union membership, or protected legal union activity. 
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V.  ADDITIONAL DEFINITIONS

 

A. All references to employees in the Agreement designate both sexes, and whenever  

either gender is used, it shall be construed to include male and female employees. 

B. The term “holiday” means any day so designated under the Article concerning  

holidays herein or a day especially designated by the Employer herein. An unfair practice is any 

action of either party as defined in the Amendments of Chapter 303, Public Laws of New Jersey 

or the Laws of 1968. 
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VI.  MANAGEMENT RIGHTS 

 

 SECTION 1:  It is mutually understood and agreed that the Employer retains all 

traditional management prerogatives, including but not limited to hiring, suspending, 

disciplining, discharging for just cause, promoting, transferring and scheduling; determining the 

standards of service; taking necessary actions in emergencies; determining the standards of 

selection for employment; maintaining the efficiency of its operations determining the methods, 

means and personnel by which its operations are to be conducted; and to contract or subcontract. 

SECTION 2:  The prerogative of management concerning hiring, mentioned in Section 1 

set forth above, includes the right to recognize prior experience for similar employment in a 

similar position before employment by the Employer. 
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VII.  UNION RIGHTS 

 
A. Agents of the Union who are or are not employees of the County, shall be 

permitted to visit job sites and work locations for the purpose of discussing Union matters so 

long as such visitations do not interfere with the general operation of the Employer.  The Union 

shall provide the Employer with the names of duly authorized agents who may require such 

access and wherever possible, such agents shall provide advance notice to the Employer. Subject 

to availability, and provided that requests have been made pursuant to this paragraph, such Union 

official shall have the opportunity to consult with employees in the unit, in a room provided by 

the County. 

The County shall provide at its sole cost and expense a bulletin board in the main work 

location. Bulletin boards shall be a standard 20 by 30.  Access shall be limited to the union’s 

designated shop stewards who shall be responsible for the posting and removal of materials 

relating to union business and events such as the following: 

a. Union elections and the results thereof; 

b.  Union appointments; 

c.   Union meetings; 

d. Social and recreational events of the Union; 

e. Reports of official Union business and achievements. 

No profane, obscene or defamatory materials nor election campaign materials shall be posted. 

The County shall have the right to remove inappropriate materials but shall notify Union shop 

stewards as soon as practical following the removal.    

B. The County will give release time with pay for a total of eight (8) days a year in 

the aggregate for Union matters.  Such time may be taken in 1 hour increments.  Emergent                  
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requests made for good cause not less than one (1) day prior to the requested leave shall not          

be unreasonably denied. 

C.  Any employee who is a member of the Union and who is legally elevated to an 

official full-time position in the parent union, may request a leave of absence for up to six (6) 

months to attend to his/her official duties.  The request shall be in writing and shall give the dates 

of the leave.  Approval shall be required from the Department Head and the Appointing 

Authority and shall not be unreasonably denied. 

Only one unit employee may be on such leave at a time. 
 

If the leave is for 4 to 6 months, the employee shall confirm in writing to the County 

his/her intent to return to County employment as of the date indicated in the leave request, at 

least 75 days prior to the return date. 

D.   The Union has the sole right and discretion to designate shop stewards and chief 

shop stewards and specify their respective responsibilities within the Union.  The County has the 

sole right and discretion to direct the activities of shop stewards during working hours and 

coordinate the timing of the union activities listed below:  The County further agrees the properly 

designated shop stewards and chief shop stewards and union negotiators may conduct union 

business on County time without loss of pay in the following instances: 

 
1. If the employee so requests, one steward may accompany an employee to a  

meeting, conference or hearing concerning a disciplinary matter.  Such meetings, conferences or 

hearings shall be mutually scheduled by the Employer and the Union. 

2. Mutually scheduled negotiation sessions. 
 

3. Investigation of grievances up to one hour maximum. 
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4. Mutually scheduled grievance hearings. 
 

5. Mutually scheduled labor/management meeting. 
 

The designated union representative in all the above instances must provide reasonable 

notification to his/her supervisor when he/she wishes to transact such union business on County 

time.  The supervisor shall grant such requests so long as the operation of the County will not be 

adversely affected. 

 
E. The County will provide the union quarterly with a list of all employees with a 

date of hire, title social security number, address, and sex.   The union may request such a list 

more frequently as may be necessary. 
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VIII.  NO STRIKE/NO LOCKOUT 

 

 SECTION 1:  During the term of this Agreement, the Union agrees that its goals and 

purposes are such that it does not condone strikes or threats thereof by bargaining unit employees 

or work stoppages, slowdowns, or any such action which would interfere with service to the 

public or violate the constitution or laws of the State of New Jersey; and the Union and the 

employees agree that they will not initiate or participate in such activities, nor encourage 

members of the unit to initiate or participate in the same. 

 

SECTION 2:  The Employer agrees that there shall be no lockout of employees during the 

term of this Agreement. 

IX.  DISCIPLINE 

 
A. General Concepts. 

  1. Discipline, whether major or minor, shall only be imposed for “just cause” 

and shall be progressive in nature.  It is understood that more serious offenses may result in more 

severe penalties. 

  2. The employer will take steps to the extent possible to impose discipline in 

such a way to avoid undue embarrassment to the employee and to avoid disciplining in front of 

the public or other employees. 

  3. The employer shall provide a copy of any disciplinary notice/disciplinary 

action, including all necessary paperwork to the employee, the local union representative and to 

the local union office located at 230 Parkway Avenue, Trenton, NJ 08618.   

B. Major Discipline. 

  1. Major discipline includes the following: 

   (a) Suspension of more than five (5) days on any one occasion; 
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   (b) Suspensions which total more than fifteen (15) days in the 

   aggregate in any one calendar year; 

   (c) Demotions; 

   (d) Removal. 

  2. Major Disciplinary Process. 

(a) Major disciplinary action shall be commenced by the employer 

serving the employee with a Preliminary Notice of Disciplinary Action 

which shall set forth the charges and the Statement of Facts supporting the 

charges (specifications). 

(b) The employee shall have a right to a departmental hearing in 

accordance with N.J.A.C. 4A:2-2.5.  Such a hearing shall be requested in 

writing by the affected employee or by the local union representatives on 

the employee’s behalf within 5 calendar days of the employee’s receipt of 

the Preliminary Notice of Disciplinary Action, otherwise the departmental 

hearing will be deemed to have been waived and the appointing authority 

may then issue a Final Notice of Disciplinary Action. 

