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PREAMBLE 

 
This Agreement is effective January 1, 2015, and is made between the County of Union, New Jersey, (hereinafter called 
“Employer”, “Hospital” or the “County”) and the Health Professionals and Allied Employees, AFT, AFL/CIO, 110 
Kinderkamack Road, Emerson, New Jersey, 07630 (hereinafter called the "Union"). 

 
ARTICLE 1.  AGREEMENT SCOPE   
 
This Agreement covers all full, part-time and per diem negotiation unit employees (herein called "employee") 
who are employed as registered nurses or graduate nurses by Cornerstone Behavioral Health Hospital, 
excluding all other employees including patient care coordinators, supervisors, managerial executives, 
confidential employees and employees represented by other collective bargaining units except as otherwise 
provided for pursuant to P.L. 1941. c. 100 (C34:13A-1 et seq.), and amending P.L 1967. c. 310 known as the 
Workplace Democracy Enhancement Act.  
 
ARTICLE 2. UNION STATUS 
 
2.1        Recognition 
The Hospital recognizes the Union as the exclusive collective bargaining representative of every employee 
covered by this Agreement. The Hospital shall provide the Union with a complete, alphabetized list of 
negotiation unit employees.  Such list shall include the name, address, date of birth, gender, unit phone number 
on file, if available, home and cell phone numbers, work and/or personal email addresses on file, job title, 
status and social security number for each employee. Updated list shall be provided every 120 calendar days.  
Any time a new employee is hired into a title covered by this negotiation agreement, the employer shall provide 
to the HPAE within ten (10) calendar days the following information:  name, job title and status, worksite 
location, date of hire, home address, work and personal cell phone numbers, and work and/or personal email 
address if on file with the employer.    
 
Each month a list of new employees, which shall include each employee’s name, address, telephone number, 
classification, status. Shift, unit assignment and social security number, will be forwarded to the Union.  Any 
change in classification, status, paid or unpaid sick leaves of greater than 5 days, or unit assignment will be 
given to the Union within thirty days (30) days of the change or effective date of the leave. 
 
Consistent with the Employer-Employee Relations Act, N.J.S.A. 34:13A-5.3, proposed new rules or 
modifications of existing rules governing working conditions shall be negotiated with the Union prior to their 
implementation.  
 
In the event that any organization contacts the Hospital (through their OPRA officer or other means) and 
requests information on any HPAE bargaining unit, the Hospital shall notify the Union within 48 hours who 
the organization/individual is seeking the information, and provide a copy of the information requested to the 
Union. 
 
2.2 Union Dues 
The Hospital agrees to deduct from the regular paycheck of negotiation unit employees’ dues, fees or 
assessments for the Union, provided that the employee authorizes such deduction in writing in proper form to 
the Hospital which may include an electronic communication that contains the negotiation unit employee’s 
electronic signature as the term “electronic signature” is defined in N.J.S.A. 12A:12-2. 
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The Hospital shall commence deductions from an employee’s check in the first full pay period  following the  
receipt of his/her signed authorization after the negotiation unit employee's date of hire. 
 
The Hospital shall deduct dues, fees or assessments for the Union as soon as possible after the tenth day 
following reentry into the negotiation unit for employees who previously served in a position identified as 
excluded, for individuals recalled from layoff, for employees returning from leave without pay, and for 
previous employee members who become eligible for the representation fee because of non-member status. 
 
The deductions of union dues, fees or assessments from any employee in the negotiation unit shall be limited 
to the Union, the duly certified majority representative. 
 
For the purpose of calculating dues deductions, reimbursement for tuition shall not be included.  
 
Payroll Deduction of Dues 
The County agrees to deduct from the salaries of each employee who is a member of the Union, under the 
terms of this Agreement, dues for the Union, when same is authorized in writing by each Union member. 
Individual authorization forms shall be filed by the Union with the County’s Department of Finance.  
 
An authorization for deductions of Union membership dues shall be terminated automatically when an 
employee is removed from the payroll of the employer. Where an employee takes a leave of absence without 
pay for one (1) month or more during any payroll deduction period, there shall be no obligation on the part of 
the employer to have collected funds from his or her salary during such absence. Upon his or her return to 
employment at the termination of his or her leave, the employer shall continue to have deducted dues from his 
or her salary in accordance with the payroll deductions program agreed upon by the Parties.  
 
The amount of monthly Union membership dues will be certified by the Secretary/Treasurer of HPAE in 
writing to the employer, and the amount so certified will be uniform for all members of the Union.  
 
The Employer shall remit dues deductions to the Union with a listing of for whom dues were deducted, hourly 
rate, gross wages, social security number, amount deducted, and the year to date deduction, on a monthly basis. 
All such information shall be provided on a computer diskette.  
 
2.4  Union Representatives 
The Union will notify the Hospital of its local employee representatives who are authorized to deal with the 
Hospital as a collective bargaining representative. The total shall not exceed  two (2) representatives in addition 
to the President and Grievance Chair.  The Union shall be limited to three (3) representatives for its negotiating 
team.  
 
2.5  Union Representation Rights 
An employee shall have a Union representative present, if requested, during any disciplinary conference. In 
addition, the employee shall have a Union representative present when the Employer questions the employee 
and the employee has a reasonable belief that a discipline may result.  Disciplinary meetings shall be scheduled 
at a mutually convenient time. 
  
Union representatives shall be permitted to perform the following activities on work time without loss of pay: 
A. Represent employees in the unit, such as, representing an employee when requested and acting as a 
resource for members of the union; 
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B. Investigate a grievance; 
C. Post Union notices;  
Attend negotiating meetings if designated as a member of the negotiating team and scheduled to attend by the 
Union; 
Attend scheduled meetings with the Hospital. 
 
2.6 Union Business 
The President of the local Union or his/her designee will be permitted to take a total, not to exceed in the 
aggregate, twenty-six (26) days of leave with pay per contract year to participate in Union conferences, 
conventions and to conduct other Union business not specifically identified in Article 2, Section 2.5 above. 
 
Additionally, the President of the local Union or his/her designee will be permitted to take a total, not to exceed 
in the aggregate, twenty-six (26) days of unpaid leave per contract year to participate in Union conferences, 
conventions and to conduct other Union business not specifically identified in Article 2, Section 2.5 above. 
 
2.7 Union  Access 
The Hospital shall provide a glass-enclosed bulletin board, which shall be designated for the exclusive use of 
the Union to be located at a mutually agreed upon location. Management will make sure that nothing is placed 
in front of the bulletin board that limits access to or visibility of the bulletin board. 
 
The Hospital shall provide a locked mailbox for the exclusive use of the Union to be located mutually agreed 
upon location.  Management will make sure that nothing is placed in front of the mailbox that limits access to 
it. 
 
The HPAE staff and representatives shall have the right to e-mail HPAE negotiation unit employees who have 
Hospital e-mail accounts for the purpose of communication with HPAE negotiation unit employees regarding 
collective negotiations agreements, the investigation of grievances, other workplace-related complaints and 
issues, and internal union matters involving the governance or business of the union. 
 
The Hospital shall provide the Union access to negotiation unit employees including but not limited to: 
 
The right to meet with individual negotiation unit employees at the Hospital during the work day to investigate 
and discuss grievance, workplace-relted complaints, and other workplace issues; 
The right to conduct worksite meetings during lunch and other non-work breaks, and before and after the 
workday, at the Hospital to discuss workplace issues, collective negotiations, the administration collective 
negotiations agreements, other matters related to the duties of the Union, and internal union matters involving 
the governance or business of the Union. 
 
During the orientation period of all new negotiation unit employees, an HPAE representative designated by 
the Union will distribute orientation packets to the new HPAE employees.  At that time, the representative 
designated by the Union, will speak to all new negotiation unit employees for not less than thirty (30) minutes.  
The Hospital will provide the Union with notification of the names of new hires into negotiation unit titles, 
who are scheduled to attend each orientation session.  For those negotiation unit employees who do not attend 
general orientation presentations for any reason, the Hospital will immediately schedule a mandatory meeting 
on work time to meet with a representative designated by the Union for not less than thirty (30) minutes. 
 
HPAE shall have the right to use Union County buildings and other facilities that are owned or leased by Union 
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County and/or other government entities to conduct meetings with negotiation unit employees regarding 
collective negotiations, the administration of collective negotiation agreements, the investigation of 
grievances, other workplace-related complaints and issues, and internal union matters involving the 
governance or business of the union, provided such use does not interfere with Union County operations.  
Meetings conducted in government buildings pursuant to this section shall not be for the purpose of supporting 
or opposing any candidate for partisan political office, or the purpose of distributing literature or information 
regarding partisan elections. 
 
ARTICLE 3. NURSE PRACTICE ISSUES 
 
3.1 Labor-Management Committee 
The Union and Hospital agree to the creation of a Labor-Management Committee for the purpose of discussing mutual 
problems and concerns to the Union and the Hospital. The Committee shall meet at least four (4) times per contract year, 
for a reasonable time at Cornerstone Behavioral Health Hospital. Additional meetings will be scheduled if requested by 
either party. There shall be three (3) participants selected by the Union and three (3) from the Hospital. In addition the 
President of HPAE and the Hospital Administrator will serve as Co-Chairs of the committee.   

 
Union members shall receive pay for time spent at such meetings.  

 
This Committee shall function completely separate from and independent of all grievance procedures under this 
Agreement and these meetings shall not be considered negotiating sessions. 
 
The Hospital agrees to release from work, if necessary, the members of the Labor-Management Committee, at no loss 
of their regular compensation rate of pay for the purpose of attending Labor-Management Committee Meetings.  The 
Union shall inform the Hospital of the members of this Committee. Meetings will be held the first Wednesday of  
February, June, September and December at a mutually convenient time. 
 
3.2 Professional Practice 
The Hospital shall provide the following for all employees covered by this Agreement: 
 

A. Each new employee shall be provided with an orientation program of at least two (2) weeks under the 
direction and guidance of the Chief Nursing Executive. A written outline of orientation information 
and a copy of the evaluation form will be given to each employee at the start of the orientation.   

 
In addition, effective June 1, 2013, there shall be a Nurse orientation program.  When an RN is 
oriented to a new unit, an RN Orientor shall be designated when the orientee is on the unit.  The 
orientor shall receive two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) per hour in addition to their regular pay 
for all hours they are orienting a new nurse to the unit.  Orientors shall only be assigned licensed 
registered nurses. 
 
Orientors shall not be assigned unlicensed staff or students.  Whenever a nursing student is 
present so shall an instructor who is responsible for them. 

 
An orientation of at least, two (2), seven and one-half (7 ½) hour shifts will be provided for 
employees who transfer to another unit or who have a change in shift hours.  
 

 Education staff, or the assigned RN Orientor shall be responsible for completing the 
Orientation/Skills Checklist.  The Education Staff shall be responsible for evaluating the 
competencies for all newly hired RN’s. 
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B. When possible, nursing programs shall be made available to all shifts during work time.  An employee 

must request in writing authorization from his/her supervisor to attend programs that are not mandatory.  
(Programs that are mandatory will be clearly labeled as such and do not require authorization.)  The 
supervisor will reply in writing and determine approval if the session applies directly to the employee, 
subject to staffing needs.  Employees who attend these in-house programs on their own time will be paid 
at their regular compensation rate of pay.  Time in attendance at non-mandatory programs shall not be 
counted toward overtime. 

 
C. The Hospital shall reimburse the cost for educational conferences, up to a maximum of five hundred 

($500.00) dollars per year for a full-time employee and two hundred fifty  ($250.00) dollars per year for 
a part-time employee effective January 1, 2015. Time off without loss of pay will be granted to 
employees attending educational conferences reimbursed by the Hospital. Such times shall not be 
unreasonably denied.  In addition, employees shall be eligible for up to two additional days off 
without loss of pay to attend HPAE Education Days for the purpose of obtaining Nursing 
Continuing Education credits. Requests for time off must be made at least two weeks in advance 
and must be approved by the Chief Nursing Executive.  Time off will be granted only if the 
employee’s absence does not generate an overtime situation.  In the event more than one 
employee requests time off for HPAE Education Days, approval will be determined based on 
rotating seniority order.  