(c)  A departmental hearing, if requested, shall be held within thirty 

(30) days of the Preliminary Notice of Disciplinary Action or at such later 

date as may be agreed to in writing by the parties.  Hearings shall be held 

before the Human Resources Director or such other employer designated 

representative and shall be held in accordance with the requirements of 

N.J.A.C. 4A:2-2.6.   
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The hearing officer’s decision along with a Final Notice of Disciplinary 

Action shall be served by the Department Head upon the employee by 

either personal service or by certified mail, return receipt requested, within 

twenty (20) days of the conclusion of the departmental hearing.  A copy of 

the hearing officer’s decision and the Final Notice of Disciplinary Action 

shall also be sent by the Department Head to the employee’s union 

representative, or attorney, by regular mail. 

(d) Discovery.   The employee shall be entitled to discovery which  

shall consist of the following: 

(i)  A copy of the charges and specifications; 

(ii) A copy of all statements or other evidence which the 

employer intends to rely upon at the hearing; 

(iii) The name of all witnesses who will testify for the employer 

at the hearing.  The employee or the employee’s attorney or union 

representative shall submit all discovery requests in writing to the 

requisite Department Head with a copy to County Counsel not less 

than ten (10) days prior to the scheduled hearing date.  If such a 

request is not made within that time frame, the union shall waive 

its right to object to the introduction of the evidence other than on 

relevancy grounds.   

The County shall be entitled to reciprocal discovery by forwarding 

a written request to the employee or the employee’s attorney or  

union representative at least ten (10) days prior to the scheduled  
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hearing date.  The County, upon forwarding such a request, shall  

be entitled to know the names of any witnesses the employee  

intends to produce at the hearing, including any statements that  

have been secured as well  as any documentary evidence the 

employee intends to rely upon at the hearing.  In the event the 

County fails to exercise its request for discovery in timely fashion,  

then the County shall waive its rights to object to the introduction  

of the evidence at the hearing other than on relevancy grounds.  In  

the event that either the employee or the County fails to fully  

respond to a timely discovery request, then the hearing officer may  

preclude the non-responsive party from introducing the evidence at  

the hearing. 

(e) Appeals.  An employee may appeal from a Final Notice of  

Disciplinary Action by filing a Notice with the Merit System Board of the  

New Jersey Department of Personnel. 

 Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 4A:2-2.8, such an appeal must be filed 

within twenty (20) days of receipt of the Final Notice of Disciplinary  

Action.  The appeal process shall be governed by the Merit System Board  

Rules and Regulations currently found in N.J.A.C. 4A:2-2.8 through 4A:2- 

2.9.   

 C. Minor Discipline. 

  1. Minor discipline shall consist of the following: 

   (a) All suspensions of five (5) days or less; 
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   (b) Official written reprimands. 

  2. Appeals of Minor Discipline. 

(a) Appeals of minor discipline shall be handled exclusively through 

the grievance process as set forth in Article X entitled “Grievance  

Procedure.” 

(b) Non-permanent employees (excepting probationary employees)  

shall be limited in appealing disciplinary actions to the third step of the  

grievance process but shall be precluded from arbitration. 

(c)  Appeals of minor discipline shall be subject to the same discovery  

procedures as set forth in Section B(2)(d) of this Article. 
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X.  GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE 

A. PURPOSE 

  1. The purpose of this procedure is to secure, at the lowest possible level, 

equitable solutions to the problems which may arise affecting the terms and conditions of 

employment.  The parties agree that this procedure will be kept as informal as may be 

appropriate. 

2. Nothing herein contained shall be construed as limiting the right of any  

employee having a grievance, to discuss the matter informally with any appropriate member of 

Administration.  Any adjustments made as result of such discussion shall not be in conflict with 

the terms of this Agreement. 

 

B. DEFINITIONS 

1. A contractual grievance, for the purposes of and within the meaning of this  

Agreement, shall be defined as breach, misinterpretation, improper application, or non-

application of the terms and conditions set forth within the language of this Agreement. 

2. A non-contractual grievance for the purposes of and within the meaning of  

this Agreement shall be defined as a breach, misinterpretation, improper application, or non-

application of all policies, procedures, rules, and regulations, as well as those specific 

management rights noted herein as may be practice and/or adopted by the County during the life 

of this Agreement. 

 

C. PRESENTATION OF A GRIEVANCE 

The Employer agrees that in the presentation of a grievance there shall be no loss of pay 

for the time spent in presenting the grievance by the grievant and Union Shop Steward who is an 
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employee of the County throughout the grievance procedure.  It is understood and agreed that if 

available, private space shall be provided by the Employer for the prior discussion of a grievance. 

D. STEPS OF THE GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE 

The following constitutes the sole and exclusive method for resolving grievances between 

the parties covered by this Agreement: 

 

STEP ONE 

3. The grievant through the shop steward and/or Local Union Representative  

must file the grievance on the approved grievance form with the employee’s Division Director or 

designee within ten (10) working days of  when the employee knew of, or could have reasonably 

been expected to know of a grievable occurrence, whichever occurred first.  The Division 

Director or designee shall then have ten (10) working days to respond in writing to the Shop 

Steward and/or Local Union Representative.  Failure to respond shall constitute a denial of the 

grievance and the grievant may proceed to Step 2. 

4. Step Two.  If the grievance has not been resolved in Step One, the  

grievant, through the Shop Steward and/or Local Union Representative shall, in writing, present 

the grievance to the Department Head or designee within 10 working days of the receipt by the 

Shop Steward and/or Local Union Representative of the written response in Step One, or within 

10 working days of the time allotted for the written response if none is issued.  Failure of the 

Shop Steward and/or Local Union Representative to act within this time shall constitute an 

abandonment of the grievance.  The Department Head shall have 10 working days to respond in 

writing to the Shop Steward and/or Local Union Representative about the grievance.  Failure to 

respond shall constitute a denial of the grievance and the grievant may proceed to Step 3. 

5. Step Three.  If the grievance has not been resolved in Step Two, the  
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grievant, through the Shop Steward and/or Local Union Representative shall, in writing, present 

the grievance to the Third Step Hearing Officer within 10 working days of the receipt by the 

Shop Steward and/or Local Union Representative of the written response in Step Two, or within 

10 working days of the time allotted for the written response if none is issued.  Failure of the 

Shop Steward and/or Local Union Representative to act within this time shall constitute an 

abandonment of the grievance.  The Third Step Hearing Officer shall have 10 working days to 

respond in writing to the Shop Steward and/or Local Union Representative or schedule a hearing.  

The hearing may be waived, or rescheduled, if mutually agreed in writing.  The Third Step 

Hearing Officer shall issue a written decision within 10 working days of the receipt of the 

grievance or 20 working days after the hearing if there is one.  Failure to so respond shall 

constitute a denial of the grievance. 

6. Only B-1 grievances may be appealed to arbitration.  The union must file  

the request for arbitration within 10 working days after receipt of the Step 3 decision.  Nothing in 

this Agreement shall be construed as compelling the Union to submit a grievance to arbitration or 

to represent an employee before the State Department of Personnel. 

The arbitrator shall be selected from a panel of arbitrators maintained by the Public 

Employment Relations Commission, in accordance with the Commission’s selection  

procedures. 

 

The decision or award of the arbitrator shall be final and binding on the Employer, the 

Union and the grievant or grievants to the extent permitted by and in accordance with applicable 

law and this Agreement. 
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The arbitrator shall not have the power to add to, subtract from, or modify the provisions 

of this Agreement and shall confine his/her decision solely to the interpretation and application 

of this Agreement. 

The cost of the services of the arbitrator shall be borne equally by both parties.  Any other 

expenses incurred in connection with the arbitration shall be paid by the party incurring same.  

The cost of the transcript, if any, will be borne by the party requesting it.  If both parties request a 

transcript, the cost will be shared equally.  The arbitrator shall hold a hearing at the time and 

place convenient to the parties as expeditiously as possible. 

The parties may mutually agree in writing to waive one or more of the initial two steps in 

the grievance process and proceed to the next step.  No waiver is permitted beyond the second 

step.  Although mutual waivers at the first two steps may take place in appropriate circumstances, 

the Union and the County recognize that the ultimate goal of the grievance process is to resolve 

grievable issues at the lowest possible level and thus it is anticipated that mutual waivers of the 

initial steps will be utilized sparingly. 
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XI.  LABOR-MANAGEMENT MEETINGS 

 

 SECTION 1:  A committee consisting of the Employer and Union Representatives may 

meet for the purpose of reviewing the administration of the Agreement and to discuss problems 

which may arise therefrom.  For the purpose of this Agreement, these meetings, which shall not 

exceed four (4) per year except upon mutual consent, are intended as a means of fostering good 

and sound employment relations through communications between the parties. 

 SECTION 2:  Either party may request a meeting and shall submit a written agenda of 

topics to be discussed seven (7) days prior to such meeting. 

SECTION 3:  A maximum of four (4) representatives of the Union may attend such 

meeting and if held during regular work hours, they shall be granted time to attend without loss 

of pay. 
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XII.  SUBCONTRACTING OF WORK 

 

 If, during the term of this Agreement, the Employer contracts out or subcontracts work 

normally performed by employees covered by this Agreement, and such action results in lay off 

or job displacement, employees affected will be given every opportunity available to continue 

employment in their job classification or in any other position available for which they are 

qualified prior to lay off or similar action.  An employee thus affected will be protected by all 

applicable laws and regulations. 

The Employer shall notify the Union of impending incidents of contracting or 

subcontracting whenever it becomes apparent that a lay off or job displacement may result. 
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XIII.  JOB POSTING 

 

 SECTION 1:  The Employer agrees to post notices of vacancies, newly created job titles, 

and official New Jersey Civil Service Departmental notices of promotional examinations to 

notify all employees of a newly created job title or a promotional opportunity. 

 

SECTION 2:  Upon receipt of notice from the Personnel Department describing the 

establishment of a new job title or official notice of promotional examination from the 

Department of Personnel, the Employer shall post said notices for a period of seven (7) working 

days from the date of their receipt on designated bulletin boards within the various work sites of 

the Employer. 
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XIV.  SAFETY AND HEALTH 

 

 The Employer shall, at all times, maintain safe and healthful working conditions for its 

employees and will provide employees with appropriate safety devices, which may be available 

upon request to the Employer.  When such materials are issued, it is the employee’s obligation to 

use them. 

MAINTENANCE: 

 The Employer shall provide employees with necessary supplies and equipment which 

may be available upon request.  When such materials are issued, it is the employee’s obligation 

to use them. 

 No employee shall be required to work in an area or in a dwelling when considered by the 

supervisor to be hazardous, unsafe or unhealthy.  No employee shall be required to enter an 

dwelling when confronted by a ferocious animal.  All such conditions shall be reported to the 

Employer for immediate, corrective action. 

 The Employer and the Union agree to designate a member each to meet periodically to 

review unsafe and unhealthful conditions, the availability of appropriate safety devices and to 

make recommendations to either or both parties as a Safety Committee.  It shall be the joint 

responsibility of the Committee to investigate and correct unsafe and unhealthful conditions.  

Upon receipt of a complaint, the Employer Union Committee member shall be permitted 

reasonable opportunity to visit the work area of the Employer’s facilities for the purpose of 

investigating safety and health conditions during work hours with no loss of pay, having cleared 

his/her absence with the supervisor.  
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 XV.  PROMOTION 

 

 Promotion qualifications and procedures for permanent career service employees are 

governed by the Department of Personnel pursuant to Statute, and Rules and Regulations 

promulgated thereunder. 

A. Promotion means the advancement of an employee to a job classification within 

the unit at a higher salary range. 

B. Upon promotion of a permanent employee, all sick leave, vacation and 

administrative leave balances shall be retained by the employees. 

C. Upon promotion, an employee shall be informed of his/her new rate of 

compensation at least one (1) week in advance of the effective date.  New salary ranges shall be 

added to all promotional announcements. 

D. Where provisional appointments are made, the Department of Personnel will take 

the necessary steps to promulgate a list appropriate to the position in keeping with its rules and 

regulations as soon as possible.  If requested by the Union, but not more frequently than 

quarterly, the Employer agrees to provide a list of then current provisional appointments. 

E. When an employee is given an opportunity on a trial or provisional basis to 

qualify for promotion by serving in a new classification, his/her permanency in his/her regular 

permanent job classification shall be continued during such trial or provisional period and he/she 

shall have the opportunity to return to such permanent classification in the event the promotional 

opportunity shall not become permanent provided there is no discharge action for cause. 

F. Promotional Increases.   

 1. An employee receiving a promotion of one grade shall receive a salary increase of 

six percent or the minimum salary of the new grade, whichever is greater. 
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 2. An employee receiving a promotion of two grades shall receive a salary increase 

of seven percent or the minimum salary of the new grade, whichever is greater. 