 
The American Heart Association CPR Course, BLS for Healthcare providers shall be provided 
by the Hospital bi-annually on site in order for RNs to maintain their certification. The hospital 
shall offer CPR training and refresher courses on-site at appropriate intervals in order for all 
staff to maintain their certification. 
 

1. All nurses whose BLS Certification expires before January 1, 2021 should take an online 
BLS course in order to maintain Certification. 

 
2. Nurses will be reimbursed for the cost of the course after presenting proof of payment. 

 
 

3. Nurses should take the online course during working hours.  In the event a nurse is 
unable to take the online course during working hours, he/she must get permission from 
the supervisor to take the course during non-working hours.  Nurses who must complete 
the course during non-working hours will be paid for their time to complete the course.  

 
D. Employees shall be paid for attendance at Union County programs.  Such payment shall only 

be made for programs that apply directly to the employee.  An employee must request in writing 
authorization from his/her supervisor to attend Union County programs or information sessions.  
The supervisor will reply in writing and authorize attendance if the session applies directly to 
the employee.  If approved  the employee will be paid if the meeting occurs on the 
employee’s shift, off-shift, or on the employee’s own time.  Employees will be paid at their 
regular compensation rate of pay.  Time in attendance at these programs shall not be counted 
towards overtime. 

 
Union County programs and information sessions will be made available (either in person or 
via videotape) when such programs or information sessions occur at times convenient to al 
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hospital employees on paid time and be held in the Hospital facility. 
 

E. Employees are offered all mandatory education sessions at no cost to the employee, overtime 
pay is paid to the employees (once they have accumulated hours to equal 37.5 hours in that 
work week) so they may attend mandatory sessions during their off hours shifts.  When a 
mandatory education session is offered at the hospital and the employee does not attend as 
scheduled or does not attend any other sessions offered throughout the year, that employee must 
complete the form of education deemed acceptable by the Hospital.  Whenever possible, the 
acceptable form of education will be a review of course material with posttest or handouts.  
However, should the acceptable form of education require participation outside the hospital, 
via physical presence, or via an on-line course, the costs incurred and time required to complete 
the education will be the responsibility of the employee.   

 
3.3 Non-Nursing Duties 
The Hospital agrees that duties normally performed by departments including, but not limited to, clerical, 
housekeeping, transport, dietary or maintenance shall be performed by those departments and not registered 
nurses.  The Hospital will regularly meet with HPAE representatives through Labor-Management meetings to 
attempt to establish practicable solutions which can be implemented to enable RNs to devote more time to 
patient care.  

 
Registered Nurses will be required to perform on an emergency basis any duties that provide a safe 
environment for the residents and patients. 
 
 
3.4 Staffing 
The issues of staffing and staffing patterns will be discussed during the regularly scheduled labor management 
meeting. The main objectives will be to review and evaluate staffing patterns and patient care delivery models.  
Additional Labor/Management Committee meetings may be requested specifically for the purpose of 
discussing modifications to RN staffing. 
 
3.5  The parties agree to work together to find a location for an off-unit Nursing Lounge that will be provided 
for the use of the Registered Nurses for their meal and break periods.  It shall be for the exclusive use of the 
Nursing Staff and shall be accessible to them at all times). 
 
ARTICLE 4. EMPLOYEE STATUS  
 
4.1 Change in Status, Classification or Shifts 
Transfers in status from full-time to part-time or per diem will be in accordance with Section 5.8.  If such 
transfer results in the entitlement of health insurance coverage, enrollment for such coverage shall begin in 
accordance with the terms of such coverage.   
 
4.2 Probationary Period 
All employees shall be on probation for a period of ninety (90) calendar days following the date of hire. 
  
4.3 Personnel File 
Employees shall be given the opportunity to review their personnel files upon request to the Administrator or 
his/her designee at a time reasonably convenient to the parties.. Documents other than Memos of Record, 
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correspondence between employees and hospital administrators and letters of commendation, should be 
presented to the employee for review and acknowledgement before being placed in the employee’s personnel 
file.  No document of anonymous origin shall be maintained in an employee's personnel file. The employee 
shall have the right to respond to any document in his/her personnel file and to be provided a copy of any 
document in such file.   The cost of such copies shall be as stated in Freeholders Resolution No. 2006-584. 
 

1st through 10th page:  $0.75  per page  
11th through 20th page:  $0.50 per page  
All pages over 20:    $0.25 per page   
 

Records of minor or major discipline shall not be considered after three (3) years of a clean record on the same 
or similar issue.  Instances of patient abuse or workplace violence shall be exempt from this provision. 
 
ARTICLE 5. SENIORITY 
 
5.1 Definition 
For the purpose of this agreement only, and consistent with, Article 1, Agreement Scope, bargaining unit 
seniority is defined as the length of time an employee has been continuously employed at Cornerstone 
Behavioral Health Hospital as a graduate nurse, and shall be computed retroactive to his/her last hire at 
Cornerstone Behavioral Health Hospital. All time spent in the status of per diem shall be considered as 
bargaining unit work for the purpose of determining an employee’s seniority.  
 
5.2 Accrual 
Seniority shall continue to accrue for up to twelve (12) months of a continuous leave of absence and shall 
accrue for up to 24 consecutive months of a layoff. 

 
5. 3 Maintenance 
All accrued seniority shall be maintained for the entire length of a leave of absence and layoff.  

 
5.4 Loss 
Employees shall lose seniority if the employee: 

A. Resigns; 
B. Leaves the bargaining unit within the meaning of Article 1, Agreement Scope; or 
C. is terminated for just cause. 

 
5. 5 Application  
Seniority, as defined in Section 1, shall apply only in cases of, scheduling vacation scheduling, holiday 
scheduling and as otherwise described within this agreement.  
 
5.6 Seniority List 
The employer shall compute seniority lists every January 1 and July 1.  A master seniority list, containing all 
bargaining unit employees, shall be given to the Union for posting on the Union bulletin board.  

 
5. 7 Layoff, Reduction of Hours 
The parties agree that layoff and reduction of hours shall be in accordance with the Department of Personnel’s 
rules for the State of New Jersey. 
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5. 8 Posting of Positions, Promotions 
The parties agree that promotions, demotions and hiring shall be in accordance with the Department of 
Personnel’s rules for the State of New Jersey. In addition the Hospital shall post the open positions including 
the anticipated unit, shift and status as soon as it becomes available. The position will be posted at a mutually 
agreeable location.    Positions covered by HPAE will continue to be posted until they are filled. 
 
The hospital agrees that the applicable policies and procedures pertaining to changes in positions and 
assignment shall be fairly and equitably applied to all candidates.  
 

a) Request for Change in Status, Shift, or Unit 
Employees seeking to move to another unit or shift will make their wishes known on the request list as 

per past practice.  
 

i. Requests for changes in status (FT or PT) or shift shall be offered in order of request for each 
appropriate opportunity. 
 

b) Request for Vacant Position 
 RN’s who are not in their working test period and who wish to make application to any vacancy shall 
submit their application to the Nursing Office. 

 
 The hospital retains the right to select the applicant, whether internal or external to the Hospital, that 
the Hospital determines is best qualified to fill the vacancy subject to the following procedure.  Qualifications 
that will be considered include, but are not limited to seniority, academic credentials, past performance, time 
and attendance, interpersonal skills, and experience. 
 
 In the event that new positions or assignments are created, the Hospital will post notice of vacancy for 
fourteen (14) calendar days, unless circumstances make this impossible.  The Union will be made aware of 
any such circumstances in writing in advance of the reduced posting period.   
 
 In filling these vacancies, employees having notified management of their interest in such position or 
assignment will be given the opportunity of an interview before the position is filled.   
 
 All employee applicants will be considered for the vacancy and will be notified of the Hospital’s 
decision within three (3) weeks.  If the internal applicant is not selected, the hospital will provide the applicant 
appropriate notice and rationale in writing. 
 
Long term transfers (not at the employee’s request) between units will not occur with less than four (4) weeks 
advance notice to the effected employee when circumstances permit).  
 
5.9  Closure of Units/Elimination of Positions 
 
When the management of the Hospital determines a need to eliminate positions due to the permanent closure 
of a unit or other reason, the following process may be considered as an alternative to layoff.  It has been 
designed to protect the bargaining unit seniority contained in section 5.5 of the CBA. 
 
For the purposes of this article, the term position will mean shift and regularly scheduled hours (FTE). 
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1. Management will develop a list of all displaced employees in order of bargaining unit seniority as 
defined by section 5.1. 

2. Management will develop a list of all available, vacant positions, identifying shift, unit/location and 
FTE equivalent. 

3. Management will develop a list of all currently filled positions, identifying the shift and unit/location, 
FTE equivalent as well as the bargaining unit seniority of the individual currently holding that position. 

4. All displaced individuals will meet with management, with an HPAE representative present, in 
bargaining unit seniority order based on the list from #1 above (regardless of FTE of the individual or 
position).  The most senior employee may request their choice of all vacant positions, including unit, 
with the same FTE value on his/her current shift whenever possible.  Requests will not be denied for 
disciplinary reasons or on an arbitrary/capricious basis.  If only one vacancy exists on the affected 
employees’ shift, the employee will be placed in that vacancy. 

 
The FTE equivalent of each vacancy will represent the total available hours of employment.  If there 
are no vacant positions on the same shift with the same FTE value, the employee may bump the least 
senior employee (including the displaced employee) on the same shift with the same FTE value.  If 
there are no less senior employees on the same shift with the same FTE value, the employee may take 
any vacant position, including unit, still available.  If there are no vacant positions, or if the FTE 
equivalency is not equal, the employee may bump the least senior employee (including the displaced 
employee) regardless of shift. 
 
If through this process an employee is bumped by another employee, they will be inserted in the list as 
per #1 and (called in that order) will have job preference in order of bargaining unit seniority. 
 
Note:  any forced reduction in hours requires a Department of Personnel sanctioned layoff action. 
 

5. All other employees will be called in order determined in #1 (as amended by the addition of bumped 
employees) and given the options available as outlined in #4.  
 

6. Employees who refuse vacant positions and refuse to exercise bumping rights, shall be considered to 
have voluntarily resigned. 
 

7. Employees who are bumped have the right of first refusal into their former position if vacated within 
an 18 month period. 
 
 

ARTICLE 6. SUBCONTRACTING  
 
6. 1 Subcontracting 
The County shall notify the Union at its local office at the time it submits a request for proposal (“RFP”) to 
subcontract work performed by employees represented by the Union unless emergency circumstances make 
such notification impossible. Upon request, the County agrees to meet with the Union to discuss the effects of 
the County’s decision to submit an RFP to subcontract work performed by unit employees.  
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ARTICLE 7. WORK TIME 
 
7.1 Normal Workday 
For the purposes of determining the application of any employee's regular compensation rate, the employee's 
normal workday will be seven and a one-half (7 ½) hours with a forty-five (45) minute unpaid duty free meal 
period. 
 
Work shifts shall be defined as follows: Day shift 7 a.m.-3:15 p.m., evening shift 3 p.m.-11:15 p.m., night shift 
11 p.m.- 7:15 a.m. 
 
In addition any existing alternative workday and workweek arrangements shall continue in their present form. 
Other creative scheduling options shall be discussed during the labor/ management meetings.  
 