 3. An employee receiving a promotion of three or more grades shall receive a salary 

increase of eight percent or the minimum salary of the new grade, whichever is greater. 
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XVI.  ACCESS TO PERSONNEL FILE 

 

A. Upon request and with reasonable notice, an employee shall have the opportunity  

to review and examine pertinent documents including those related to performance evaluation 

and conduct in his/her personnel file.  The Employer shall honor the request of such employee 

for copies of documents in the file.  The Employer shall have the right to have such review and 

examination take place in the presence of an appropriate official of the agency or department in 

question.  The employee may file a written response of reasonable length to any memoranda or 

documents which are derogatory or adverse to him/her.  Such response will be included in the 

relevant permanent personnel history file or permanent supplementary personnel file and will be 

attached to and retained with the document in question. 

B. No document of anonymous origin shall be used against any employee. 

C. Copies of any written documents specifically related to discipline or the work  

performance of any employee which are relied upon by the Employer during any disciplinary 

proceedings, grievance hearing, or in any final evaluation report, will be given to the employee 

upon his/her request. 

D. A copy of specific written material which is derogatory or adverse to an employee 

and is in the possession of the Employer or its representatives, and which, has not been 

previously transmitted to the employee, shall be provided to the employee when such written 

material is to be relied upon in any adverse personnel action resulting in disciplinary proceedings, 

or in any performance evaluation and reasonable time provided for response. 

 26



XVII.  LAYOFF AND RECALL 

 

Layoffs and recalls shall be conducted in accordance with the regulations of the New 

Jersey State Department of Personnel (N.J.A.C. 4A-8).   
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XVIII.  COMPENSATION 

 

 SECTION 1. STARTING AND MINIMUM SALARIES 

Starting and minimum salaries are as set forth in Article II, Section 1(a). 

  A. The Union and the County agree that certain employees will be entitled to 

equity adjustments which will be added to their 2003 base salaries prior to the 2004 annual 

increases.  The Union and the County agree that the employees entitled to equity adjustments and 

the amount of their respective adjustments shall be listed in a separate signed Appendix, the 

terms of which shall be incorporated and made a part of this contract as if set forth at length 

herein. 

 SECTION 2. ANNUAL INCREASES: 

January 1, 2004 - $1,400.00 added to base (retroactive to 1/1/04) 

January 1, 2005 - $1,550.00 added to base  

January 1, 2006  -  $1,550.00 added to base 

January 1, 2007  -  $1,550.00 added to base 

 Those employees who received a 2.3% cost of living adjustment prior to the Union’s 

certification on April 13, 2004 will have those increases netted out against 2004 annual increases 

and will receive the differential.  The Union and the County agree that a list of those employees 

so affected shall be memorialized in a separate signed Appendix and will contain the name of the 

employee, the amount of the pre-certification increase and the net amount due for 2004 annual 

salary.  The terms contained in said Appendix shall be incorporated and made a part of this 

contract as if set forth at length herein. 

 An employee must be a member of the bargaining unit as of January 1, in the year of the 

increase in order to be eligible for the increase.  For example, if an employee becomes a member 

of the bargaining unit on January 2, 2005 he or she is not eligible for the salary increase in the 

year 2005. 
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 In the event any employee remains below the minimum salary of a particular title/grade 

following receipt of the yearly salary increase, then that employee shall be raised to the minimum 

salary for that particular title/grade. 

 SECTION 3. LONGEVITY 

 Longevity payments are based upon years of service with the County and are paid yearly 

following the employee’s longevity date.    

 
Years of Service 
 
5-10 

 
11-15 
 
16-20 
 
21+ 

Longevity Payment 
   
$600.00 
 
$800.00 
 
$1,000.00 
 
$1,200.00 

 
 
 
 SECTION 4.  OVERTIME. 
 
 Except for employees exempt from overtime under the Fair Labor Standards Act, 

overtime shall be paid as follows: 

  A. Overtime shall be offered by rotation in order of seniority to employees 

within the appropriate job classification (whose duties include the work which requires the need 

for the overtime).  The employer shall maintain a list reflecting accurately all overtime offered 

and whether it was worked or refused.  Such list shall be made available to the Union upon 

request of the Union.  In the event the required manpower is not produced by this system, the 

Employer shall have the right to designate employees from the appropriate job classification to 

do the work.  Such designated overtime shall be assigned on the basis of inverse order of 

seniority. 
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  B. One and one-half (1-1/2) the employee’s hourly rate of pay shall be paid 

for work under the following conditions: 

   1. All hours worked in excess of forty (40) hours per week; 

2. All  hours on the sixth (6th) day worked within an individual work  

week (Sunday through Saturday); 

  C. Two (2) times the employee’s hourly rate of pay shall be paid for all work 

performed on the seventh (7th) day worked within an individual work week (Sunday through 

Saturday); 

  D. Notwithstanding paragraphs A, B and C above, whenever an employee 

works seven (7) consecutive days regardless of when the first day started, they will be 

compensated at the time and one-half (1-1/2) rate for the sixth (6th) day and the double time rate 

for the seventh (7th) day. 

  E. Notwithstanding the use of language in this Article referencing “paid” 

overtime, employees may, at their option, receive cash compensation, or be credited with 

compensatory time for all overtime worked subject to any limitations imposed under FLSA or its 

state counterpart.  

  F. The following shall be regarded as “hours worked” for the purposes of 

computing overtime: 

   1. All hours actually worked; 

   2. Vacation; 

   3. Compensatory time. 

Sick time, administrative time and holidays shall not be included for the purpose of computing 

the overtime base.  
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XIX.  HOURS OF WORK 

 With the exception of Victoria Camp, all employees shall work a normal work week of 

40 hours, eight (8) per day.  Gene Solomon, who previously has worked a 35 hour work week 

will move to forty (40) hours effective January 1, 2005 and shall receive an hour for hour 

adjustment increasing his base salary to the level as contained in the Memorandum of Agreement 

between the Union and the County dated December 21, 2004.  Victoria Camp will commence a 

forty (40) hour work week effective January 1, 2006 and will receive the requisite hour for hour 

adjustment.  Scheduling of work is within the sole discretion and prerogative of the department 

head.   
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XX.  HOLIDAYS 

 A. The following shall be recognized as paid holidays: 

  1. New Year's Day 

  2. Martin Luther King's Birthday 

  3. Lincoln's Birthday 

  4. Washington's Birthday 

  5. Good Friday 

  6. Memorial Day 

  7. Independence Day 

  8. Labor Day 

  9. Columbus Day 

      10. General Election Day 

            11.   Veteran's Day 

  12. Thanksgiving Day 

       13. Christmas Day 

B. Employees become eligible for holidays on their first day of employment. 

C. Those employees who are required to work on the following enumerated holidays,  

in addition to being paid for the holiday at their regular rate of pay, shall receive time and  

a half for all ours worked on that day.  The holidays covered by this subsection shall be:  

 New Years Day (January 1), Memorial Day, Independence Day (July 4), Labor Day,  

Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day (December 25).  When New Year’s Day (January  

1), Independence Day (July 4) and Christmas day (December 25) fall on a Saturday or  

Sunday, the provisions of this section shall apply to the actual day of the celebration.  i.e.,  

January 1, July 4, or December 25 and shall not apply to the day given off by the County  

in recognition of the holiday.  Employees working on the day declared by the County  

shall be compensated as hereinafter provided in Section D. 
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D. Those employees who work on the following recognized holidays (Martin Luther  

King’s birthday, Lincoln’s Birthday, Washington’s Birthday, Good Friday, Columbus  

Day, General Election Day and Veteran’s Day) in addition to being paid for the holiday,  

shall receive straight time for all hours worked on that day. 