The Labor/Management Committee shall meet to discuss shift formats, if on a particular unit a significant 
number of employees express interest in working the same shift.  The parties shall consider such factors as 
patient care needs, staff turnover, budgetary implications, employee satisfaction, overtime usage, per diem 
usage, vacancy rates and length of time positions remain open, unit specific certification requirements, staffing 
patterns, benefit time, benefit replacement time and schedules, as well as any other relevant issues that may 
arise during the course of discussion.  Changes in shift format shall not be unreasonably denied. 
 
7.2 Normal Workweek 
For full-time employees who are regularly scheduled to work on a seven and one-half (7 ½) hour per shift 
basis, the normal workweek will be 37.5 hours. The employee will have two (2) days off in each week. The 
workweek begins at 12:01 am. Sunday and ends midnight Saturday. 
 
7.3 Work Schedules 
The Hospital shall post a four (4) week schedule of each employee’s assignment not less than two (2) weeks 
in advance of the start of the schedule. Once posted, the schedule cannot be changed except by mutual 
agreement between the hospital and the employee involved. In addition, scheduling guidelines for Per Diems 
shall be as follows:  

A. Per Diems may be required to work 2 weekend shifts per month 
B. Per Diems shall be required to work one winter holiday, either Thanksgiving,  

     Christmas or New Years. 
C. Per Diems shall be required to work one summer holiday, either, Memorial Day,  
  July 4th or Labor Day. 
  
Procedure: Employees will indicate their availability for overtime or additional shifts by 

contacting the nursing office not more than seven (7) calendar days before the start of said shift.  Available 
times shall be offered to employees as follows1: 

A. Per diem employees shall be offered on a rotating basis up to three (3) shifts per  
                                                 

1  Available times shall be defined as shifts not filled by regularly scheduled staff. 

2 No employee shall be disciplined for no-call/no-show nor shall an employee be sent home due to 
confusion over confirmations of additional time. 
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     week, then 
 B. Part-time employees shall be offered on a rotating basis up to five (5) shifts per week, 

then  
C. Full-time employees shall be offered on a rotating basis available shifts until all 

available time is exhausted. 
1 Once each full-time employee has been offered a single shift, the cycle will  
 restart with section A with each employee being offered a single shift.   
 

Employees will be approved and confirmed for available shifts by the nursing office twenty-four (24) hours in 
advance of available shifts.  
 
Nursing Administration may request staff to work additional shifts in emergencies to provide safe care to 
patients and residents. 
 
Overtime Process for Cornerstone  
Available shifts1 for Cornerstone E and Cornerstone W will be posted on the bulletin board of Cornerstone E 
and Cornerstone W as soon as they are known to be available.  The list shall include date, shift available, date 
of posting, and date of removal.  The list will be posted for at least 14 calendar days.  Employees will submit 
a request in writing to the Chief Nursing Executive or designee, indicating the shifts for which they are 
available.  Available shifts shall be offered to employees as follows: 

A) Per Diem employees shall be offered on a rotating basis up to three (3) shifts per week, then 
B) Part time employees shall be offered on a rotating basis up to five (5) shifts per week, then 
C) Full time employees shall be offered on a rotating basis one (1) available shift, then 
D) Remaining available shifts shall be offered to interested employees on an equal and rotating basis 

until available work time is exhausted. 
Employees will be approved and confirmed2 for available shifts no later than twenty-four (24) hours in advance 
of the available shifts. 
 
Upon request, copies of the posted lists of available shifts shall be forwarded to the Union at the end of the 
posted schedule. 
Nursing Administration may request staff to work additional shifts in emergencies to provide safe care to 
patients. 
 
7.4 Cancellations of Extra Shift 
The Hospital shall provide to all bargaining unit employees (including all shifts for per diems) at least three (3) hours’ 
notice before canceling any scheduled extra shifts. An employee whose shift is canceled will receive payment for the 
full shift in the event that notice has not been received. Shift cancellations will be in reverse seniority on the affected 
unit and shift. 
 
7.5 Weekend Work 
A weekend is defined as Saturday and Sunday. Employees who work in a department or unit that is closed on a weekend 
shall be off every weekend. Employees who work in a department or unit that is open on a weekend shall be off every 
other weekend.  
 
Employees shall be granted the weekend shift off either preceding or following a scheduled week of vacation, from 
Sunday to Saturday. Employees will be granted an additional four (4) weekend shifts off during each calendar year. 
Employees will request the additional weekend shifts off two (2) weeks prior to posting the schedule. Additional 
weekend shifts off will be granted based on staffing coverage. Employees will work no less than forty-four (44) weekend 
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shifts in each calendar year.  
 
7.6 Shift Rotation 
In the event shortages on a particular Unit and shift necessitates shift rotation, the Hospital shall first discuss alternatives 
to rotation. In the event that there are no alternatives to shift rotation, the Hospital shall seek volunteers. As a last resort, 
on a rotating basis, the least senior employee in that unit will be required to rotate to another shift.  

 
The Hospital shall provide fourteen (14) days notice prior to the posting of a four (4) week schedule to employees who 
may be required to rotate. An employee who is rotated shall maintain their present shift differential or receive the 
differential for shift to which he/she is rotated whichever is greater.  
 
7.7 Floating/Pulling 
 

The Hospital will float (pull) nurses in the following order: 
A. Per diem nurses; 
B. Overtime employees who will be required to float before permanently scheduled employees; 
C. Part-time employees who are permanently scheduled shall be floated in order of their FTE rank        

lowest to highes t, e.g: 0.2FTE will be floated first, then 0.4 FTE, 0.6 FTE, and then 0.8 FTE 
respectively; 

D.       Full-time employees who are permanently scheduled. 
 

Available employees shall be utilized in order of reverse seniority on a rotating basis.  
 

 
ARTICLE 8. MONETARY BENEFITS  
 
8.1 Regular Compensation Rate 
An employee’s regular compensation rate of pay is defined as base hourly rate, differential for national certification and 
educational differential to which the employee is entitled in this Agreement.  This rate applies up to 37.5 hours in a 
workweek. 
 
8.2 Premium Compensation Rate - Overtime Work 
All employees shall be compensated at time and one-half for all hours worked in excess of 37.5 hours in a workweek 
effective April 28, 2002.  For the purposes of computing overtime, all sick days, bereavement days, and personal business 
days shall be excluded as hours worked, effective April 28, 2002. 
 
8.3 Pay Period 
Effective January 1, 2016, employees shall be paid on a bi-monthly basis on the 15th and 30th of the month (or 
28th or 29th during the month of February). When the pay day occurs on a holiday or weekend, paychecks or 
direct deposits will be issued on the day prior to the holiday or the Friday prior to the weekend.  In the event 
that the County determines a need to change to a semi-monthly payroll and/or mandatory direct deposit, the 
County will notify the Union at least six weeks prior to the date of the potential change and the parties will 
meet to resolve any potential issues that are identified prior to the implementation. Employees shall receive 
with each paycheck a statement that clearly identifies specific hours worked and compensation, base rate of 
pay, overtime amount, and any differentials and/or monetary benefits paid to the employee which was used to 
calculate the employee’s wage.  The statement shall also include the status of accrued and unused benefit time. 
 
Employees may pick up their pay stubs on payday, or for one (1) week thereafter at a designated site at the 
Hospital. Employees may choose to have their paychecks mailed to an address provided by the employee. 
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When an error in pay that amounts to less than one week’s pay has been made, the Hospital will issue a check 
with the correction in the next pay period. When an error in pay that amounts to more than one week’s pay has 
been made, the Hospital will issue a check with the correction the same day.  
 
In the event the County implements a mandatory direct deposit requirement, the Union will not contest such 
change. 
 
8.4 Daylight Saving Time 

Employees are paid on an hourly basis and shall be paid for all hours worked.  
 

8.5 Compensation for Committee Attendance 
Employees who serve on Hospital committees, and are required to attend by the Hospital, shall be paid at their regular 
compensation rate of pay for all time spent at said meetings when attended on the employee’s off-duty time. Employees 
who are on-duty during attendance at said meetings shall be permitted to attend without loss of pay.  
 
8.6  Retention Bonus 
All RNs, except per diems, shall receive a retention bonus for all hours worked, but not to exceed 1950 hours in any one 
year period.  To be eligible for the bonus, employees must be employed through December 31 of the year and have 
completed 12 months of service. Employees who retire mid-year or who are involuntarily laid off, will be eligible through 
their effective date of retirement or lay-off.  The retention bonus shall be paid in a separate check no later than the second 
pay period of January in the succeeding year in accordance with the following schedule, which shall remain at the 
specified rates for the duration of the agreement: 
 
Effective January 1, 2009, increase retention bonus at $0.10 per hour as follows: 
 5+ to 9 years experience    $0.25 per hour 

9+ to 12 years experience    $0.45 per hour 
12+ to 20 years experience    $0.70 per hour 
20+ to 30 years experience    $1.10 per hour 

            30+ years experience     $1.25 per hour 
 
8.7 Recruitment Bonus 
Any Bargaining Unit Employee who refers an RN to Cornerstone for employment shall be entitled to receive upon the 
hiring and continued employment of such referred RN  for a period of at least 12 consecutive months the following 
recruitment bonus: 
 
$1000 for an RN 
 
Bonuses for referral of Part time and Per Diem employees will be prorated based upon the number of hours the referred 
employee worked during the same 12 consecutive month period. 
 
8.8   Licensure Reimbursement 
The County shall provide full reimbursement for biannual licensure renewal fee inclusive of initial 
fingerprinting.   
  
ARTICLE 9. HOLIDAYS 
 
9. 1  Holiday Designation 
Full time employees shall be entitled to the following paid holidays within each calendar year:  Holidays for part-time 
employees, excluding per diem employees, will be prorated based on the number of hours worked. 
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 New Year's Day    Martin Luther King's Birthday 
 Lincoln’s Birthday    Washington’s Birthday 
 Good Friday     Memorial Day 
 Independence Day    Labor Day 
 Columbus Day     Election Day 
 Veteran’s Day     Thanksgiving Day     
 Day after Thanksgiving Day    Christmas Day 
 
The HPAE agrees to substitute Juneteenth for Lincoln’s Birthday and change Washington’s Birthday to 
President’s Day.  Juneteenth shall be celebrated on the third Friday of June.  This change shall become effective 
when all County bargaining units accept such change. 
 
 
9.2 Holiday Entitlement, Scheduling 
Recognizing that the Hospital operates every day of the year, and that it is not possible for all employees to be off on the 
same da  y, the Hospital shall have the right to schedule employees to work on holidays, but will do so on an equitable 
basis and will take into account employees preference. 

 
A. If more than one (1) employee requests the same day to be scheduled as holiday time and staffing permits 

scheduling additional employees on a holiday, it shall be granted based on seniority as long as staffing 
levels are maintained. 

 
B. If two (2) or more employees from the same unit request the same day to be scheduled as holiday time, 

the employee having worked that holiday the previous year shall be granted the holiday. 
 

C. Bargaining unit seniority shall prevail when employees received the same holiday off the previous year.  
An employee may waive such rights.  
 

9.3 Holiday Payment 
Full-time employees who work on any of the holidays listed in this Agreement shall be paid for all hours actually worked 
at the employee’s regular compensation rate of pay. Part-time employees who work on any of the holidays listed in this 
Agreement shall be paid for all hours worked at the employee’s regular compensation rate of pay.  In addition to the 
above, employees may choose to be paid 7 ½ hours of pay at their regular compensation rate or receive another requested 
day off at the employee’s option with pay. If a holiday falls on an employee’s scheduled day off, the employee may 
choose either to receive another day off at the employee’s option with pay or to be paid for the day. For part-time 
employees, holidays not worked may either be paid at straight time on a pro-rated basis, or they may receive additional 
time off on a pro-rated basis based upon hours worked.  Thanksgiving, Day after Thanksgiving and Christmas may be 
carried over to the first quarter of the next calendar year. In addition, employees may utilize designated holidays, 
enumerated in Section 1, thirty (30) days before the date of the holiday.  Per Diem employees are excluded from this 
benefit.  
 