E. Announced Days Off.  In circumstances where the County announces  a day off  

for nonessential employees, such as the Friday after Thanksgiving Day, then those  

employees who are required to work shall be compensated as provided in Section C of  

this Article.  These provisions shall not apply to weather related days off or similar type  

closures.   
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XXI.   VACATION 

A.   Full-time employees may be granted vacation leave as follows: 

 One (1) working day for each month of service or major fraction thereof during the 

remainder of the calendar year following date of appointment; during this time vacation days can 

only be utilized as earned.  Thereafter, 100% of vacation days are allocated on January 1st of 

each year; after one year of service through five years of service, fifteen (15) working days per 

year; 

After five years of service through ten years of service, eighteen (18) working days per year; 

After ten years of service through twenty years of service, twenty (20) working days per 

year;After twenty years of service, twenty-five (25) working days per year. 

 Service includes all temporary and/or provisional continuous service immediately prior to 

permanent appointment with the County, provided there is no break in service of more than one 

week.  Any increase in vacation days based on years of continuous County service will be 

credited at the beginning of the calendar year in which the employee attains it, with the 

anticipation that his/her employment will be continuous throughout the calendar year. 

B.  Vacations will be scheduled and granted, subject to management's responsibility 

to maintain efficient operations.  If the nature of the work makes it necessary to limit the number 

of employees on vacation at any given time, the employee whose request is submitted first shall 

be approved.  If two requests are submitted at the same time, the employee with the greatest 

seniority (as it relates to total years of service with the County) shall be given preference in 

vacation scheduling. 

 

C.  Vacation can be granted in one half day periods.  For vacation leave less than one 

week, requests must be approved at least 24 hours in advance by the employee's supervisor or 

designee.  For vacation leave of one week or more, request must be approved at least two (2) 
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weeks in advance by the employee's supervisor or designee.  Emergency request will be 

considered on a case by case basis. 

D.  Earned vacation days that have not been used at the end of the calendar year may 

be carried over.  The amount of carry-over cannot exceed the number of vacation days an 

employee will earn in the current year.  Part time employees will be given a quarterly update of 

vacation time earned and those employees shall have until April 1st of the following year to use 

any excess carry over vacation days. 

E.  Employees on Leave of Absence Without Pay shall not accrue any vacation 

benefits during that time. 

F.  When an employee separates from the County, he/she will be paid for all vacation 

time that has been earned, at his/her current hourly rate.  Advanced vacation time used, but not 

earned, will be deducted from the employee's final pay check. 

G.  Employees will be able to participate in the vacation buy back program of up to 

two (2) days of unused vacation days per year to be paid by the end of the year.   

H.   Three administrative days are available for personal use in increments of one (1) 

hour.  Under normal circumstances, requests must be submitted twenty-four (24) hours in 

advance.  An employee can not call in for use of this time at the beginning of his/her scheduled 

shift.  Use of this time at the beginning of a work shift must be approved in advance.  

Administrative time must be taken within the year accrued or forfeited. 

Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions, an employee shall have the option of using up 

to eight (8) hours of the allotted administrative time without prior approval for bona fide 

emergencies.  This administrative time can be used in hourly increments of not less than two (2) 

hours and no more than eight (8) hours.  (By way of example, an employee could use all eight 

hours for a single emergency or could use four hours on two occasions or two hours on four 

occasions.)  Once the eight hour allotment has been used, the employee shall have no further 

recourse under this provision.  To the extent feasible, the employee shall provide documentation 

of the emergency to the designated supervisor, Division Director or Department Head. 
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XXII.  SICK LEAVE 

 
A.  Sick leave is made available so that an employee may, under the proper 

circumstances, have wage continuation when he/she is unable to perform his/her regular duties.  

Sick leave should not be considered as "additional days off" earned by employment.  Abuse of 

sick leave may be cause for disciplinary action. 

B.  Sick leave may be used in the following instances: 

 1.  Personal illness which renders an employee unable to perform his/her  

  duties. 

 2.  Presence of serious illness in the immediate family which requires the  

  employee's short term personal care.  Immediate family means an   

  employee's spouse, child,  legal ward, grandchild, foster child, father,  

  mother, legal guardian, grandfather, grandmother, brother, sister,   

  father-in-law, mother-in-law, and other relatives residing in the employee's 

  household. 

 3.  Dental, optical or medical treatment that cannot be scheduled during  

  non-work hours.  One week advance notice of such treatment is required  

  except in emergent circumstances.  A doctor's note is required as   

  verification of the appointment. 

C. A new full-time employee earns one (1) day sick leave for each full calendar 

month of service in his/her first calendar year and can be utilized only as earned.  In subsequent 

calendar years, an employee will earn 1 1/4 days for each full calendar month of service for a 

total of fifteen (15) days per year, which are 100% allocated on January 1st of each year.  Sick 

time is not earned while an employee is on Leave of Absence without pay. 
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D.  Sick leave shall not be recorded in denominations of less than one-half days with 

the following exceptions: 

 1.  medical or dental treatment that cannot be scheduled during non-working  

  hours 

 2.  medical emergencies of the employee or an immediate family member. 

E.  Sick leave time not used in any calendar year shall accumulate to the employee's 

credit from year to year to be used when needed for such purposes. 

F.  All sick leave will be monitored.  It is mandatory that the employee phone his/her 

supervisor or designee as far in advance as possible, but not later than one hour before the shift 

begins, with the exception of unit members employed at Shoreview, who shall phone their 

supervisor no later than 9 a.m. 

G.  (1)  If an employee is absent for five (5) or more consecutive working days for 

any reason set forth in the above, the employee may be required to produce medical  evidence.  