Requests for payment of accrued but not used holidays prior to January 1, 2009 shall be paid as per past practice.  All 
Full-Time and Part-Time employees who were not paid in 2008 as per the practice will be paid the difference between 
what they received and what they should have received.  Effective January 1, 2009, Full time employees who opt to 
“bank” a holiday and later request that it be paid out, will continue to have such hours counted in the computation of 
overtime.  Part-Time employees who opt to “bank” a holiday and later request that it be paid out, will not have such 
hours counted in the computation of overtime. 
 
All employees who opt to be paid for the holiday in the week in which it falls shall have such hours counted in the 
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computation of overtime. 
 

All employees will have either Christmas or New Year's off. An employee may waive such rights. 
 

For the purpose of scheduling only, employees who are subject to a seven (7) day a week schedule shall observe holidays 
on the actual day they occur e.g., if Christmas falls on Saturday it will be observed on Saturday.  Employees who are 
subject to a Monday - Friday schedule will observe holidays as follows: If the holiday falls on a Saturday, it will be 
observed the preceding Friday, if the holiday falls on a Sunday, it will be observed on Monday or according to the 
County’s holiday calendar. 
 
For the 11-7 shift, holidays shall be celebrated commencing at 11 p.m. on the day before the holiday. 
 
An employee who has resigned or who has otherwise separated from employment shall be entitled to holiday 
time pay for the current year pro-rated upon the number of holidays earned in the number of months the 
employee received pay in a calendar year in which the separation becomes effective, in addition to any unused 
holiday time due for the previous year. 
 
ARTICLE 10. VACATION 
 
10.1 Vacation Amount 
Vacation accrual will commence upon the successful completion of the employee's probationary period and will be 
credited retroactively to the employee's date of hire. 

 
Vacation entitlement for full-time employees will be determined in accordance with the following schedule: 

A. During the first calendar year of employment, employees shall earn one (1) vacation day for each month 
of service. 

B. Employees with one (1) to eight (8) years of service shall be entitled to thirteen (13) working days 
vacation each year. 

C. Employees with (8) years completed service to ten (10) years shall be entitled to fourteen (14) working 
days vacation each year. 

D. Employees with ten (10) years completed service to fifteen (15) years shall be entitled to seventeen 
(17) working days vacation each year. 

E.    Employees with fifteen (15) years completed service to twenty (20) years shall be entitled to nineteen 
(19) working days vacation each year. 
E.       Employees with twenty (20) years completed service to twenty-five (25) years shall be entitled 

to     twenty- two (22) working days vacation each year. 
 

Employees with twenty-five (25) years or more of service shall be entitled to the following schedule:  
A. Twenty-Five (25) years = Twenty-seven (27) vacation days each year 
B. Twenty-six years (26)= Twenty-eight (28) vacation days each year 
C. Twenty-seven years (27)= Twenty-nine (29) vacation days each year 
D. Twenty-eight years (28)= Thirty (30) vacation days each year  
E. Twenty-nine years (29)= Thirty-one (31) vacation days each year 
F. Thirty years (30) = Thirty-two (32) vacation days each year 

 
10.2 Vacation Pay 
An employee will be paid for vacation at the employee's regular compensation rate of pay.     

 
10.3 Vacation Entitlement 
All regular part-time employees shall be entitled to vacation on a proportionate basis based on the number of hours he 
or she actually worked.  Per Diem employees are not entitled to vacation benefits. 
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An employee who has resigned or who has otherwise separated from employment shall be entitled to vacation allowance 
for the current year pro-rated upon the number of months the employee received pay in a calendar year in which the 
separation becomes effective, in addition to any unused and approved vacation time carried over from the previous year. 

 
If an employee dies having vacation credits accrued within the limits described previously, a sum of money equal to the 
compensation computed on said employee's regularly compensation rate of pay at the time of death shall be calculated 
and paid to the employee's estate.  

 
An employee who is retiring on a pension based on length of service shall be entitled to the full vacation for the calendar 
year. 
 
10.4 Vacation Scheduling 
The vacation period will be the entire year. Vacations will be scheduled by the Hospital in a manner designed to insure 
that appropriate staffing needs are meet on the unit. Requests for vacation time will be submitted before the posting of 
the affected schedule.  Vacation requests made after the posting of the affected schedule shall not be unreasonably denied.  
 
Vacation allowance must be taken by the end of the calendar year following the calendar year in which it was accrued. 
An employee may carry a maximum of one (1) year of earned vacation allowance forward into the next succeeding year. 
When unusual circumstances warrant an exception, amounts greater than one (1) year can be carried over with approval 
of the Administrator or his/her designee, not to exceed 50% of the vacation allowance for that year that have been 
requested and denied.  

 
By September 1st of each year, a staff member’s department head/designee will advise the staff member of the number 
of vacations days remaining which must be used by the end of the calendar year or forfeited.  

 
The choice of vacation time for bargaining unit members will be determined within the work unit on the basis of 
bargaining unit seniority. Vacation time may be taken as one (1) or more single days, or one (1) or more single weeks.  

 
More than one (1) employee per work unit and shift may be scheduled for vacation at one time.  Employees are not 
responsible for providing coverage as a basis for the approval. Employees who do secure coverage will not be 
unreasonably denied the time. Where conflicts in choice of dates occur, preference will be governed by bargaining unit 
seniority on a unit basis. 
 
Employees may submit written requests by March 31st for vacation time between June 15th – August 31st, and September 
30th for vacation requests the Sunday before Thanksgiving through the Saturday after New Year’s Day.  Vacation 
requests shall not be unreasonable denied.  Employees will be notified by April 15th and October 15th, respectively, about 
vacation requests.  For other vacation requests, the Hospital will notify the employee in writing within ten (10) working 
days from the employee’s request. 
 
ARTICLE 11 - SICK LEAVE 
 
Sick Leave may be used by employees who are unable to work because of personal illness or injury or for the care of a 
family member or for a person with whom they have an in lieu of spousal relationship. Employees on a leave of absence 
under circumstances that qualify under The Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (“FMLA”) and the New Jersey 
Family Leave Act (“NJFLA”) will have such leave considered to be taken under and in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the FMLA.  
 
Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to waive or reduce rights or benefits provided pursuant to the New Jersey 
Earned Sick Law (Assembly Bill No. A1827. an act concerning earned sick leave signed into law on May 2nd, 2018 and 
supplementing New Jersey P.L.1966. c. 113 (c. 34-11-56a et seq.) (the “Earned Sick Leave Act”). 
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11.1 Sick Leave Entitlement and Amount 

A. Sick leave for full-time and part-time negotiation unit employees shall be earned in the following manner: 
1. New employees shall receive one (1) working day for the initial month of employment, if they begin 

employment on the first through eighth day of the calendar month, and one-half (1/2) working day if they 
begin employment on the ninth through the twenty-third day of the month.  

2. After the initial month of employment and up to the end of the first calendar year, employees shall be credited 
with one (1) working day for each month of service. Thereafter, at the beginning of each calendar year, in 
anticipation of continued employment, employees shall be credited with fifteen (15) working days.  

3. Part-time employees shall be entitled to a proportionate amount of paid sick leave based upon the actual 
hours worked.  

4. Paid sick days shall not accrue during a leave of absence without pay. 
5. Unused sick leave shall accumulate from year to year without limit.  
6. During the term of this agreement, employees shall receive one (1) day off with pay for each calendar quarter 

for perfect attendance, with an additional day off if there is perfect attendance in four consecutive calendar 
quarters. A calendar year shall be January to December.  Part-time employees shall receive a prorated 
attendance bonus based upon the actual hours worked. In the event of lateness due to inclement weather or 
other circumstances beyond the employee’s control the employee may ask the manager that such lateness 
not be counted against the employee for the purposes of this provision. Such determination shall not be 
unreasonably denied. 

 
If the employee is fifteen (15) minutes late cumulatively per quarter or neglects to swipe their time 
card in and/or out four (4) times per quarter they shall not be eligible for the bonus day.  
 

B. Sick leave for per diem negotiation unit employees shall be earned in the following manner: 
 

1. Per diem employees shall accrue sick leave at a rate of one (1) hour for every thirty (30) hours 
worked, up to a maximum of forty (40) hours per benefit year.   

2. Sick leave hours may be used as accrued and if available, more than forty (40) hours may be used 
in a benefit year.   

3. Unused sick leave shall accumulate from year to year without limit. 
4. The benefit year is twelve (12) consecutive months beginning each January 1st.  

 
C. Sick leave may be used for any of the following purposes: 

 
1. Time needed for diagnosis, care, or treatment of, or recovery from, an employee’s     mental 

or physical illness, injury or other adverse health condition, or for preventive medical care for 
the employee; 

2. time needed for the employee to aid or care for a family member of the employee during 
diagnosis, care, or treatment of, or recovery from, the family member’s mental or physical 
illness, injury or other adverse health condition, or during preventive medical care for the 
family member; 

3. absence necessary due to circumstances resulting from the employee, or a family member of 
the employee, being a victim of domestic or sexual violence, if the leave is to allow the 
employee to obtain for the employee or the family member:  medical attention needed to 
recover from physical or psychological injury or disability caused by domestic or sexual 
violence; services from a designated domestic violence agency or other victim services 
organization psychological or other counseling; relocation; or legal services, including 
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obtaining a restraining order or preparing for, or participating in, any civil or criminal legal 
proceeding related to the domestic or sexual violence; 

4. time during which the employee is not able to work because of a closure of the employee’s 
workplace, or the school or place of care of a child of the employee, by order of a public 
official due to an epidemic r other public health emergency, or because of the issuance by a 
public health authority of a determination that the presence in the community of the 
employee, or a member of the employee’s family in need of care by the employee, would 
jeopardize the health of others; or’ 

5. time needed by the employee in connection with a child of the employee to attend a school-
related conference, meeting, function or other event requested or required by a school 
administrator, teacher, or other professional staff member responsible for the child’s 
education, or to attend a meeting regarding care provided to the child in connection with the 
child’s health conditions or disability. 
 

D. Definitions 
1. “Family member” means a child, grandchild, sibling, spouse, domestic partner, civil union 

partner, parent, or grandparent of an employee, or a spouse, domestic partner, or civil union 
partner of a parent or grandparent of the employee, or a sibling of a spouse, domestic partner, 
or civil union partner of the employee, or any other individual related by blood to the 
employee or whose close association with the employee is the equivalent of a family 
relationship. 

 
2. “Child” means a biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild or legal ward of an employee, 

child of a domestic partner or civil union partner of the employee. 
 
3. “Parent” means a biological, adoptive, or foster parent, stepparent, or legal guardian of an 

employee’s spouse, domestic partner or civil union partner, or a person who stood in loco 
parentis of the employee or the employee’s spouse, domestic partner or civil union partner 
when the employee, spouse or partner was a minor child. 
 

E. Leave under the New Jersey SAFE Act: 
Negotiations unit employees are entitled to leave pursuant to the New Jersey SAFE Act if the absence 
is necessary due to circumstances resulting from the employee, or a family member of the employee, 
being a victim of domestic or sexual violence; if the leave is to allow the employee to obtain for the 
employee or the family member medical attention needed to recover from physical or psychological 
injury or disability caused by domestic or sexual violence; to obtain services from a designated 
domestic violence agency or other victim services organization; to obtain psychological or other 
counseling; relocation; or legal services, including obtaining a restraining order or preparing for, or 
participating in, any civil or criminal legal proceeding related to the domestic or sexual violence. 
 

F.  The Hospital shall not count sick leave accrued and taken under this Section as an occurrence or 
absence that may result in the negotiations unit employee being subject to discipline, discharge, 
demotion, suspension, a loss or reduction of pay, or any other adverse action. 