The employer may require proof of illness or injury when there is a reason to believe that an 

employee is abusing sick leave, an employee has been absent on sick leave for five or more 

consecutive work days, or an employee has been absent on sick leave for an aggregate of more 

than 15 days in a 12-month period. 

  (2)   Anytime the County detects a pattern of sick leave abuse and can articulate 

a basis for reasonable suspicion of sick leave abuse, the County may require medical evidence. 

The employee shall be given timely notice in each instance. 

 (3)  Medical evidence shall be in the form of a physician's certification which states 

the date of illness, and the reasons for the absence within the parameters of confidentiality, and 

the date the employee will return to work and certifies the need for the employee to be absent. 

 (4)   The County reserves unto itself the right to send an employee to a County 

appointed and County paid for physician to verify the usage of sick leave.  The County may 

require an employee who is absent because of serious illness or injury before returning to duty, to 

be examined at the expense of the County by a physician.  Such examination shall determine 
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whether the employee is capable of performing his/her normal duties and that his/her return will 

not jeopardize the health of the employee or that of other employees. 

 

H.  Any employee covered under the terms of this agreement who "retires" from 

County service under the Public Employees Retirement System (P.E.R.S.) shall be paid fifty 

(50%) of accrued sick leave up to a maximum of $20,000.  The definition of "retiree" is found in 

Article XXVII, Section B. 

I.  An employee registering perfect attendance in any calendar quarter shall receive a 

bonus of $100 for that perfect attendance.  If perfect attendance is realized for the entire calendar 

year, then the employee, in addition to the quarterly attendance bonuses, will receive an 

additional $100.  (Total amount for annual perfect attendance is $500.)  The perfect attendance 

bonus shall be retroactive to January 1, 2004.  Payment will be made no later than 30 days from 

the last day of the final pay period in the year in which the employee had perfect attendance.  

Payment will be made no later than 30 days after the quarter earned; and in the case of perfect 

attendance for the entire year, 30 days after the final pay period of the year. 

J.  The advancement of sick leave days is an employee convenience; sick leave is 

still earned on a monthly basis and upon separation from the service of the employer, advanced 

sick leave which was paid but not earned, will be recouped, on a hour-for-hour basis. 

K.  Days lost to injury or illness arising from or caused by County employment for 

which the employee has received Worker's Compensation shall not be charged to sick leave. 
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XXIII.  LEAVES OF ABSENCE 
 

A. Service Credit 
 
Service credit shall continue to accrue during paid leaves of absence provided under this 

Agreement, but shall not accrue during unpaid leaves of absence except as required by law.  

However, the employee shall be entitled upon his/her return from leave of absence without pay, 

to all service credits earned up to the date his/her leave commenced. 

 
B. Unpaid Leave 

 
1. A permanent employee who is temporarily (mentally or physically)  

incapacitated and unable to perform his/her duties or who desired to engage in a 

course of study such as will increase his/her usefulness or for any reason 

considered valid by the Department Head and the Appointing Authority, desires to 

secure leave from regular duties may, with the approval of the Department Head 

be granted a special leave of absence without pay for a period not to exceed six (6) 

months which may be extended for an additional six months upon similar 

approval.  Employees shall not be granted leave to accept other employment. 

 
2. Any employee seeking such special leave without pay shall submit his/her  

request, in writing, stating the reasons why the request should be granted, the date 

when he/she desires the leave to begin, and the return date to duty. 

 
3. Such leave shall not be unreasonably denied and shall be applied  

equitably.  
 

C. Military Leave. 
 

Military leave shall be in accordance with N.J.S.A. 38A:4-4. 
 

D. Medical and Family Care Leaves 
 

1. Under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and/or the  
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Family Leave Act (FLA), eligible employees are entitled to leave for 12 weeks in 

a 12 or 24 month period for the birth or placement of a child; to care for a child, 

spouse or parent with a serious health condition; or, if they have worked for the 

County for a total of 12 months and worked 1000 hours (1250 hours for the 

FMLA) in the immediately preceding 12 months.  A serious health condition 

means an illness, injury, impairment or physical or mental condition which 

requires inpatient care in a hospital, hospice or residential care facility or 

continuing medical treatment or continuing supervision by a health care provider 

involving a period of incapacity. 

 
2. This leave is unpaid, although paid leave may be used during an  

FMLA/FLA designated leave.  The leave can be taken in a single block of time or, 

under certain conditions, intermittently or on a reduced schedule.  Medical 

benefits are maintained during a FMLA/FLA leave although an employee will 

have to continue to pay his/her share of premiums, where applicable.   At the 

termination of the leave, the employee has a right to restoration to the same or an 

equivalent position in most instances. 

 

3. The employee must provide advance notice of the need for a FMLA/FLA  

qualifying leave.  If the need for leave is foreseeable, advance notice of 15 to 30 

days may be required.  Otherwise, notice must be given as soon as practicable.  

The employee has the obligation to provide sufficient information about the need 

for the leave to allow the employer to determine if the request qualifies as a 

FMLA/FLA leave.  The County can, in allowable circumstances, require:   a 
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medical certification of a serious health condition; 2nd and 3rd opinions; 

recertification on a periodic basis; a statement of employee status and intention to 

return to work and a return to work certification.  Failure to comply with notice or 

certification requirements can result in the delay or denial of FMLA/FLA leave or 

the return to work.  It is incumbent on the County to designate qualifying leave as 

FMLA/FLA leave and notify the employee of the designation and any obligations 

on the part of the employee to obtain and maintain his/her rights under the FMLA 

or FLA.  It is prohibited to take adverse action against an employee because of the 

exercise of FMLA/FLA rights. 

 
4. The use of FMLA/FLA leave is governed by statute and regulations.  The  

above is merely an overview of the various provisions of these laws.  Employees 

who need more detailed information on their rights and obligations under these 

statutes should contact Human Resources. 

 
E. Absence Without Leave. 

 
Any unauthorized absence of an employee from duty shall be an Absence Without Leave 

and is cause for disciplinary action. 

 
F.    Jury Duty. 

 
1. All employees will receive their regular base pay for Jury Duty performed  

during their regularly scheduled working hours.  The County encourages 

employees to fulfill their civic obligations and responsibilities with respect to Jury 

Duty.  Only in exceptional cases will the County request that an employee be 

excused. 
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2. When an employee is subpoenaed to appear as a witness during work time  

before a Court, Legislative Committee, or a Judicial or Quasi-Judicial body, 

he/she shall be granted the necessary time off without loss of regular pay unless 

the employee is a party or a witness for a party in which the County is the 

opposing party, or he/she is a party or a witness in a matter unrelated to his/her 

capacity as an employee of the County. 