11.2 Sick Leave Notice 
If an employee is absent due to a personal illness or injury, his or her supervisors shall be notified as soon as 
practicable. Except for an unforeseen circumstance, employees will be required to give at least two(2) hour’s 
notice.  
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11.3 Unused Sick Leave Payment 

Effective April 28, 2002, the County agrees to introduce a modified program of payment for unused sick leave 
upon retirement in accordance with the following requirements: 

 
(a) Eligibility for payment under this program requires that an employee must retire with at least twenty-five (25) 

years of service solely with the County of Union, and must be at least age 55, and must have at least one 
hundred (100) accumulated sick days to his or her credit upon effective date of retirement. 

(b) Additional rules and regulations applicable to eligibility for this benefit are attached hereto as Exhibit A and 
made a part thereof. 

 
ARTICLE 12 – LEAVES 
 
12.1 Personal Business 

Full-time employees who are employed less than one (1) year are entitled to be granted up to three (3) paid days 
off for personal business in accordance with the following schedule:  

 
A. One  (1) day after four months of employment. 
B. One (1) additional day after eight (8) months of employment. 
C. The third (3rd) day may be granted between the tenth (10th) and twelfth (12th) month of employment.  
Full-time employees who have been employed for more than one (1) year are entitled to be granted up to three 
(3) paid days per year.  

 
Personal business days will be pro-rated for employees who are less than full-time.  Employees who work 1-2 
days per week shall receive one (1) personal day per year.  Employees who work 3-4 days per week shall receive 
two (2) personal days per year.  Per diem employees are not entitled to personal business days. 
 

12.2 Death in Family 
Up to five (5) days will be paid during the absence from duty of an employee when such absence is caused by 
the death of a spouse,* child or child of spouse*. 
 
Up to three (3) days will be paid during the absence from duty of an employee when such absence is caused by 
the death of a parent, sibling, grandparent or such relatives of the employee’s spouse*. 
 
Up to three (3) days will be paid during the absence from duty of an employee when such absence is caused by 
the death of any other relative who has legal residence with the employee. 
 
*For purposes of this article, spouse shall be defined as anyone who is living in an in lieu of spousal relationship 
with the employee and who has legal residence with the employee. 

 
12.3 Jury Duty Leave Amount and Procedure 

Employees shall be granted necessary time off, at the employee's regular compensation rate of pay, when he/she 
is summoned and performs jury duty as prescribed by applicable law. In no case will jury duty be granted or 
credited for more than the standard workday or workweek for the employee. Employees who work the day and 
evening shift shall be granted the same day off. Employees who work the night shift will be granted off the 
preceding night.  

 
The receipt of a notice to report for jury duty must be reported to the appropriate supervisor. 
 
No employee shall be required to serve more than five (5) days per week in any combination of jury duty and 
regular work time. 
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12.4 Court Appearance 

Employees shall be granted necessary time off, at the employee's regular compensation rate of pay, when he or 
she is summoned to testify at depositions or in court, or other investigatory interviews, on behalf of Union 
County. Employees who work the day and evening shift shall be granted the same day off. Employees who work 
the night shift will be granted off the preceding night. 
 
The employee shall report receipt of any subpoena or court order related to the Hospital to the designated 
department.  
 

12.5 Meal Period 
Employees who are requested to work through all or part of their regularly scheduled meal period will be paid for 
such time worked. 

 
12.6   Cancer Screening 

The Hospital shall provide each employee with four (4) hours of paid leave for cancer screening on an annual 
basis.  The four hours can be used for both appointments and preparation time scheduled during the employee’s 
work time. The employee will provide his/her supervisor with documentation of the screening appointment, and 
provide a minimum of five (5) days notice to the Hospital of the appointment unless the screening is of an emergent 
nature. 

 
ARTICLE 13. LEAVES OF ABSENCE  
 
Leave of absence without pay may be granted to permanent employees for good and substantial reasons such as education 
or maternity in accordance with the personnel policies of Union County. Request for leave without pay must be submitted 
in writing by the employee to his or her Department Head.  

 
Employees on a leave of absence under circumstances that qualify under the Family Medical Leave Act 1993 (FMLA) 
and the New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA) will have such leave considered to be taken under and in accordance 
with the applicable provisions of the FMLA or the NJFLA and the County of Union’s Family Leave and Medical Leave 
Act Policy (“Policy”) A copy of the policy may be obtained from the Director of the Division of Personnel Management 
and Labor Relations.   
 
While temporary employees may be granted a leave of absence without pay as herein provided in accordance with the 
Department of Personnel Rules and Regulations, the Employer shall not be responsible to hold a job for the said 
employee.  

 
Leave of absence without pay for up to twelve (12) months shall be granted to Union officers who gain employment 
with the Union with rights to renew for up to an additional twelve (12) months. Upon expiration of such leave, the 
employee shall be entitled to return to his or her former position. 
 
 
ARTICLE 14.  WORK RELATED SICKNESS OR INJURY 
 
If an employee is injured or becomes ill, arising out of and during the course of his or her employment, the following 
procedures shall be applicable: 
 

A. The employee shall notify his or her Supervisor of the work-related injury or illness. 
B. If the County’s workers compensation insurance carrier does not dispute the causal relationship between 

the employment and the injuries or illness then the employee shall be paid his or her full pay up to the 
first ninety (90) calendar days following the date of the injury or illness and no charge shall be made to 
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the employee’s sick leave accumulation (or any other benefit time, even if pre-scheduled), provided, the 
employee turns over to the County any checks received from Worker’s Compensation. If the employee 
receives an injury which has been inflicted on the employee by any person or persons arising out of the 
employee’s employment, the ninety (90) day calendar period shall be extended up to one hundred eighty 
(180) days.  

C. After the applicable ninety (90) or one hundred eighty (180) calendar day period has expired, the 
employee shall have the option to utilize that portion of sick leave to subsidize the difference between 
workers’ compensation benefits and their full salary. Only that portion of the sick benefit utilized will 
be charged from the employee’s sick bank accrual. 

D. If any employee is absent from work for seven (7) days or less, due to a work related injury or illness, 
the employee shall be paid his or her full pay and will not have any charge made against sick leave 
accumulation. In addition, the employee shall be reimbursed for medication prescribed for themselves 
or their family members, if deemed compensable by the County’s insurance carrier. 

E. The County shall provide transportation for the initial visit to a doctor’s office or to a hospital for an 
employee who becomes sick or is injured, where such doctor or hospital visit is necessary and no other 
means of transportation is immediately available. 

F.  In the event of all Workers Compensation claims, the Union will as soon as practicable (no later than the 
next business day) be notified that a work related event has occurred.  Such notification shall include a copy 
of the first injury report. 

  
ARTICLE 15.  HEALTH AND SAFETY 
 
15.1 Employer Obligation 

 The Hospital agrees to provide adequate and regularly maintained sanitary facilities for employees' use. Each 
employee will maintain acceptable standards of personal hygiene and cleanliness in accordance with the 
requirements of the job. 

 
 The Hospital shall make reasonable provisions for the safety and health of its employees and will observe all 

applicable health and safety laws and regulations.  The Hospital will provide appropriate safety devices for 
employees.  

 
 The Hospital and the Union agree to discuss problems concerning health and safety in the Labor/Management 

meetings.  
 
 The Hospital shall upon request, provide the Union with the results of all health and safety inspections of the 

facility.  The Hospital shall notify the Union of all such inspections where the inspections were initiated as a 
result of a Union/employee complaint and/or grievance.  The Hospital will also notify the Union in cases where 
on-going health and safety hazards which affect HPAE membership are discovered. 

 
 Walk through inspections:  One negotiation unit employee designated by HPAE may do a biannual walkthrough 

with the CNO or his/her designee.  The purpose is to jointly identify opportunities to improve safety in the 
workplace.  These individuals will submit their findings to the Labor and Management Committee as outlined 
in Section 3.1.  The parties will review the findings and if necessary develop an action plan to address these 
issues.   

 
15.2      The Hospital agrees to establish standards of care and administrative procedures to ensure the safe usage of 

latex.  
 
15.3 Management of assaultive behavior (“code grey”) response training and medical emergency (“code blue”) 

response training with instructors shall be scheduled annually for all employees.  It is the responsibility of the 
individual employee to attend the session for which they are scheduled.  The hospital will not schedule the 
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employee for this training on their regular day off or vacation. 
 
15.4 The Hospital will continue the use of a needleless IV system. 
 
15.5 The County Manager or his designee is authorized to determine (or announce) that there exists a state of 

emergency due to inclement weather conditions. The following policy shall commence at the announcement of 
the state of emergency and shall remain in effect for 24 hours.  The policy can be extended if it is determined 
and announced by the County Manager or his designee that the state of emergency still exists. Extensions will 
be granted in 24-hour intervals.  If no state of emergency announcement is declared, normal working schedules 
shall prevail and remain in force. 
 
A. Employees who report to work during the declared state of emergency shall receive additional hours of pay 
at straight time on an hour for hour basis only for hours worked during the emergency.   
 
B. Employees who call in but cannot report for work due to an inability to obtain transportation, shall receive 
compensation for their scheduled shift and have no charge to their accrued time. If the employee is offered 
transportation to the Hospital and declines, or is a no-call, no show, the employee will not receive any 
compensation for the day.  If transportation to work is provided by the Hospital, the Hospital will make 
reasonable effort to provide transportation home. 
 
C. Employees who are on an approved leave of absence prior to the declared emergency shall not receive any 
credit for additional time off.  This is inclusive of sick time, vacation time, and any other pre-authorized time 
off.  If an employee calls in sick during the declared emergency, they will have a sick day charged and not 
receive any additional compensation or receive credit for additional time off. 
 
D. The Hospital will make every effort to provide food and beverages to employees working during any declared 
weather emergency. 

 
15.6 The County strives to maintain an atmosphere which to the greatest degree possible will discourage workplace 

violence.  Violence, threats, or verbal abuse toward county employees by any person will be dealt with in a 
reasonable fashion to include applicable regulations and/or statutes. The Hospital will act with due diligence to 
pursue these cases. Upon the union’s request, all information relating to the status of the County’s investigation 
to an alleged incident will be provided to the union.  The parties shall work together to assure that all aspects of 
the New Jersey Workplace Violence Prevention Act are fully implemented.  A minimum of one Union designee 
shall serve on all committees established in compliance with the Act. 

 
ARTICLE 16. FACILITY PARKING 
 
As per past practice, (where practicable) the Hospital will provide parking spaces for all employees and reserve adequate 
parking close to the Hospital for employees on the 3-11 and 11-7 shifts. Upon request, a security escort shall be provided. 
 
ARTICLE 17. BENEFITS 
 
The County shall continue to provide the current prescription, dental, vision and health benefits to employees under the 
current terms and conditions.  Employee contributions towards medical, vision and dental benefits are based on the rates 
set forth in Chapter 78 P.L. 2011. 
 
During the term of the 2021 Agreement, the parties agree that Chapter 78 contributions shall be frozen at the rate in 
effect as of July 1, 2018.  The employee’s contribution amount shall not change if the premium increases or if the 
employee’s salary increase moves him/her into a new range.  An employee’s contribution amount may change if he/she 
changes health plans or changes category coverage, i.e. moves from family to single coverage or single to family 
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coverage, etc.   
 
17.1 Health Insurance Coverage 

The following provisions applicable to health insurance coverage will be maintained during the term of this 
Agreement: 

 
A. Deductible for any one benefit period shall be Two Hundred ($200.00) Dollars for each employee and 

a total amount of an additional Two Hundred ($200.00) Dollars for eligible dependents. 
B. Co-payment by Employees for Major Medical coverage shall be (70/30) percent of the first Five 

Thousand ($5,000.00) Dollars of eligible expenses. 
C. Pre-admission review (PAR) with fifty (50%) percent cutback. 
D. Out of network deductible for any one benefit period shall be Five Hundred ($500.00) Dollars for  single 

coverage and a total amount of an additional One Thousand ($1000) Dollars for  family coverage. 
E. Out of network reimbursement rates shall be calculated at One Hundred Fifty (150%) Percent of 

CMS(Medicare). 
         

Emergency Room co-pays shall be implemented for both Direct Access and PPO as Follows: 

 Effective May 1, 2009 -- $25.00 per visit 

 Direct Access shall replace Horizon PPO with current co-pays maintained:  

 $10.00 co-pay for in network services – doctor’s office visits only 

 Effective May 1, 2009, the Third Party Administrator (TPA) will be eliminated and the 
County will no longer reimburse employees for any out-of-network charges. 

Horizon PPO  shall be maintained for employees choosing the plan with their cost being the difference between 
the PPO premium and the Direct Access premium in any given year. 

Employee contributions towards medical, vision and dental benefits are based on the rates set forth in Chapter 
78, P.L. 2011. 

Out of network cost share for Horizon PPO shall remain 70/30, effective in 2002.  Deductible for any single 
benefit period shall remain $500 for each employee and an additional amount of $1000 for eligible dependents.       

Effective July 1, 2015, the County implemented two (2) additional health benefits plans – a high 
deductible plan with a health savings account (HSA) and an exclusive provider organization (EPO) 
plan.  Copies of the benefit summaries for each plan is attached hereto as Exhibit A.  Employees hired 
on or after September 1, 2015, shall be required to choose one of these two plans during the first two 
(2) years of employment.  Following the completion of two (2) years of employment and during the 
next open enrollment period, employees may elect to participate in one of the County’s other plans. All 
current employees may voluntarily select one of these plans during open enrollment.  With regard to 
the HSA, the County agrees that it will contribute $1000 towards the deductible for single coverage 
and $2000 towards the deductible for family coverage for both current and new employees who elect 
the HSA. 
 
Health Benefit Buy-Out Option:  Effective January 1, 2006, the health benefit buy-out option shall be 
$5,000.00 annually for employees covered by spouse plan (Family and Husband/Wife) who decline additional 
health coverage.  Also, as of June 1, 2007, the Health Benefit Buyout for Single coverage from another source 
in the amount of $1,800.00 shall be effective.  Health Benefit Buyout options for Family, Husband/Wife, and 
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Single Coverages shall continue to be offered for the duration of this Agreement.  The buy-out will be payable 
in 26 installments over the year said insurance coverage is not provided by the County.  Employees opting-out 
shall retain the right to re-enter the County Health Benefit Plan on a monthly basis.  Upon re-entering the plan, 
payments for opting-out shall cease; this benefit shall be discontinued if the County becomes self-insured. The 
parties recognize that this buy-out covers both the Health Insurance and Prescription drug plans.  In accordance 
with Resolution No. 2016-930 effective January 1, 2017 the Health Benefit Buyout Option has been 
eliminated. 

 
Prescription Plan –  
          

Prescription co-pay shall be as follows: 
Retail: 
 
$5.00 co-pay per prescription for generic (or name brand where no generic exists)  
$25.00 co-pay per prescription for preferred brand 
$50.00 co-pay per prescription for non-preferred brand 
 
 
Mail: 
 
$5.00 co-pay per prescription for generic (or name brand where no generic exists)  
$30.00 co-pay per prescription for preferred brand 
$60.00 co-pay per prescription for non-preferred brand 
 

The above co-pays shall apply to both retail pharmacy purchases (up to thirty (30) day supply and a ninety (90) day 
supply through mail order. 
 
The restriction on flow through of prescription co-payments to the Major Medical portion of the health insurance 
coverage shall be continued. 
 
Drug Plan Utilization Modifications 
 

a)  Enhanced Concurrent Drug Utilization Review (Refill too soon/stockpiling) 
 

b) Preferred Drug Step Therapy (Generic or Preferred Name Brand first) Limited to PPI, SSRI and Intranasal 
steroid drugs 
 

c) Clinical Intervention (Statement of medical necessity from MD) Limited to Anti-Narcoleptic Agents, 
Weight Loss and Antineoplastic Agents 

 
17.2 The Dental Plan 
  The dental plan in effect since 1982 (herein the base plan: employee only 50/50% basis) shall be continued for 

the term of this Agreement the annual cap shall be $2,000.  Employees covered by this Agreement shall have 
the option to maintain the existing plan or obtain an improved dental plan, either single or family, that provides 
coverage on an 80/20 percent basis up to $2,000.00. Employees shall also have an option to select coverage 
under the Health Plex Plan. Employees who opt for any of these coverages shall pay the difference in cost that 
exceeds the  cost of the base plan. 

 
17.2a Eye Care Plan 

Effective July 1, 2006, the VSP Eye Care Plan shall be implemented for employees only and the premium paid 
100% by the County.  Employees may enroll family members at their expense through payroll deduction. 
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17.3 Modifications to Benefits 

The Employer reserves the right to change or modify existing carrier or carriers that provide health benefits, 
disability benefits, dental benefits or drug prescription benefits at any time during the term of this Agreement, 
provided that the coverage is substantially similar to the coverage then in effect. The Employer will give 
reasonable notice to the Union of its intention to change any such carrier before implementation and will meet 
with representatives of the Union before implementation. 

 
17.4 Subsidization for Retirees 

The County agrees to provide a program of subsidization of health insurance costs for employees who retire 
following the execution of this Agreement. The conditions and requirements for retirees to receive the benefit 
of this subsidization program are set forth on Exhibit B which is attached hereto and made part hereof. 

 
17.5 Public Employment Retirement 

The County is a participant in the Public Employment Retirement System (PERS). Eligibility for participation 
by employees and benefits are governed by statute and Rules and Regulations promulgated thereunder. A written 
description of the PERS program or the DCRP program (for those Part Time employees hired after 5/21/10) can 
be obtained from the County's Personnel Department. 

 
ARTICLE 18. MONETARY BENEFITS MISCELLANEOUS  
 
18.1 Resignation 

An employee who resigns or otherwise separates from employment shall receive unused vacation as 
per 10.3 and holiday time as per 9.3. 

 
18.2 Shift Differential 

The Hospital will pay a shift differential of fifteen (15%) percent of the employee’s hourly rate to all employees 
who work any part of the evening shift (3:00 p.m.- 11:15 p.m.).   

 
 The Hospital will pay a shift differential of ten (10%) percent of the employee’s hourly rate to all employees 

who work any part of the night shift (11:00 p.m. - 7:15 a.m.) 
 
18.3 Weekend Differential 

New Per Diem Employees and New Employees – Effective May 1, 2002, the Hospital will pay a weekend 
differential for all time worked on a weekend of $2.00 per hour in addition to the employee’s regular rate of pay 
and any applicable shift differential as set forth in Section 18.2.  Effective July 1, 2006, this differential shall be 
$2.25 per hour. 

 
Employees including Per Diems hired prior to May 1, 2002 – Weekend differential to remain at 20% day shift, 
30% night shift and 35% evening shift, all inclusive of shift differential. 

 
18.4 Charge Nurse Differential 

An employee, full-time, part-time, and per diem, who performs the duties of charge nurse, shall be paid a 
differential of three dollars and thirty-three cents ($3.33) per hour for any portion of the shift worked as a charge 
nurse . 
 
Individuals shall be designated as “in charge” of a particular unit when the  supervisor is not scheduled on duty. 
When the  supervisor is on duty, recognizing that  supervisor’s are not on the unit the entire shift, one RN will 
be assigned charge for the shift to perform those duties.  The nurse so assigned shall receive  twenty-five dollars 
($25) for each shift they are assigned as charge. 
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In the event of the absence of a supervisor due to vacation, leave of absence, illness or vacancy, Staff Nurses 
shall not cover any  supervisory duties. 

 
18.5 Experience 

Effective January 1, 2005: All bargaining unit employees shall be credited with one (1) year of Registered Nurse 
experience for every two (2) years of Licensed Practical Nurse experience. 

 
18.6 Tuition 

Effective January 1, 2015, the County will pay up to a maximum of $4000/year per full time employee, pro-
rated for part-time employees, for tuition leading to a BSN, MSN, or other related degree as approved by the 
Administrative Director of Nursing. Such approval shall not be arbitrarily denied. Tuition reimbursement shall 
be paid upon completion of the course, and presentation of the original transcript with passing grade and original 
receipt of payment.  Employees may use up to $500 from the above total tuition money per calendar year to 
cover the costs(s) of successful (re) certification fees/exams or continuing education conference fees required 
for ANA Specialty Certification.  
 
For employees hired after January 1, 2015, if state law is amended to require a new minimum education for 
practicing RNs, the County will not provide tuition reimbursement for the minimum level. 

 
18.7 Education Differential 
 Effective January 1, 2018 the following shall apply (for new employees shall apply only to BSN or MSN). 

1. Full-Time and Part-Time employees with a Bachelor’s Degree (BS) from an accredited school will receive 
additional compensation of $0.85/hr worked, added to their regular compensation rate. 

2. Full-Time and Part-Time employees with a Master’s Degree (MS) from an accredited school will receive 
additional compensation of $1.50/hr worked, added to their regular compensation rate. 

3. Full-Time and Part-Time employees with National Certifications will receive additional compensation of 
$0.60/hr worked, added to their regular compensation rate. 

 
Effective January 1, 2019 the following shall apply (for new employees shall apply only to BSN or MSN). 
4. Full-Time and Part-Time employees with a Bachelor’s Degree (BS) from an accredited school will receive 

additional compensation of $0.95/hr worked, added to their regular compensation rate. 
5. Full-Time and Part-Time employees with a Master’s Degree (MS) from an accredited school will receive 

additional compensation of $1.60/hr worked, added to their regular compensation rate. 
6. Full-Time and Part-Time employees with National Certifications will receive additional compensation of 

$0.70/hr worked, added to their regular compensation rate. 
 
Effective January 1, 2020 the following shall apply (for new employees shall apply only to BSN or MSN). 
7. Full-Time and Part-Time employees with a Bachelor’s Degree (BS) from an accredited school will receive 

additional compensation of $1/hr worked, added to their regular compensation rate. 
8. Full-Time and Part-Time employees with a Master’s Degree (MS) from an accredited school will receive 

additional compensation of $1.75/hr worked, added to their regular compensation rate. 
9. Full-Time and Part-Time employees with National Certifications will receive additional compensation of 

$0.75/hr worked, added to their regular compensation rate. 
 

18.8 Emergency Call-In 
If an employee is called into work on an emergency basis and accepts the assignment, he or she will be 
compensated as follows:  

At the time that the employee arrives at the hospital, he or she will be guaranteed a minimum of four (4) 
hours pay. 
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18.9 Clothing Allowance 
The Hospital will provide employees with an annual uniform allowance.  This payment will be made during the 
first pay period during the month of December.   

 
 Full time Part time                           

  2018      $500  $400 
  2019      $500  $400 
  2020      $500             $400 
 
Employees whose personal items, such as eyeglasses, wedding bands or watches are broken or destroyed during the 
course of patient care will have the replacement cost of such items reimbursed up to a maximum of two-hundred dollars 
($200.00) per incident and up to fifty dollars ($50.00) for clothing per incident.  There shall be no compensation for cell 
phones or other forms of jewelry damaged during the course of patient care. 
 
18.10 ANA Membership 

The Hospital will pay for all full-time and part-time registered nurses’ membership in the American Nurses 
Association. 

 
18.11 Short and Long Term Disability 

As soon as practicable, after contract execution, the County shall contribute the sum of $100.00 per employee 
per year towards the cost of a Disability Plan.  Per Diem employees are excluded from this benefit.  
 
Employees not qualified for FMLA due to length of service or total hours worked, may elect to utilize the 
Disability Policy after available sick time is utilized to satisfy the Policy’s waiting period. 
 