3. Employees must notify their immediate supervisor that they have been 

summoned for jury duty/court appearance upon notification.  Evidence of such 

notification shall be submitted to the immediate supervisor. 

4. An employee who is notified in advance by the Court that he/she need not 

be present in Court on any specific working day is required to report to work on 

that day as usual. 

5. An employee who is released from a court located in Atlantic County at 

least two hours prior to the end of their shift, must return to work for the 

remainder of their shift.  

6. Employees are required to remit to the County any money they have 

received for jury service from any other source. 

7. Employees who serve on jury duty shall not be subjected to mandatory 

overtime. 

 
G.   Bereavement Leave 

 
1. Bereavement Leave shall be provided to all employees for up to three (3)  
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days per incident at the time of a death in the employee's immediate family as 

hereafter defined:  employee's spouse, child, stepchild, legal ward, grandchild, 

foster child, parent and stepparent, legal guardian, grandfather, grandmother, 

brother, sister, father-in-law, mother-in-law, and other relatives residing in the 

employee's household. 

 
2. Bereavement Leave shall not be cumulative and any such leave credit 

remaining unused by an employee at the end of the calendar year or upon 

separation from County employment shall be canceled.  The County reserves the 

right to require proof of the death. 
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XXIV  EMERGENCY PAY 

 
 Whenever the Governor of the State of New Jersey or the County Executive (or the 

Executive’s designee) declares an emergency in one of the following categories: 

 1. Weather related - where the County is closed the entire day; 

 2. Security Threat; 

 3. Observance of a national day of mourning. 

Where County offices are closed for the day for all nonessential employees, then all 

employees shall be given the day off without loss of pay.  Those employees who are required to 

work during such periods shall be paid at the rate of time and a half their regular rate for all hours 

worked with a guaranteed minimum of four hours.  These provisions, however, shall  not apply 

to circumstances of delayed openings (i.e., weather related) or early dismissals (weather related 

or early closings on Christmas Eve or New Years Eve). 

 In cases of delayed openings or early dismissals those employees who are required to and 

in fact report at their regularly scheduled time, and depart at their regularly scheduled time, in 

addition to their regular pay, shall receive an hour for hour credit calculated at straight time 

which may be taken in the form of additional pay or compensatory time at the option of the 

employee.  These provisions shall apply notwithstanding FLSA. 
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XXV.  BEEPER/CELL PHONE/ON-CALL PAY 

 
The Union and the County agree as follows: 

 A. Whenever employees are required to carry and to respond as first responders to a 

beeper/cell phone during off duty hours, the employee shall receive the sum of  fifty ($50) per 

week or $200 per month.  The Division Director shall formulate a monthly duty roster specifying 

the employee or employees who are designated as first responders.  The formulation of the duty 

roster shall remain a managerial prerogative. 

 B. In all cases where an employee is called into work in response to a beeper page or 

cell phone call, the employee shall be compensated at their overtime rate of pay (time and one-

half their regular hourly rate) for all hours worked.  Call in time shall commence when the 

employee is called and reports to the work site within one (1) hour of being called and the period 

shall end when the employee returns home, provided that the employee returns home within a 

reasonable period of time following conclusion of the assignment.  There shall be no guaranteed 

minimum. 
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XXV1.  TRAVEL ALLOWANCE 

 
 A. Whenever an employee is required to use his/her privately owned vehicle, or as a 

condition of employment uses such vehicle, the County shall be responsible for indemnification 

for such sanctioned use and shall reimburse the employee at the IRS rate then in effect.   

 B. The care, custody, scheduling and assigning of County owned vehicles remains 

the sole responsibility of the employer and/or the employer’s manager designee. 
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XXVII.  HEALTH BENEFITS 

  A.   Medical Insurance. 

 
 1.  Effective August 1, 2003 employees and their eligible dependents shall be 

entitled to comprehensive medical and hospital coverage in accordance with the provisions of the 

New Jersey State Health Benefits Program.  Employees shall be afforded a choice from among 

the State Health Program's plan offerings. 

 2.   Prescription drug coverage shall be offered to all employees and their 

dependents in accordance with the freestanding prescription plan offered by the New Jersey State 

Health Plan. 

 3.   The employees and their dependents shall also be afforded optical and 

dental coverages through the County's own provider contracts.   

All of the coverages outlined above will be furnished to the employees and their 

dependents without premium copays and shall extend at least throughout the duration of this 

agreement. 

 4.   Employee, as used herein, means a bargaining unit member who works 

20 or more hours a week.  Your eligible dependents, for comprehensive medical, hospital and 

prescription coverage under the New Jersey State Health Benefits Program are currently defined 

as your spouse and/or your unmarried children under age 23 who live with you in a regular 

parent-child relationship.  This includes children who are away at school as well as divorced 

children living at home and dependent upon you for support.  Eligible dependents for optical and 

dental coverage are defined by the County's provider contracts.   
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B.  Health Benefits at Retirement.  An employee who retires shall be eligible for County 

paid health benefits coverage for himself/herself and eligible dependents for 3 years after 

retirement, commencing with the employee’s retirement date.  Retirement is currently defined in 

accordance with N.J.S.A. 40A:10-23 as having 25 years or more of service credit in the State 

Pension Plan and a period of service of up to 25 years with Atlantic County at the time of 

retirement or upon reaching the age of 62 or older and having at least 15 years of service with 

Atlantic County. Health benefits coverage is defined as the coverage currently in force at the time 

of retirement and any changes to such coverage as may occur during the 3 year period of 

employer-paid coverage.  Any employee with ten (10) or more years of employee service with 

the County as of the date of the Union’s certification (4/13/04) shall be entitled to five years of 

health benefits for himself/herself and eligible dependents after retirement, commencing with the 

employee’s retirement date. 

C.   Leaves of Absence - When an employee is granted a leave of absence unrelated to 

any Family and Medical Leave Act, the coverage of that employee and his dependents will be 

terminated unless the employee reimburses the County in full for the monthly premiums as they 

become due during such leave of absence.  Employees can then re-enroll with the County group 

upon returning from the leave of absence.  In no event can this period of reimbursed coverage 

exceed 6 months.  Any employee who goes to an unpaid status for 15 or more calendar days is 

liable for payment of the monthly premiums retroactive to the first day of unpaid status. 

 D. Part Time Employees.  Those employees regularly scheduled for at least 20 hours 

of work per week shall be entitled to health benefits.  Temporary and part time employees 

working less than 20 hours are not entitled to any health benefits. 
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 E. Effective August 1, 2003, eligible employees and their families will be offered 

temporary extension of health coverage called continuation coverage under the COBRA 

provisions of the New Jersey State Health Benefits Program. 

 F.  Disability Pool.  The County will maintain its disability pool system subject to the 

following changes: 

  (1) The County's decision as to employee's eligibility to use the disability pool 

will not be arbitrarily or unreasonably denied. 

  (2) All disability claims shall be submitted to an independent doctor mutually 

agreed upon by both the union and the County for evaluation and approval.  

  (3) Employees are eligible to use the program while maintaining up to one 

year's worth of sick and vacation time. 

  (4) Employees who have previously utilized disability pool benefits may 

reapply for maximum pool benefits after full repayment of amounts previously used. 

  (5) The decision to either approve or not approve entry into the disability pool 

in the first instance shall be with the department head.  The Union may appeal the department 

head's decision to the Director of Human Resources who shall render a decision within ten (10) 

calendar days following receipt of the appeal.  The decision of the Director of Human Resources 

may be challenged through the grievance process of this agreement. 

G. Workers' Compensation - If an employee of this unit is injured on duty during 

working hours, he/she will be entitled to Worker's Compensation benefits as set forth in NJSA 

34:15. 
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XXVIII.  CIVIL SERVICE RULES 

 

The Administrative and Procedural provisions and controls of the Civil Service Law and 

the Rules and Regulations promulgated thereunder are to be observed in the administration of 

this Agreement, except and to the extent that this Agreement pertains to subjects not therein 

contained. 
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XXIX.  EFFECT OF LAW 

   

A. LEGISLATIVE ACTION.  If any provisions of this Agreement require adoption  

or modification or require the appropriation of funds for their implementation, it is hereby 

understood and agreed that such provisions shall become effective only after the necessary action 

or the rule modification is enacted, and that the parties may jointly seek, if feasible, the 

enactment of such action or rule modification. 

 

B. SAVING CLAUSE.  If any provision of this Agreement shall conflict with any 

Federal or State Law or regulation, that specific provision of the Agreement shall be deemed 

amended or nullified to conform to such.  The other provisions of this Agreement shall not be 

affected thereby and shall continue in full force and effect.  Upon request of either party, the 

Employer and the Union agree to meet and renegotiate any provision so affected.
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XXX.  DURATION OF AGREEMENT 

 

 The Agreement shall be effective as of January 1, 2004, and shall remain in full force and 

effect until December 31, 2007. 

 The Agreement shall be automatically renewed unless either party shall notify the other in 

writing ninety (90) calendar days prior to the expiration date that it desires to commence 

negotiations. 

 In the event such notice is given, negotiations shall begin no later than sixty (60) days 

prior to the expiration date.  This Agreement shall remain in full force and be effective during the 

period of negotiations and thereafter until such time as a new Agreement is executed.  In the 

event either party wishes to begin negotiations earlier that 60 days before the expiration date, that 

party shall notify the other in writing. 

 52



XXX1.  PRORATION AND RETROACTIVITY OF PAYMENTS 

No provision of this Agreement except salary, perfect attendance bonus and holiday pay, 

including without limitation, allowances, stipends and travel expenses, shall be retroactive. In 

those limited instances where payments are retroactive, retroactive payments of any kind, 

including salary increases, shall not be made or required for those employees who separate from 

employment prior to the date on which payment is issued. 

 

 IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties have hereunto set their hands and seals below: 

 

       CWA Local 1040 Signatures 

 

              
Dennis Levinson, County Executive    Date  Carolyn Wade, President   Date 
 
              
James F. Ferguson, County Counsel    Date   Robert O. Yaeger    Date 
             
              
       Tom Bruno    Date 
 
                                                                                
       Sue Judy     Date 
 
              
       Harry Bowers    Date 
 
              
       Gene Solomon    Date 
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APPENDIX A TO THE LABOR AGREEMENT 
BETWEEN THE COUNTY OF ATLANTIC 
AND COMMUNICATION WORKERS OF 

AMERICA LOCAL 1040 AND FACILITIES 
MANAGEMENT AND SUPPORTED EMPLOYMENT. 

 
 The Union and the County agree that this Appendix shall identify those employees 
entitled to equity adjustments to their 2003 base salary and sets forth particulars regarding equity 
adjustments as referenced in Article XVIII – Compensation, Section 1A.  The provisions hereof 
shall constitute a part of the labor agreement as if fully set forth therein. 
 
 The following individuals shall receive equity adjustments to their 2003 base salaries 
which will have the effect of raising their 2004 base (exclusive of annual increases) to the 
following levels: 
 
Employee  2003 Base Salary  Equity Adjustment  New Base 
 
Hope Smith  $28,325   $3,099    $31,424 

Harry Bowers  $36,306   $4,694    $41,000 

Gene Solomon  $39,077   $2,923    $42,000* 

Vickie Camp  $31,762   $6,913    $38,675 

Sue Judy  $41,156   $5,044    $46,200 

James Gleason  $40,706   $4,294    $45,000 

Anthony Merendino $44,990   $2,584    $47,574 

*Based on 35 hour work week.  When an hour for hour adjustment for moving to 40 hours is 

made, the salary will be $47,982. 
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APPENDIX B 
 

LIST OF BARGAINING UNIT MEMBERS WHO WERE 
GIVEN PERCENTAGE RAISES PRIOR TO THE DATE 

OF THE UNION’S CERTIFICATION. 
 

 The Union and the County agree that this Appendix B shall reference those employees 
who received percentage increases prior to the date of the Union’s certification on April 13, 2004 
and the provisions hereof shall constitute a part of the Labor Agreement between the County of 
Atlantic and Communications Workers of America Local 1040 as if fully set forth therein. 
 
Employee 2003 Salary 2004 Salary New Salary Amount of Increase Amount Due 
 
Hardin  $39,843 $40,759   $   916   $  484 
 
Santoro $47,245 $48,331.64   $1,086.64  $  313.36 
 
Merendino $44,990 $46,024.77   $1,034.77  $  362.23 
 
Camp  $31,762 $32,492.53   $   730.53  $  669.47 
 
Solomon $39,077 $39,975.77   $   898.77  $  501.23 
 
LaSpina $44,840 $45,871.32   $1,031.32  $  368.68 
 
       CWA Local 1040 Signatures 

 
              
Dennis Levinson, County Executive    Date  Carolyn Wade, President   Date 
 
              
James F. Ferguson, County Counsel    Date   Robert O. Yaeger    Date 
             
              
       Tom Bruno    Date 
 
                                                                                
       Sue Judy     Date 
 
              
       Harry Bowers    Date 
 
              
       Gene Solomon    Date 
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