Effective January 1, 2010, HPAE shall arrange for a Disability Insurance Carrier of their choosing to provide 
this benefit, subject to the County’s approval.  All costs shall be paid by the employee except that the County’s 
previous $100 per employee contribution shall continue.  The current County Medical Certification approval 
procedure shall remain in place.  HPAE shall enroll all new employees into the Disability plan during orientation 
at which time the County shall transmit completed enrollment applications to the insurance carrier or broker and 
shall continue to provide payroll deduction services and to pay the vendor.  In the event an employee’s status 
changes, the County shall notify the employee of his/her eligibility within ten (10) calendar days, and if 
applicable provide the employee with an enrollment application as well as transmit completed application to the 
insurance carrier or broker. 

 
18.12 Per Diem RNS shall not be entitled to the following miscellaneous monetary benefits: shift differential, tuition 

reimbursement, educational differential, clothing allowance, ANA membership, except current per diems who 
shall retain shift differential. 

 
18.13 HPAE Retiree Medical Trust 

 
Effective January 1, 2010, the County shall make a monthly contribution to the Trust, in an aggregate amount 
equivalent to $0.10 for all regular hours paid to bargaining unit members.  Effective January 1, 2011, the 
contribution shall be increased to $0.20.  Effective January 1, 2013 the contribution will be decreased to 
$0.15 for all regular hours paid to bargaining unit members. 
 
This Trust shall remain separate and apart from any other employer retiree health insurance funding 
program unless changed by mutual agreement of the parties.  The Trust shall be subject to periodic 
review and audit by the County. 
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ARTICLE 19. WAGES 
 
19.1   

 
2021 -- In addition to Years of Experience increments, all employees shall receive a 2% across the board increase 
effective January 1, 2021 
 

 
Wages will be adjusted according to the following schedule retroactive to January 1, 2018. All employees due movement 
on the wage scale between January and June will receive such increase effective January 1 of that year.  All employees 
due movement on the wage scale between July and December will receive such increase effective July 1 of that year. 
 
 

Years 
Experience 

1/1/2021  
2% 

0-1 $31.62  
1 yr-2 yrs $32.29  

2+yrs to 3 yrs $32.95  
3+yrs to 4 yrs $34.03  
4+yrs to 5 yrs $34.59  
5+yrs to 6 yrs $35.26  
6+yrs to 7 yrs $36.57  
7+yrs to 8 yrs $37.22  
8+yrs to 9 yrs $37.88  
9+yrs to 12 yrs $39.68  

12+ yrs to 15 yrs $41.35  
15+yrs to 20 yrs $43.34  
20+yrs to 25 yrs $44.35  
25+yrs to 30 yrs $45.66  

30+yrs $46.70  
   
   

 
 
19.2  Per Diem RNS 

January 1, 2018 $43.80 per hour 
January 1, 2019 $44.67 per hour 
January 1, 2020 $45.57 per hour 

 
ARTICLE 20. DISCIPLINE AND DISCHARGE  
 
20.1 Discipline, Suspension, or Discharge 

The Hospital shall discipline, suspend, or discharge only for just cause and in accordance with the Department 
of Personnel’s rules for the State of New Jersey. 
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20.2 Written Notification 

Written notification of any discipline, suspension, or discharge shall be given to the employee and union 
representative at the time it is issued. In addition, a copy of such discipline shall be mailed to the union office or 
given to a Union officer within forty-eight (48) hours of issue. 

 
The union shall receive copies of any Preliminary Notice of Disciplinary Action and Final Notice of Disciplinary 
Action at the time they are issued. 
 
Failure of the Hospital to provide such notification shall not void the disciplinary action, but the time limit for 
filing the grievance will be based on the date the Union or employee received such notice. 

  
ARTICLE 21. GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE 
 
21.1 Definition 

A grievance is hereby defined as any dispute between the parties concerning the application or interpretation of 
this Agreement with respect to wages, hours of work or other conditions of employment. 

 
21.2 General Procedures 

Reasonable efforts shall be made to schedule grievance meetings at mutually convenient times and not on an 
employee’s day off. There will be no loss of pay for employees who attend grievance meetings.  
 
Any employee may be represented at all stages of the grievance procedure by her/himself, or at her/his option 
by a representative of the Union.  When an employee is not represented by the Union, the Union shall have the 
right to be present and state its views at all steps of the grievance procedure. 
 
A grievance which affects a substantial number or class of employees, or in a case of suspension or discharge, 
or which the Hospital representative at Step 1 lacks the authority to settle, may be presented initially by the 
Union at Step 2 of the grievance procedure. 
 
For the purpose of the grievance procedure only, the working day shall be defined as the hours between 8:00 
a.m. and 5:00 p.m., excluding weekends and holidays. 
 
A grievance must be presented under the grievance procedure described herein within ten (10) working days of 
the occurrence of the condition giving rise to the grievance. It is understood and agreed that time off the job, be 
it with or without pay, shall not be counted as "working days" under step 1 of the Grievance Procedure. 
 
Time periods set forth in Article 21 may only be extended upon written agreement between the parties. 

 
 
21.3 Purpose 

The purpose of this Article is to provide for the expeditious and mutually satisfactory settlement of grievances, 
and to that end, the procedures to be used shall be as follows: 
 
Informal Discussion: An employee or the union with a grievance shall first discuss it with his immediate 
supervisor either directly or through the Union’s designated representative who shall be an employee of the 
County for the purpose of resolving the matter informally.  
 
Step 1:   Chief Nursing Executive 
If the aggrieved party/Union is not satisfied with the disposition of the grievance at the informal step or if no 
decision has been rendered within five (5) working days after the presentation of that grievance at that step, the 
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aggrieved party/Union may file a grievance in writing with the Chief Nursing Executive and/or his/her designee. 
A hearing on the grievance shall be held between the Chief Nursing Executive and/or his/her designee and the 
aggrieved party and/or the Union’s designated representative who shall be an employee of the County. The  
Chief Nursing Executive and/or his/her designee will render a final decision in writing within ten (10) calendar 
days. In those departments or agencies where the department heads functions as the immediate supervisor, the 
grievance shall be presented at the Step 2 level. 
 
Step 2:   Department Director 
If the aggrieved party/Union is not satisfied with the disposition of the grievance at Step 1, or if no decision has 
been rendered within five (5) working days after presentation of that grievance at that Step, the aggrieved party 
may file the grievance in writing with the  Department Director and/or his/her designee. A hearing on the 
grievance shall be held between the  Department Director and/or his/her designee and the aggrieved party and 
the Union’s designated representative(s) within ten (10) working days.  The  Department Director and/or his/her 
designee will render a final decision in writing within twenty (20) calendar days of the meeting. 

 
Step 3:  County Manager 
If the aggrieved party/Union is not satisfied with the disposition of the grievance at Step 2, or if no decision has 
been rendered within twenty (20) calendar days after filing of that grievance at Step 2, the aggrieved party/Union 
may file the grievance and all supporting papers with the County Manager for review. The aggrieved member 
or the Union shall have his or her grievance presented by a designated representative of the Union, and the Union 
shall have the right to have the grievance presented by the Union’s legal representative. If the County Manager 
conducts any hearing, the Union shall be obligated to participate even if the grievant has selected his own 
attorney.  
 
Step 4: Arbitration  
In the event a grievance has not been resolved to the satisfaction of the Union at Step 3 and/or within thirty (30) 
calendar days from the date of the submission of the Step 3 grievance, it may request final and binding arbitration 
of the grievance. The Union shall make this request by mailing a written notice for arbitration to the New Jersey 
Public Employee Relations Commission, PO Box 429, Trenton, NJ 08625-0429. The written notice to the New 
Jersey Public Employee Relations Commission shall request that agency to submit duplicate panels of arbitrators 
to each of the respective parties to this Agreement so that they may exercise their right of selection and file same 
directly with the New Jersey Public Employee Relations Commission pursuant to its rules. The decision of the 
arbitrator shall be final and binding upon the parties and shall be in writing setting forth findings of fact, reasons 
and conclusions on the issue (s) submitted.  
 
No one arbitrator shall have more than one grievance submitted to him, and under consideration by him, at any 
one time unless the issue is the same or similar. A grievance shall be considered under consideration by an 
arbitrator until he has rendered his written decision.  

 
In the event of the submission of any matter for arbitration as herein provided, the arbitrator shall have no right 
or power to alter or modify the terms of this Agreement or to impose upon the parties any obligation or liability 
not expressly assumed by the parties under the provisions of this Agreement; nor may the arbitrator deprive the 
parties of any right reserved, expressed or implied, by them for their benefit hereunder. The cost of the arbitrator 
shall be paid equally by the parties. Each party shall be responsible for its own costs incurred in arbitration 

 
ARTICLE 22. NO STRIKE/NO LOCKOUT 
 
22.1   The Hospital agrees that there shall be no lockouts during the term of the Agreement. 
 
22.2  Neither the Union, its officers, agents, representatives nor any employee shall engage in a strike, work stoppage, 

slowdown, cessation or stoppage or interruption of work, during the term of this Agreement. 
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22.3 Any employee engaging in a strike or work stoppage may be subject to discipline up to and including discharge. 

Such discipline or discharge shall be subject to the arbitration provisions of this Agreement.  
 
ARTICLE 23. NON-DISCRIMINATION 
 
Neither the Hospital nor the Union will discriminate against any employee or applicant for employment, in any matter 
relating to employment because of race, color, creed, national origin, ancestry, nationality, sex, marital status, age, or 
liability for service in the Armed Forces of the United States of America. Neither the Hospital nor the Union will 
discriminate against any employee because the employee is or is not a member of the Union, or because the employee 
has filed any complaints or grievances with the Hospital or the Union. 
 
ARTICLE 24. SEPARABILITY 
 
This Agreement and its component provisions are subject to any present or future laws and regulations.  If any Federal 
or New Jersey State Law or regulation, or the final decision of any Federal or State Court or Administrative agency 
affects any provisions of this Agreement, each such provision will be deemed amended to the extent necessary to comply 
with such law, regulation or decision but otherwise this Agreement will not be affected. 
  
ARTICLE 25. COMMITTEE ON POLITICAL EDUCATION 
 
The Employer agrees to continue to have the County payroll department provide deductions for the HPAE Committee 
on Political Education (HPAE COPE) fund, the amount to be deducted as per employee’s request on a written 
authorization form provided by the Union to the Employer.  
 
The County agrees to meet with the Union within ninety (90) days of ratification of the contract regarding this issue.  
  
ARTICLE 26. MANAGEMENT RIGHTS 
 
The Union recognizes that there are certain functions, responsibilities and management rights exclusively reserved to 
the Employer. All rights, power, prerogatives and authority possessed by the employer prior to signing of this agreement 
are retained exclusively by the employer subject only to such limitations specifically provided in this agreement.  

 
Whenever the term “Employer”, “Department Head”, “Hospital” or “Supervisor” shall be used throughout this 
agreement, it shall mean and include the County Board of Freeholders and or the County Manager and/or their designees 
as specifically may be provided in N.J.S.A. 40:41A-45 et seq. or the Administrative Code of the County of Union.  
 
Except as modified, altered or amended by this Agreement, the County of Union, the Board of Freeholders, the County 
Manager or designees shall not be limited in their statutory management functions. The County Board of Freeholders, 
the County Manager or other designees hereby retain and reserve unto themselves, without limitations, all powers, rights, 
authority, duties and responsibilities conferred and vested in any of them by the laws of the State of New Jersey, the 
Constitution of the State of New Jersey and the United States of America including, but without limitation, the following 
rights, privileges and functions: 
 
The executive management and administrative control of the County of Union, a body politic, and its properties and 
facilities and activities of its employees related to their employment. 

 
The right to hire all employees and, subject to existing Civil Service rules and regulations, to determine their 
qualifications and the conditions for their continued employment or their dismissal, or demotions, and to promote and 
transfer all such employees. 

 
The right to determine schedules of work and the duties, responsibilities and assignments of all employees with respect 
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thereto. This right shall not be used as a form of discipline directed against any employee.  
 

The exercise of the forgoing powers, rights, authority, duties and responsibilities by the Board of Freeholders, the County 
Manger or other designees, the adoption of policies, rules, regulations and practices in furtherance thereof and the use 
of judgment and discretion in connection therewith shall be limited only by such specific and expressed terms of this 
Agreement and in conformance with the laws of the State of New Jersey, the Constitution of the State of New Jersey, 
and the Constitution of the United States.  
 
Nothing contained herein shall be considered to deny or restrict the Board of Freeholders, the County Manager or other 
designees, of their rights, responsibilities and authority under Title 40 and 40A, or any other state laws or regulations as 
they pertain to County Manager form of government. 
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EXHIBIT A 
COUNTY OF UNION 

UNUSED SICK LEAVE PAYMENT REGULATIONS 
 
1. EFFECT ON OTHER RETIREMENT BENEFITS: 

The lump sum supplemental compensation provided herein for accumulated sick days shall in no way affect, 
increase or decrease any pension or retirement benefits to such retired employee under any other statute. 
 

2. LIMITATIONS: 
a) no employee who elects a deferred retirement benefit shall be eligible. 
b) an individual may defer his request for lump sum payment but it must be submitted within one year of 

the effective date of any retirement. 
 

3. ELIGIBILITY: 
An employee must retire with at least twenty-five (25) years of service solely with the Employer and must be at 
least age 55, and must have at least one hundred (100) accumulated sick days to his or her credit upon effective 
date of retirement to be eligible for this benefit. 
 

4. DEATH OF AN EMPLOYEE: 
In the event of an employee's death within one year after the effective date of retirement but before payment of 
the lump sum is made, the payment of the lump sum shall be made to the employee's estate.  It should be noted 
that retirement is contingent upon the employee surviving 30 days after the effective date of retirement. 
 

5. DISABILITY RETIREMENT: 
County employees who retire as a result of an accidental or ordinary disability retirement, and who meet all of 
their applicable regulations will be considered eligible for lump sum sick leave reimbursement upon retirement 
for unused sick leave. If such employees receive lump sum payment and subsequently reenter County 
employment, they will not be eligible to have their unused sick leave reinstated to their records. Employees re-
entering County Service subsequent to an accidental or ordinary disability retirement will begin earning sick 
leave in a manner similar to a newly hired employee. 
 

6. RETURN TO SERVICE AFTER RETIREMENT: 
Any employee who has or shall retire on age and service and who subsequently re-enters County employment 
will be considered to have incurred a break in service. 
 

7. LEAVE WITHOUT PAY: 
In determining an individual's eligibility, leave without pay shall not be counted towards the requirement of 25 
years service with the County; prior service with other governmental entities shall also not be counted toward 
the requirement of 25 years service with the County. 
 

8.  COMPUTATION: 
a) Sick leave credit shall be computed from the date of employment; or if a break in service has occurred, only 

from the date of return to employment following the break in service except that an employee who has or 
shall incur a break in service as a result of separation due to lay-off shall be credited with sick leave accrued 
before separation and after return to employment. 

b) The amount shall be computed at the rate of 50%-80% of the employee’s rate of pay for each day of 
earned and unused accumulated sick leave at the effective date of retirement based upon the average 
annual compensation received during the last full year of the employee's active employment prior to the 
effective date of retirement. Overtime, shift, differential, stipends or other supplemental pay shall not be 
included in the computation: 
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c)   Effective April 28, 2002, payment for unused accumulated sick leave shall be according to the following 
schedule: 

 
100-200 accumulated sick days – 50% of the daily rate, maximum of $10,000 
201-300 accumulated sick days – 60% of the daily rate, maximum of $12,500 
301-400 accumulated sick days – 70% of the daily rate, maximum of $15,000 
Over 401 accumulated sick days – 80% of the daily rate, maximum of $18,000 

 
d) In computing the total amount of unused accumulated sick leave pay due, periods of leave of absence 

without pay shall be excluded in the computation. 
 
e) The lump sum supplemental compensation payment shall be made within 60 days after the date of 

retirement, if possible. 
 
f) A retiree must be officially off the County's payroll at the time of payment. 
 

9. GENERAL PROCEDURES: 
a) An employee who is about to retire should follow the regular procedures concerning retirement. When 

the employee receives a copy of the official notice of retirement approval issued by the approved pension 
board or authority, the employee may file a request with the County Personnel Office requesting the 
supplemental lump sum payment. Those employees who qualify and retire during calendar year 1986 
will receive their supplemental payment no later than September 1, 1987, if elected by the employee. 
Those employees who qualify and retire during calendar year 1987 and thereafter, will receive their 
supplemental payment 60 days thereafter retirement, if elected by the employee. 

 
10. EMPLOYEES NOT IN THE CLASSIFIED SERVICE: 

a) The eligibility of an employee will be determined by such class title held at any time during the 
employee's employment with the County of Union.  Eligibility of class title will not be approved unless 
the following standards and guidelines have been adhered to: 
1) Sick leave days were earned by all employees within that class title on the basis of one working 

day per month during the remainder of the first calendar year of employment after initial 
appointment and 15 working days per calendar year thereafter. 

2) Proof of need of sick leave usage was required when sick leave exceeded at least five 
consecutive days or a total of 10 days within one calendar year. 

3) Sick leave was not advanced against anticipated sick leave to be earned in the next or future 
calendar years. 

4) Sick leave or some other earned leave was charged for all compensable days when the employee 
was not working. 

5) All sick leave was reportable and reported accordingly. 
6) The time-keeping-procedure required certification of the accuracy of the employees pay time. 
7) Sick leave records for each employee were maintained from the original date of appointment at 

one or more central points under the jurisdiction of the appointing authority with proper security 
and verification for use and accrual. 

8) All records are available for inspection. 
9) Where other types of leave with pay or holidays or days off with pay were granted which were 

in excess of leave provided to classified employees, a detailed explanation of the character and 
extent of such practices shall be provided. 
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EXHIBIT B 
HEALTH INSURANCE BENEFITS 

FOR RETIREES 
 

Effective January 1, 1986, there shall be a hospitalization insurance subsidy plan for employees, covered by the 
recognition clause of the collective bargaining agreement, subject to the following terms and conditions. 
 

1. Eligibility: Employees must have been actively employed for the County of Union after December 
31, 2011; and must retire on either a disability pension or after having reached the age of 55 years and having 25 years 
or more of service with the County, or retire and reach the age of 62 years or older with at least 15 years of service where 
the retirement has been shown to the satisfaction of the employer to have been necessitated by medical illness or disability 
of the employee.  Employees who otherwise qualify for coverage but who retire before age 55, shall be entitled to receive 
coverage under this plan upon reaching age 55. This benefit will only be provided to those retirees meeting the eligibility 
requirements who do not have hospitalization insurance coverage from another source, and eligible retirees shall 
cooperate in good faith with the County to verify that no other source of insurance coverage is provided for them. 

 
2. Description: This benefit shall be applied to the Health Insurance Plan which is provided to members  

of the bargaining unit.  The County reserves the right to change or modify plans at any time so long as the modified plan 
provides substantially similar coverage to that in effect for members of the bargaining unit. This benefit shall cover the 
retiree’s spouse and/or eligible dependent(s) at the time of retirement and in the event of the retiree predeceasing said 
spouse and/or eligible dependent(s); coverage shall continue for the surviving spouse and/or eligible dependents.   

 
3. Subsidy: Upon implementation of this benefit, the County shall be obliged to subsidize the cost 

of health insurance premiums for qualifying retirees, as follows: 
 
Category    County's Subsidy 
 
Single, Under 65   $189.67 per month  
Single, Over 65    $138.39 per month 

 
H/W Under 65    $540.58 per month 
P/C Retiree 
Family Under 65 

 
H/W Over 65    $276.77 per month 

 
H/W Retiree Over 65   $276.77 per month 
H/W Spouse Over 65 

 
Family Over 65    $442.88 per month 

 
Family Retiree Over 65   $477.85 per month 
Family Spouse Over 65 

 
P/C Retiree Over 65   $338.69 per month 

 
The remaining costs of the County's Hospital Insurance Plan shall be borne by the retiree. 
 
Health Insurance Benefit Costs will be provided by the County for currently active employees who retire after September 
1, 1995, with 25 or more years of service with Union County and who have reached 65 years of age.  Said retiree health 
insurance benefits shall be paid only for the Blue Select program and shall be capped at the 1995/96 rate.  Any cost 
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increases thereafter shall be paid by the retiree. 
 
4. Modification: In the event that the amount of the County's contribution is subsequently reduced or 

even eliminated, the change in practice shall apply to those persons already retired.  Similarly, in the event that the 
Hospital Insurance Plan is changed or modified in any way, the new plan shall apply to the retirees. 

 



 
 
 
 
 

38 

EXHIBIT B-1 
HEALTH INSURANCE BENEFITS 

FOR RETIREES 
 

Effective May 1, 2009, there shall be a health insurance plan for employees covered by the recognition clause of the 
Collective Bargaining Agreement, subject to the following terms and conditions. 
 

a) Eligibility: Employees must have been actively employed for the County of Union on or before 
December 31, 2011; and must retire on either a disability pension, or retire having reached the age of 55 years and having 
25 years or more of service with the County, or retire and reach the age of 62 years or older with at least 15 years of 
service with the County.  Employees who otherwise qualify for coverage but who retire before age 55, shall be entitled 
to receive coverage under this plan upon reaching age 55. This benefit will only be provided to those retirees meeting 
the eligibility requirements who do not have health insurance coverage provided hereunder, and eligible retirees shall 
cooperate in good faith with the County to verify that they are not eligible to receive such substantially equivalent or 
better health insurance coverage. 

 
b). Description: This benefit shall consist of coverage under the  Horizon DirectAccess  Health 

Insurance Plan with the prescription component provided  at 0-Co-pay Mail and 30% Co-pay Retail. Subject to the vested 
material rights of employees covered hereunder, the County reserves the right to change or modify the plan at any time 
so long as the modified plan provides substantially equivalent or better coverage to that in effect for the eligible members 
of the bargaining unit at the time of their retirement provided such coverage remains generally available in the insurance 
market at commercially reasonable rates. This benefit shall cover the retiree’s spouse and/or eligible dependent(s) at the 
time of retirement and in the event of the retiree predeceasing said spouse and/or eligible dependent(s); coverage shall 
continue for the surviving spouse and/or eligible dependent(s). 

  
c) Future Employees: Employees hired after December 31, 2011, shall only be eligible for the health 

benefit subsidy as set forth in Exhibit B. 
 
d) Cessation of Subsidy:  Upon implementation of retiree health benefits provided in a) and b) above the 

County shall be obligated to pay the full cost of health insurance premiums for qualifying retirees hereunder.  Those 
qualifying retirees shall not be eligible for or receive the subsidy provided in Exhibit B. 

 
e) Health Benefit Buyout Option:  Any retiree eligible to receive benefits or then receiving benefits as 

described above, with either Family or Husband/Wife coverage in any of the available health plans, may voluntarily opt 
out of that plan providing their spouse has either Family or Husband/Wife coverage either through the County or through 
another employer.  In return for opting out, the County shall pay to the eligible retiree the sum of $5,000 annually, to be 
paid in quarterly installments over the next year.  The $5,000.00 sum shall be reduced to $2,500.00 per annum upon the 
eligible retiree’s reaching Medicare eligibility. The payments will be prorated if less than one year of the benefit is 
available. Eligible retirees opting out shall retain the right to re-enter the County’s health benefit plan on a monthly basis. 
Upon re-entering the plan, payments for opting out shall cease. This benefit shall be discontinued if the County becomes 
self-insured. 
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